Listen free for 30 days

When Angels Sleep

Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
Length: 10 hrs and 57 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (29 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

On a cold winter's morning, the body of a young boy is discovered in Epping Forest.   

The body is pristine and peaceful, his head resting gently on a pillow, an angel pendant clenched in his small fist. It is a murder as carefully planned as it is brutal, and there's one person DI Bishop needs back on his team to help solve such a calculated crime.   

Holly Wakefield, clinical psychologist for the Met Police, is better than anyone Bishop knows at getting inside the brains of psychopaths. But with the body count rising, it's going to take all Holly's strength to dive into the murky mind of someone who preys on young boys.

And all Bishop's resolve to stop the serial killer before any more angels are put to their rest.

The second gripping thriller in the Holly Wakefield series, from the acclaimed author of When Darkness Calls. A dark and twisted serial killer thriller perfect for fans of Val McDermid, Mark Billingham, Stuart MacBride and TV crime series Luther.

©2019 Mark Griffin (P)2019 Hachette Audio UK

Critic reviews

"A thrilling new talent." (Peter James)   

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Disturbing and highly unsettling

I was delighted to see this released in audio, I very much enjoyed the first in this series and was not disappointed with this second release.

This story is convoluted in the extreme, Holly makes a fantastic character who would most certainly translate onto screen very well, she has her secrets but we, the readers are allowed to know those secrets and we hold them dear.

The killer in this book is one nasty character, Holly plays a blinder with tracking him down ('helping' to track him down) and the ending in not as stunning as the first in the series but the book is still worth every second of listening and every penny of your money.

Tamsin Kennard narrates this beautifully as she does with 'When Darkness Calls'.

My recommendation is to buy it now.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superb!!!!!!

A really great book, its exciting and full of twists. I so hope the Author produces another book Soon. Superb Narration too.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jo
  • 13-01-20

Loved it

Fantastic narration of really interesting characters and storyline! Bring on the next one...fast becoming one of my favourites!

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ruth
  • Ruth
  • 17-02-20

Series is getting better

The first in this series introduced ill defined protagonists, very graphic murder scenes and a rather convoluted hard to follow plot. There was enough to get a reader/listener interested. This go around the plot is typical - missing and dead children, leaving us to fall back into to an either get more attached to Holly or not.

Griffin has peaked my interest enough to stop ticking the boxes of the procedural check list of a variety of protagonist characteristics to want to listen to the next book. And engaged me enough to connect to one of the victims.

Hard to say yet whether I would recommend it to those other than us who are addicted to police procedurals.

Good narration. Got to this book based on Tamsin Kennard’s narration of the better procedural series written by Dylan Young.