Listen free for 30 days

We Were Sisters: An Absolutely Gripping Psychological Thriller

Narrated by: Jasmine Blackborow
Length: 9 hrs and 31 mins
4 out of 5 stars (54 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

I turn to where I left my baby in his pushchair and pull up short. With a racing heart, I look around wildly, fear gripping my stomach. I only looked away for a moment. The pushchair and my baby are gone.

Kelly is taking her twin daughters to their first day of school, ushering them into the classroom, her heart breaking to think they might not need her any more, when she turns around and sees that her newborn baby is gone.

As a desperate search ensues, baby Noah is quickly found - parked in front of a different classroom. But when Kelly reaches forward to comfort him, she finds something tucked beside his blanket. A locket that belonged to her sister Freya. A locket Kelly hasn’t seen since the day Freya died.

And then Kelly’s perfectly-ordered life begins to unravel....

We Were Sisters is a heart-pounding suspense thriller that will grip you until the very last minute. Fans of Behind Closed Doors, Gone Girl, and The Girl on the Train won’t be able to stop listening to this incredible book.

What readers are saying about Wendy Clarke:

"Had me flying through the pages to find out what happens.... I cannot praise this book enough! I finished it in a matter of days.... My heart was racing as I was reading. It kept hitting me with twist after twist.... I have to say it's the best thriller I've read this year." (Ramblings of the Book Addict, 5 stars)

"WOW! I cannot believe that this is the first novel that Wendy has written.... I was hooked right from the start to the end and could not get enough!" (Once Upon a Time Book Reviews, 5 stars)

©2019 Wendy Clarke (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about We Were Sisters: An Absolutely Gripping Psychological Thriller

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Absolutely brilliant listen. Fast paced and exciting from start to finish. I used any excuse to listen. Can’t wait to read more by this author. Well done

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

So much better than the brief description

Was reluctant to purchase due to the description, but really it was very complex and keeps you listening! My only complaint was too many descriptions of baby Noah and his nappy changes, not exactly necessary?!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I struggled!

I found this hard work. I don’t think there is anything wrong with the book nor narration but I think I have overdone the neurotic woman books. It’s starting to feel that, regardless of author, the main character is the same person. That’s my fault not the books. Although, it’s not all my fault, so many “must read” promotions are for books that really are similar. I did enjoy the end. Oh, I didn’t mean that in a glad it’s over way, I did enjoy the ending!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

A beautifully written and captivating story instilling in the reader a sense of how a child perceives, and from that how an adult lives.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Slow build but unexpected ending

Enjoyable story but took a while to get going. The only annoying bit was the school bit.
Slight spoiler alert:
There’s no way someone could just burst in to school like that - unless it was the 80s! Security way too tight and the secretary would have been horrified!
Also who had the baby boy at the end?

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Katherine M. Houston
  • Katherine M. Houston
  • 19-08-19

Excruciatingly boring!

Don’t waste money or a credit! You can skip 10 chapters at a time and still nothing has happened!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for scott comeaux
  • scott comeaux
  • 31-08-19

Went on longer than it should have

I had figured it out pretty quick. If you are a Clarke fan, you will like it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rene
  • Rene
  • 19-08-19

Great listen

I really enjoyed this book.

I especially liked the past and present (Kelly Then / Kelly Now) chapters. You can't help but dislike Kelly's mother and have mixed feelings for Freya whose true story comes out in the last few chapters.

The ending bring some totally unexpected surprises.

Will definitely listen to more Wendy Clarke. Great narration by Jasmine Blackborrow.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vicky Frank
  • Vicky Frank
  • 27-07-20

Awesome book

‘‘Tis book was an excellent read from the first word of the first chapter through the last word of the last chapter!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for stacie Staples
  • stacie Staples
  • 07-09-19

Great plot

A little predictable but a great plot. It is engaging and I couldn’t wait to see if I was right at the end...I wasn’t. My first Wendy Clarke book but it won’t be my last!