Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £20.99

Buy Now for £20.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

From the best-selling author of Deliver Me comes a gripping new thriller with a twist you'll never see coming!   

Thirty-two-year-old Jessica is newly divorced and has returned home to live with her parents whilst she puts the pieces of her life back together. But Jessica isn't the only one with problems, as her mother, Jean, has recently been diagnosed with dementia.   

Shortly after Jessica's arrival, one of the neighbours falls to her death, in what appears to be a terrible accident. However, Jean claims that the woman was murdered by her husband and that she witnessed the whole thing.   

With Jean's memory rapidly deteriorating, her family dismiss her story, believing Jean is confused. But when Jessica learns that the couple next door's marriage may have been in trouble, she begins to wonder if her mother did see something after all.

Jessica is determined to discover the truth but soon uncovers much more than she bargained for. An addictive psychological thriller for fans of Rachel Abbott and CL Taylor.

©2020 Karen Cole (P)2020 Quercus Editions Limited

What listeners say about Deny Me

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    61
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Far fetched

Apparently ok to dispose of a body, covering up up for someone else’s crime and years later still get away with it.......not believable ...story needs a lot more reality.
Stuck with it but wish I hadn’t bothered.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

A bit disappointing

I have enjoyed previous titles by this author but this one just didn’t ring true . I’m always happy to suspend disbelief when reading this genre, a little far fetched can be ok if well done . Unfortunately this story stumbled from coincidence to coincidence a bit too readily. I just wasn’t convinced at all. I listened to the end, and I won’t return it, but it certainly wasn’t my favourite .

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

did not see that ending it kept me guessing until

the end. It was well narrated. I wiuld recommend this book to all who enjoy audible

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brill suspense !!!!

tone of each character was voiced well. Enjoyed the storyline. interested in listening to more books by this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One day read

Great story and narrators are brilliant . Enjoyed this book in one day - twists and turns all the way

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story with lots of red herrings

I liked this story and enjoyed the pace. Narrated well. Not quite as twisty as some of her others but worth a listen I think! Some flaws in timeline though

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Amazing

I had to listen to this as I couldn’t wait to know how it ended, a brilliant story and told so well, I loved every single chapter x

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great

This started off pretty slow and I was about to give up! So glad I didn’t, great listen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good book

Enjoyable book, great story, great narrator. I am new to this Author and have so far listened to 2 books, and have enjoyed both very much.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Just okay

I must admit to feeling confused by the book. it was an okay read but it wasn't something that had me running back to it everytime I had a spare moment. The storyline had too many sub stories but none of them felt as if they were finished or had a good explanation. The narrator was pretty good. I didn't totally hate it but neither did I totally love it.