Try an audiobook on us

Warrior of Woden

The Bernicia Chronicles, Book 5
Narrated by: Barnaby Edwards
Length: 13 hrs and 15 mins
5 out of 5 stars (53 ratings)

Regular price: £18.99

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

AD 642. Anglo-Saxon Britain. 

A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and the fifth instalment in the Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. 

Oswald has reigned over Northumbria for eight years, and Beobrand has led the king to ever greater victories. Rewarded for his fealty and prowess in battle, Beobrand is now a wealthy warlord, with a sizable warband. Tales of Beobrand's fearsome black-shielded warriors and the great treasure he has amassed are told throughout the halls of the land. Many are the kings who bow to Oswald. And yet there are those who look upon his realm with a covetous eye. And there is one ruler who will never kneel before him. 

When Penda of Mercia, the great killer of kings, invades Northumbria, Beobrand is once more called upon to stand in an epic battle where the blood of many will be shed in defence of the kingdom. But in this climactic clash between the pagan Penda and the Christian Oswald, there is much more at stake than sovereignty. This is a battle for the very souls of the people of Albion.

©2018 Matthew Harffy (P)2018 Audible, Ltd

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    39
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

'Tis But a Scratch!!!

This series has always been action-packed and violent but this one moves up another gear and accelerates into almost non-stop carnage as the events within throw Beobrand and his brave warriors into fight after battle after duel. Harffy doesn't hold back as he puts his hero through just about every combat experience the Dark Ages offered. Especially once it gets going Warrior of Woden is pretty much breathtaking. There are pitched battles, old enemies as well as new ones and fresh oaths and the basest of treachery. Even Beobrand doesn't remain untouched and even his strongest of abilities and principles are tested to the limit and he descends further into darkness as a result.

Barnaby Edwards once again does an excellent job of the narration with a wide range of character voices and great description of the action. However, I bet even he probably allowed himself a wry smile as Harffy has his hero ape Monty Python with the Black Knight's most famous line - yes Matthew we do notice these things! Once again there is an excellent "historical note" which describes how history and fiction have been forged together to produce Beobrand's story.

The only thing that disappointed me about this book was getting to the end, knowing there is no more on Audible at the time of writing, though the author kindly promises more to come! If you liked the previous books you're going to love this one. If you haven't read the others it's much better to start with the first book "The Serpent Sword" as there are a lot of continuing threads and arch-enemies that last for multiple books.

This is now becoming one of my favourite ever series!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

As good as the first in the series

Not that any in the series are bad, they are all excellent, but i enjoyed this one better than all the rest.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Same old hero..... Same old great story<br />

Return of a great hero from a great series from a great author.
Next please.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great story

Great story, well written. Narrator makes Beobrand sound like a public schoolboy though. Very offputting

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

could not stop listening

a great story I cannot wait for the next one, Coming soon I hope ?

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • presterjohn1
  • 06-12-18

An Epic of Blood, Honour and Revenge

Another fine epic of blood, honour and revenge by Matthew Harffy. In this volume, Beobrand resolves old feuds and pursues new ones and faces the enemies of Bernicia in great battles. Once more the violence strikes close to his heart. There are some fine twists and turns for several characters in this tale and the consequences of old actions return to haunt the present. Harffy's reconstruction and reimagining of the Dark Ages continues to thrill and chill in the latest volume and I'd recommend it to fans of Cornwell, Iggulden and Scarrow. The Audible edition is brilliantly narrated by Barnaby Edwards, who commands the voice of the characters with ease and manages old Anglo-Saxon character and place names very capably.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dan
  • 25-10-18

Another great installment

I really love this series and the characters. It continues to thrill and captivate. I am waiting on the next one. There is clearly a score and a broken oath to settle which should be highly satisfying.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Alvin
  • 17-08-18

Best one yet

This series gets better by each outing, not only does Harffy write great characters but he also brings history alive with his well researched fictional tale!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • R.O.C.K.S.
  • 16-08-18

One of my Favorites

The fifth book in this series and I can not wait for the next! This book had me on edge from chapter to chapter.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jessica Perez-Baker
  • 20-07-18

cant wait for the next books in the series

can't wait until the rest of the books in this series and other books from this author are available on Audible in the US

*Offer available from 22nd May 2019 10:00 GMT until 28th May 2019 at 11:59PM GMT. This offer is not available to existing Audible members. Offer applies only to an Audible monthly membership sold by audible.co.uk (http://audible.co.uk/). For the first 4 months of your Audible membership, you will be charged the discounted price of £3.99/month. After the first 4 months, your Audible membership will continue at the then current full price (currently £7.99/month.) until cancelled. Cancel anytime by visiting the Account Details page. Offer limited to one per customer and account, may not be combined with other offers, is non-transferable and may not be resold. Audible reserves the right to modify or cancel the offer at any time. If you violate any of these terms, the offer will be invalid.