Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.99

Buy Now for £18.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

AD 642. Anglo-Saxon Britain. 

A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and the fifth instalment in the Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. 

Oswald has reigned over Northumbria for eight years, and Beobrand has led the king to ever greater victories. Rewarded for his fealty and prowess in battle, Beobrand is now a wealthy warlord, with a sizable warband. Tales of Beobrand's fearsome black-shielded warriors and the great treasure he has amassed are told throughout the halls of the land. Many are the kings who bow to Oswald. And yet there are those who look upon his realm with a covetous eye. And there is one ruler who will never kneel before him. 

When Penda of Mercia, the great killer of kings, invades Northumbria, Beobrand is once more called upon to stand in an epic battle where the blood of many will be shed in defence of the kingdom. But in this climactic clash between the pagan Penda and the Christian Oswald, there is much more at stake than sovereignty. This is a battle for the very souls of the people of Albion.

©2018 Matthew Harffy (P)2018 Audible, Ltd

What listeners say about Warrior of Woden

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    138
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    130
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    123
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

'Tis But a Scratch!!!

This series has always been action-packed and violent but this one moves up another gear and accelerates into almost non-stop carnage as the events within throw Beobrand and his brave warriors into fight after battle after duel. Harffy doesn't hold back as he puts his hero through just about every combat experience the Dark Ages offered. Especially once it gets going Warrior of Woden is pretty much breathtaking. There are pitched battles, old enemies as well as new ones and fresh oaths and the basest of treachery. Even Beobrand doesn't remain untouched and even his strongest of abilities and principles are tested to the limit and he descends further into darkness as a result.

Barnaby Edwards once again does an excellent job of the narration with a wide range of character voices and great description of the action. However, I bet even he probably allowed himself a wry smile as Harffy has his hero ape Monty Python with the Black Knight's most famous line - yes Matthew we do notice these things! Once again there is an excellent "historical note" which describes how history and fiction have been forged together to produce Beobrand's story.

The only thing that disappointed me about this book was getting to the end, knowing there is no more on Audible at the time of writing, though the author kindly promises more to come! If you liked the previous books you're going to love this one. If you haven't read the others it's much better to start with the first book "The Serpent Sword" as there are a lot of continuing threads and arch-enemies that last for multiple books.

This is now becoming one of my favourite ever series!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Same old hero..... Same old great story

Return of a great hero from a great series from a great author.
Next please.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sublime

Achenon my friend No more struggling.
Shall I see you in Wodins Hall ? Shall I.
Read and see.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Another excellent story in the Bernicia saga! I can’t wait for the next book.
Keep up the great work Matthew Hardy!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

As good as the first in the series

Not that any in the series are bad, they are all excellent, but i enjoyed this one better than all the rest.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

could not stop listening

a great story I cannot wait for the next one, Coming soon I hope ?

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Familiar storyline and getting predictable

Like the mid part of many great series I found myself wondering whilst liste how to this book. I don't need reminding for the 10th time in this book (and 40th time in the series) about the sword, the fingers, the shield, the girl, the hall, the King etc.
That being said it is still enjoyable to read about the adventures of Beobrand. The echoes of Uhtred is getting stronger though and I now find myself having a strong sense of deja vu having recently completed the Warrior Chronicles.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best yet!

This series just gets better and better! Which is amazing because they were already so very good! We are transported back to Anglo-Saxon Britain from the start. It is action packed start to finish and such an engaging story. Matthew Harffy puts his heart and soul into these books and the narrator Barnaby Edwards does likewise. The characters are growing, especially Beobrand, A lot of research has gone into the writing of these books, even though essentially a novel I have still learnt a lot about the era. I love the authors historical note and explanations at the end of each book. Can’t wait to start the next one!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Best Yet?

Quite probably the best out of the series, all read in order so only two to go out of the seven written so far.

Wyrd bio ful araed

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great story

Great story, well written. Narrator makes Beobrand sound like a public schoolboy though. Very offputting

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ride
  • ride
  • 26-06-21

Great story but I can no longer trust the author

Matthew Harffy, You know what you did. I can’t trust you any longer. We’re done.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Darth Vinny
  • Darth Vinny
  • 06-09-19

Intensifying and emotional... great read!

Again Barnaby Edwards brings to life beobrand and his trusted warriors to life with character and personality. Great lead into the end book with more loss and revenge for beobrand!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for presterjohn1
  • presterjohn1
  • 06-12-18

An Epic of Blood, Honour and Revenge

Another fine epic of blood, honour and revenge by Matthew Harffy. In this volume, Beobrand resolves old feuds and pursues new ones and faces the enemies of Bernicia in great battles. Once more the violence strikes close to his heart. There are some fine twists and turns for several characters in this tale and the consequences of old actions return to haunt the present. Harffy's reconstruction and reimagining of the Dark Ages continues to thrill and chill in the latest volume and I'd recommend it to fans of Cornwell, Iggulden and Scarrow. The Audible edition is brilliantly narrated by Barnaby Edwards, who commands the voice of the characters with ease and manages old Anglo-Saxon character and place names very capably.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dan
  • Dan
  • 25-10-18

Another great installment

I really love this series and the characters. It continues to thrill and captivate. I am waiting on the next one. There is clearly a score and a broken oath to settle which should be highly satisfying.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alvin
  • Alvin
  • 17-08-18

Best one yet

This series gets better by each outing, not only does Harffy write great characters but he also brings history alive with his well researched fictional tale!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for R.O.C.K.S.
  • R.O.C.K.S.
  • 16-08-18

One of my Favorites

The fifth book in this series and I can not wait for the next! This book had me on edge from chapter to chapter.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jessica Perez-Baker
  • Jessica Perez-Baker
  • 20-07-18

cant wait for the next books in the series

can't wait until the rest of the books in this series and other books from this author are available on Audible in the US