Listen free for 30 days

Storm of Steel

The Bernicia Chronicles, Book 6
Narrated by: Barnaby Edwards
Series: The Bernicia Chronicles, Book 6
Length: 14 hrs and 25 mins
Categories: Fiction, Sagas
5 out of 5 stars (39 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

AD 643. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and the sixth instalment in the Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell.  

Heading south to lands he once considered his home, Beobrand is plunged into a dark world of piracy and slavery when an old friend enlists his help to recover a kidnapped girl.  

Embarking onto the wind-tossed seas, Beobrand pursues his quarry with single-minded tenacity. But the Whale Road is never calm, and his journey is beset with storms, betrayal and violence.  

As the winds of his wyrd blow him ever further from what he knows, will Beobrand find victory on his quest or has his luck finally abandoned him?

©2019 Mathew Harffy (P)2019 Audible, Ltd

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beobrand Broods and then Shivers our Timbers!

It has felt like a long time since we last travelled with Beobrand so the arrival of this latest instalment is extremely welcome. It opens at a cracking pace with Beobrand fighting aboard ship for the first time and this maritime theme is strong throughout. Then, unusually for books in this series, the story enters a more brooding phase, still entertaining and full of manly talk but definitely a slower pace.

It felt finely judged as it builds into something much more like what we have come to expect from this series. Those who require a high body count will not be disappointed by the end! In fact, the conclusive battle is as gorily visceral as anything else that has gone before. And that's saying a good deal because this really is right up there with many of the far more celebrated authors.

For anyone new to this series you could start here but it would be much better to start from the beginning to get a real feel for the characters and how they have developed. This is a strong, bloody and violent historical series but one that is enriched with a strong back story.

The place behind the microphone is quite rightly retained by the excellent Barnaby Edwards, it really is difficult to imagine anyone else taking this series on now, he has made the voice of Beobrand his own.

So, a series that continues to give us just what we want and long may it continue. The added twist of the largely maritime theme adds a salty tang of freshness to the storyline without radically changing its vicious, vengeful nature!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

outstanding!

I honestly belive that the only way that that story could have been improved is if barnaby could read it aloud in a mead hall! i feel mathew harffy just gets better and better with every book he produces. this telling of baobrands adventures really had the feel of a saga. the whole series is outstanding and i cant wait for more!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book.

Great book, again.
Now c'mon giddy up & get writing books!!! We want more BEAO!!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Simply Brilliant

I have devoured Matthew Harffy books and listened to each one with complete fascination.
I would highly recommend them to anyone who loves History especially Anglo Saxon. A mighty warrior in Beobrand from boy to warrior is a compelling read.
I loved Barnaby Edwards clear and quiet brilliant artistic licence of so many characters who brought out each and every character to life. Loved it.
Cannot wait to dive into Beo’s next adventure’s.
Don’t let anyone else take BE place. He is outstanding as is MH. Please don’t keep us waiting too long for the next book’s.
Loved all from “The Serpent Sword” to “Storm of Steel”. Read from the beginning to the next. Don’t jump as you’ll miss out this intriguing adventure of the Bernicia Chronicles.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great historical fiction brilliantly performed!

Matthew Harffy entertains with his likeable characters, whilst Barnaby Edwards brings it to life expertly.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for GGO
  • GGO
  • 29-09-19

Great Series!

This is the first series of books I've read from this author and I was very impressed. Well written, lots of action and never boring. I'm looking for more to read from him. Also the narrator was a master of entertainment and contributed greatly to the enjoyment of the books. Hugely recommended!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vicente Cabrera
  • Vicente Cabrera
  • 12-09-19

Awesome ending!!

I am very pleased with my purchases of these books!! Each of them satisfies all of the human emotions and Barnaby Edwards seriously brings these characters to life!! I’m sad to see the ending but who knows...if they make a show of it I hope they would keep to the story of the books!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for presterjohn1
  • presterjohn1
  • 10-08-19

Another excellent entry in the Bernicia Chronicles

Once more, Matthew Harffy delivers another exciting Beobrand adventure.

This time, the heroic thane is on a quest that takes him beyond the familiar ground of Albion: an open sea, ruled by pirates, and a province of the kingdom of Francia, dominated by a depraved overlord. Beobrand must fulfill his quest against all odds, battling his own self-doubt along with pirates and foreign men-at-arms. The tale is full of menaces we still fear in the 21st century as much as in Beobrand's time. Harffy has conquered sea battles in this story just as in previous installments he mastered medieval battles on land. It makes for a refreshing change of pace.

Harffy has a deliciously evocative style, capturing the poetry of an Anglo-Saxon epic in modern and often earthy prose. It's very satisfying.

The way is paved for further adventures and complications in the life of Beobrand and I look forward to future installments of the Bernicia Chronicles.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Son of Odin
  • Son of Odin
  • 06-08-19

Long live Beobrand Half-hand!

The only disappointing thing about this book is that it had to come to an end. 😔

From day one I have been a huge fan of Matthew Harffy's work. He always does his research and uses it to suck you into his story. I can't wait to see what's next for Beobrand.

As always Barnaby Edwards did an outstanding job in narrating the story. His narration brings life to the characters of the book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for K.E.W.
  • K.E.W.
  • 24-06-19

My favorite book of the series so far.

Most Novels have sections that "drag" at times. But "Storm of Steel" flowed so well it was over much too quickly and.i was left wishing for more. That is a rare occurrence for me.
Easily worth a Credit.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark Walsh
  • Mark Walsh
  • 22-06-19

Such an amazing book!

Great book, but there was one disappointing thing about it and that was that it had to end!