Listen free for 30 days

Storm of Steel

The Bernicia Chronicles, Book 6
Narrated by: Barnaby Edwards
Series: The Bernicia Chronicles, Book 6
Length: 14 hrs and 25 mins
5 out of 5 stars (12 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

AD 643. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and the sixth instalment in the Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell.  

Heading south to lands he once considered his home, Beobrand is plunged into a dark world of piracy and slavery when an old friend enlists his help to recover a kidnapped girl.  

Embarking onto the wind-tossed seas, Beobrand pursues his quarry with single-minded tenacity. But the Whale Road is never calm, and his journey is beset with storms, betrayal and violence.  

As the winds of his wyrd blow him ever further from what he knows, will Beobrand find victory on his quest or has his luck finally abandoned him?

©2019 Mathew Harffy (P)2019 Audible, Ltd

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beobrand Broods and then Shivers our Timbers!

It has felt like a long time since we last travelled with Beobrand so the arrival of this latest instalment is extremely welcome. It opens at a cracking pace with Beobrand fighting aboard ship for the first time and this maritime theme is strong throughout. Then, unusually for books in this series, the story enters a more brooding phase, still entertaining and full of manly talk but definitely a slower pace.

It felt finely judged as it builds into something much more like what we have come to expect from this series. Those who require a high body count will not be disappointed by the end! In fact, the conclusive battle is as gorily visceral as anything else that has gone before. And that's saying a good deal because this really is right up there with many of the far more celebrated authors.

For anyone new to this series you could start here but it would be much better to start from the beginning to get a real feel for the characters and how they have developed. This is a strong, bloody and violent historical series but one that is enriched with a strong back story.

The place behind the microphone is quite rightly retained by the excellent Barnaby Edwards, it really is difficult to imagine anyone else taking this series on now, he has made the voice of Beobrand his own.

So, a series that continues to give us just what we want and long may it continue. The added twist of the largely maritime theme adds a salty tang of freshness to the storyline without radically changing its vicious, vengeful nature!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

outstanding!

I honestly belive that the only way that that story could have been improved is if barnaby could read it aloud in a mead hall! i feel mathew harffy just gets better and better with every book he produces. this telling of baobrands adventures really had the feel of a saga. the whole series is outstanding and i cant wait for more!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book.

Great book, again.
Now c'mon giddy up & get writing books!!! We want more BEAO!!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • K.E.W.
  • 24-06-19

My favorite book of the series so far.

Most Novels have sections that "drag" at times. But "Storm of Steel" flowed so well it was over much too quickly and.i was left wishing for more. That is a rare occurrence for me.
Easily worth a Credit.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mark Walsh
  • 22-06-19

Such an amazing book!

Great book, but there was one disappointing thing about it and that was that it had to end!