Listen free for 30 days

The Wind off the Small Isles

Narrated by: Susie Riddell
Length: 1 hr and 57 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (10 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Beloved author Mary Stewart's long-lost novella, now available again for the first time in 40 years and perfect for fans of Anya Seton, Daphne du Maurier and Santa Montefiore.

'Now she would spell love her own way....'

In 1879 a wealthy young woman elopes with an impoverished fisherman, leaving her family, who live on the volcanic island of Lanzarote, distraught. In 1968, 23-year-old Perdita West, secretary to the famous author Cora Gresham, visits Lanzarote, the strangest and wildest of the Canary Isles, on a research trip. They meet Cora's estranged son, Mike, and fall in love with the unusual, beautiful little island.

While snorkeling, a landslide traps Perdita in an underwater cave. No one knows where she is, so she can't count on a rescue. And her efforts to save herself will reveal the solution to a century-old mystery....

The Wind off the Small Isles is Mary Stewart's sweeping, romantic long-lost novella, finally being brought back in a beautiful, all new edition for the first time in more than four decades.

©1968 MRM Stewart (P)2016 Hodder & Stoughton

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sweet tale

Lovely novella for fans of Mary Stewart, set in the Canary Islands. I like the way her stories end not only with the satisfactory arrangement of the romance theme, but also with some other denoument or completion.

Sorry to say that I found the narrator's voice rather irritating. She sounded for much of the story as if she was getting over a cold. I hope she's better now....

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Delightful

A delightful gentle love story. One unknown before but very much enjoyed now.How there will be more to follow

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jenny
  • Jenny
  • 10-06-17

Classic Mary Stewart. Enchanting

The story unfolds in vivid word pictures read by an expressive Ms. Riddell. I could not fault the beloved writing style of a favorite author, or the flawless narration. Exceptional and enjoyable. I felt transported to the small isles!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sharon
  • sharon
  • 10-12-16

Little Known Mary Stewart Novella

I have been a Mary Stewart fan for over 50 years. I wish I could read "My Brother Michael" again for the first time (which is a top favorite of mine) I have read and reread all of her contemporary mysteries with pleasure. This novella has been out of print for years and was released to celebrate Mary"s 100th birthday.. Very much in the vein and style of her other classics...The only criticism I have is ITS TOO SHORT! I did not want it to end. The descriptions were marvelous and the scene in the cave very scary . The narration was excellent.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kitty
  • Kitty
  • 21-01-18

Wonderful Short Read

Mary Stewart is very much a hidden treasure. Her Merlin novels are wonderful, but her works of romantic fiction have not been given the praise that they should. She is as amazing a storyteller as Daphne DuMaurier and her prose is more descriptive. Almost as descriptive and harmonious as Truman Capote's short stories. I wish Audible could provide more unabridged Mary Stewart classics such as My Brother Michael, Nine Coaches Waiting, and This Rough Magic. She paints a picture that will last in your memory and I remember fondly the first time I've read her literature.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-08-17

Excellent... One of my favorite authors

We all have our favorite autnors. Whether it be the subject matter, the style of writing, or the who done it, the audio book makes it better

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for topcatrules
  • topcatrules
  • 05-10-16

A magical love story

Any additional comments?

This is the best book I have listened to this year. Mary Stewart has always been one of my favorite authors but in this novella, she has outdone herself.
I listened to it in one go - at times it was hard to believe that a book could really be this good.
Fantastic narration, wonderful love story, descriptive scenery, well written characters. Ten out of ten!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ree
  • Ree
  • 20-07-19

A Mary Stewart gem

It’s a short story and a simple one; there are significant coincidences which I would normally consider lazy writing; however, as a lifelong fan of Mary Stewart I appreciated this as a sort of miniature version of her usual novels. She dives deep into the setting and her delicious descriptions paint a gorgeous and vivid picture. There is very little plot, but for present and future Mary Stewart fans it’s a wonderful little taste of her writing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Regina Davis
  • Regina Davis
  • 08-09-17

Romantic

An extremely intriguing and romantic tale. and enjoyable short story. The narration was spectaculRd I could envision all the descriptions of the Isle.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Edie
  • Edie
  • 08-06-19

Classic Mary Stewart

I am a life long fan of Mary Stewart. This is her at her best when it come to her exquisite descriptions of the places she is taking us to visit along with her charming characters. I always feel better at the end of her books than I did before I began and feel like I’ve seen a little more of our world. Thanks.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for N.Sum
  • N.Sum
  • 20-05-19

Wonderful “found” novella

How lovely to be able to read a new to me Mary Stewart novella. It is not long but it is as evocative and vivid as all of her other stories.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S. Quarrington
  • S. Quarrington
  • 09-02-19

A lovely treat

So glad this small gem has been released. wish she was around to write more.