Mary Stewart
AUTHOR

Mary Stewart

Mary Stewart, one of our most popular novelists, was born in Sunderland, County Durham and lives in the West Highlands. Her first novel, MADAM, WILL YOU TALK? was published in 1955 and marked the beginning of a long and acclaimed writing career. All her novels have been bestsellers on both sides of the Atlantic. Her book for younger readers, THE LITTLE BROOMSTICK, LUDO AND THE STAR HORSE, and A WALK IN WOLF WOOD, quickly met with the success of her other novels. In 1971 she was awarded the International PEN Association's Frederick Niven Prize for THE CRYSTAL CAVE, and in 1974 the Scottish Arts Council Award for LUDO AND THE STAR HORSE.

Read more Read less

Best Sellers

    • The Crystal Cave

    • Arthurian Saga, Book 1
    • By: Mary Stewart
    • Narrated by: Derek Perkins
    • Length: 16 hrs and 51 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 29
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 28
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 28

    This is what happened. I saw it, and it is a true tale. So begins the story of Merlin, born the illegitimate son of a Welsh princess in fifth-century Britain, a world ravaged by war....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Still the best telling of the Arthurian legend

    • By H. Tollyfield on 20-02-19

    Regular price: £21.99

    • Nine Coaches Waiting

    • By: Mary Stewart
    • Narrated by: Ellie Heydon
    • Length: 11 hrs and 58 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 33
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 29
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 29

    Linda Martin understands what is to be lonely: her parents died when she was young, and she was raised in an orphanage. When she is hired as a governess to the orphaned young Philippe, Comte de Valmy, Linda finds a kindred spirit in the lonely little boy....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Just as good as I remembered!

    • By Fredfiend on 20-06-19

    Regular price: £19.99

    • Touch Not the Cat

    • By: Mary Stewart
    • Narrated by: Zoe Mills
    • Length: 10 hrs and 15 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 17
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 17
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 17

    Ashley Court: the tumbledown ancestral home of the Ashley family, all blessed with 'the gift' of being able to speak to each other without words....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • A little bit different from MS's other books

    • By Spikyjules on 23-07-19

    Regular price: £19.99

    • Madam, Will You Talk?

    • By: Mary Stewart
    • Narrated by: Emilia Fox
    • Length: 9 hrs and 6 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 49
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 43
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 43

    It sounds idyllic: a leisurely drive through the sun-drenched landscape of Provence. But Charity's dream holiday turns into a nightmare when she becomes embroiled in a sinister plot to kidnap a young boy.... 

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Enjoyed as much as first time I read!

    • By Sue on 23-11-18

    Regular price: £19.99

    • This Rough Magic

    • By: Mary Stewart
    • Narrated by: Helen Johns
    • Length: 11 hrs and 50 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 46
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 43
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 43

    Lucy Waring, a young, out-of-work actress from London, leaps at the chance to visit her sister for a summer on the island paradise of Corfu, and what's more, a famous but reclusive actor is staying in a villa nearby....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Serendipity... as ever was

    • By Maggie on 12-08-18

    Regular price: £24.99

    • The Gabriel Hounds

    • By: Mary Stewart
    • Length: 10 hrs
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    Legend has it that when the Gabriel Hounds run howling over the crumbling palace of Dar Ibrahim, high in the Adonis Valley of Lebanon, death will follow on their heels. When rich, spoilt Christie Mansel arrives at the decaying palace....

    Regular price: £21.99

    • Airs Above the Ground

    • By: Mary Stewart
    • Narrated by: Antonia Whillans
    • Length: 9 hrs and 13 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 27
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 24
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 24

    Vanessa March's husband, Lewis, is meant to be on a business trip in Stockholm - so why does he briefly appear in newsreel footage of a fire at a circus in Vienna, with his arm around another woman....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Brilliant story let down by a poor narrator

    • By M Phil on 17-05-19

    Regular price: £21.99

    • The Last Enchantment

    • Arthurian Saga, Book 3
    • By: Mary Stewart
    • Narrated by: Derek Perkins
    • Length: 18 hrs
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 10
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 10
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 10

    By land and water shall it go home, and lie hidden in the floating stone until by fire it shall be raised again.... 

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • A legend told in true style

    • By A Wagener on 26-03-19

    Regular price: £21.99

    • Wildfire at Midnight

    • By: Mary Stewart
    • Narrated by: Lucy Paterson
    • Length: 6 hrs and 50 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 33
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 30
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 30

    The pioneer of romantic suspense, Mary Stewart leads her listeners on an unforgettable ride across the Isle of Skye in this tale perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Classic Mary Stewart

    • By Amazon Customer on 05-11-18

    Regular price: £19.99

    • The Prince and the Pilgrim

    • Arthurian Saga, Book 5
    • By: Mary Stewart
    • Narrated by: Derek Perkins
    • Length: 8 hrs and 7 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3 out of 5 stars 2
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2
    • Story
      3 out of 5 stars 2

    Alexander the Fatherless: nephew of the villainous King March of Cornwall, who murdered his father. Burning with vengeance, Alexander sets out on a journey to Camelot to seek justice from King Arthur....

    Regular price: £19.99

Are you an author?

Help us improve our Author Pages by updating your bibliography and submitting a new or current image and biography.