£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Can the past really come back to haunt you?

Cambridge. Christmas 1922. Posie Parker has cleared a space in her hectic schedule to try to unravel a tragedy in her own family. But Posie’s past is hiding around every turn in the old university town. She finds herself taking on a new case which is positively teeming with ghosts, shadows, and secrets, where nothing is quite what it seems.

In a quest to find out what happened to Dr. William Winter, a brilliant Cambridge doctor who disappeared five years previously, Posie is forced to confront her own painful memories of the Great War. But just how safe is it really to go digging up the past? And will Posie get to spend Christmas this year with anything other than Mr. Minks, the office cat, and a lonely heart for company?

This is a classic golden age of crime mystery which will appeal to fans of Agatha Christie and Downton Abbey. The Vanishing of Dr Winter is the fourth book in the delightfully classic Posie Parker Mystery Series, although the novel can be enjoyed as a stand-alone story in its own right.

If you love an action-packed historical cozy crime with a feisty protagonist, buy The Vanishing of Dr. Winter now.

©2016 L.B. Hathaway (P)2019 L.B. Hathaway

What listeners say about The Vanishing of Dr Winter

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

please check for historical accuracy.

The use of kilo, and 1st class post, plus some more modern language,detract from an enjoyable story. Lazy editing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

More please!

Loved this series, they're my new favourites. Please can we have the rest of the series now.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Next please,

Love the book, series and reader. I so look forward to the next audiobook.
Thank you!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 31-01-20

best of the series

I listened to previous books in the series and was about to return them. Then I picked this audio book. Much better than previous, more in depth characters and not so silly of a plot this time.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Renee
  • Renee
  • 17-02-20

Cotton candy

Enjoyable, cozy, and we’ll written and narrator very perky and friendly.
I will order another in this series.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sandy Morris
  • Sandy Morris
  • 26-05-20

Loved it!!!

Really enjoyed this book SO MUCH!!
Just the right amount of everything!
Hurry with another, please 😊

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for John
  • John
  • 12-02-20

As Sure As Bread Was Bread This Book Is Superb

As Posie says five times in this book ,.. “as sure as bread is bread”,.. this series just gets better and better..!! More please ...!!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen
  • Karen
  • 13-05-20

A Most Enjoyable Read,

This story captured my attention from beginning to end. The storylines are very cohesive and do not disappoint. Posie's wartime remembrances were like reading her personal journal -reliving the bonds of friendship and hardship during and as a result of the war.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-05-20

Great Performance From Clare Wille

I loved this book! the story kept me guessing the whole time. Can't wait to see what happens next!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-01-21

irksome

The repetitive use of the expression "sure as bread is bread" is irksome. Please find a thesaurus.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Leslie N.
  • Leslie N.
  • 27-08-20

Best one so far!

Enjoyed the varied storylines and history lesson. Narrator is perfect! Well done! Can’t wait to read the next in the series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susan
  • Susan
  • 23-07-20

Best so far

This is the best so far in the Posie Parker series. In the world of Golden Age cosies, this series is both better written and more creative than 90% of other books in this genre. The story is well conceived and the plot holds together nicely. The last book was very jarring in both tone and characterizations so I was concerned that things were already going downhill but this book absolutely hit its stride. The narrator is consistently good.