Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

Mumbai, murder, and a baby elephant combine in a charming, joyful mystery for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Harold Fry.

On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra inherits two unexpected mysteries. The first is the case of a drowned boy, whose suspicious death no one seems to want solved. And the second is a baby elephant.

As his search for clues takes him across the teeming city of Mumbai, from its grand high-rises to its sprawling slums and deep into its murky underworld, Chopra begins to suspect that there may be a great deal more to both his last case and his new ward than he thought.

And he soon learns that when the going gets tough, a determined elephant may be exactly what an honest man needs....

©2015 Vaseem Khan (P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    77
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    60
  • 4 Stars
    48
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unexpected storyline😀

What a fantastic "read" enjoyed every single word. I came across the book when the author was interviewed on BBC Radio 2, his enthusiasm for the storyline was evident. This isn't a story about an elephant its a well written story about a central character and the many and varied people who he comes into contact with. The twists and turns keep coming right up to the last word. Really enjoyed it and can't wait for the next episode.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • jitesh
  • Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
  • 19-02-16

Indian police officer with a pet elephant.

an Indian police office about to retire inherits a baby elephant. Should he investigate an suicide/murder on his last day of work. He must but has to do it on his own time as he embarks on retirement.

nice soft hearted storyline.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant book!

Would you listen to The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra again? Why?

Its a quirky and well written story, weaving a story of a mystical elephant with a real life mystery. I was hooked and couldn't wait for the mystery unfold in the end. Would defintiely recommend

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • anne
  • Bedford, United Kingdom
  • 20-12-15

A gentle mystery

A nice gentle, quaint read with a flavour of the old and the new India.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good old fashioned Dectective Story

Welcome to the new Dectective and his sidekick - the best double act in Bombay

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable.

Would you consider the audio edition of The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra to be better than the print version?

Haven't read the print version.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra?

Ganesh saving the Inspector's life.

What does Sartaj Garewal bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

The flavour of India without being stereotypical.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I laughed a couple of times but it was just an enjoyable story

Any additional comments?

A light hearted read!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Detective fiction at it's best

Great story. Can't wait to get the next one. India is a beautiful setting for this original take on the genre.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A gift of a Baby Elephant??

If you could sum up The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra in three words, what would they be?

Atmospheric, engaging and honorable

Who was your favorite character and why?

Inspector Chopra himself of course. This being the first in the series of the baby Ganesh Detective Agency a lo of time had to be given to him as the main character. Vaseem Khan described him so well he felt very real to me, human and fallible, but genuine and essentially a 'good' man. The effort he went to, to try to help the baby elephant.
Of course Ganesh could also be described as the main character!

Which scene did you most enjoy?

Ganesh saving Chopra from 'the baddies' :)

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Honestly? Really it was when Ganesh starts to eat. I hadn't realised, but up until then I had been holding my breath rooting for him as he got weaker and weaker and more and more sad.

Any additional comments?

Narrator, Sartaj Garewal, was excellent too. Thanks to his voice and the writing I could almost smell and taste Mumbai.
There had better be lots more in the series!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a great story with an authentic audible experience

Where does The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

I would actually say it ranks near the top as I was addicted to the main character Inspector Chopra and his second in command.. and I do mean the one with the big ears and long trunk!!

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra?

The most memorable moment for me was when Inspector Chopra risks his own life to save his new friend. I do not want to spoil it for other listeners or readers but it was certainly worth the listen and read.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

Every scene which took place within this book was my favourite as it developed into one excellent work of fiction, one thing I did enjoy it showed the real India throughout.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I would not say it made me laugh or cry but it certainly kept me on the edge of my seat to see whether Inspector Chopra and his side-kick lived to fight crime another day.

Any additional comments?

If you liked the Ladies Detective agency series or even Hamish Macbeth etc. this one will suit your taste.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

entertaining

Very entertaining story well told and very good plot and love the elephant and twist

2 of 2 people found this review helpful