Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Growing up in a village of elves is hard when you’re the only human. Especially when humans are hated by all other species in Tellusm. But Fulco is determined to fit in.

After discovering he has the magical power of "sapience" to control beasts, he makes it his mission to join the elven Portare team. A sport where players must ride upon a beast, beat each other with bats, score goals, and influence the outcome of the game with magic.

But Tellusm is uncertain and troublesome. A place where three-headed lizards roam wild, a curse runs rampant turning its inhabitants into mindless monsters, and a violent storm separates it from the rest of the world.

With three gods fighting over the fate of the land, mysterious dreams, alluring strangers, and awakening powers lead Fulco toward the destiny from which his elven parents have been trying so desperately to shield him. As his power grows, so does the trouble that stalks him.

An exciting and immersive coming of age fantasy packed with spellbinding magic, astounding mythical creatures, a threatening menace, growing romance, and a bow tie-wearing werewolf called Gary. Perfect for fans of Patrick Rothfuss, J.K. Rowling, Brandon Sanderson, and Terry Pratchett.

©2020 Ben McQueeney (P)2020 Ben McQueeney

What listeners say about The Spirit of Things: A Gripping Young Adult Coming of Age Fantasy

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Looking forward to continuing with Fulco on his adventures This first in the series has set the story well of the young Hume finding his place in the world.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A gripping fantasy novel & an enchanting audiobook

A gripping fantasy novel with lovable characters, a well-thought-out plot, and an enchanting audiobook. The Spirit of Things is a coming-of-age fantasy novel about Fulco, an adopted young Hume, finding his place in the world. The book is set in an Elphen town called Tellusm where Fulco – being the only Hume – constantly feels the need to prove himself and protect his adoptive family. I immediately felt for Fulco, through his struggles and each deserving victory. However, Fulco is not like any other Hume. Later in the book, we discover that he actually has the power of sapience. This twist added so much more to the book, creating a theme that is relatable to many of us – a theme of trying to find one’s place in the world and figure out who they are. This is one of the many reasons why I enjoyed listening to Fulco’s adventure unfold. I listened to the audiobook for The Spirit of Things and must say, I fully enjoyed it. The narrator (Nigel Peever) did a superb job of adding a magical-feel to the already spellbinding book, with the characters’ voices, diegetic sounds, ambient music, and of course the narrator’s smooth, easy-to-listen-to voice. I looked forward to listening to McQueeny’s audiobook each day. The book itself includes a balance of description and dialogue that was also pleasant to listen to. The world-building was subtle yet effective – I felt like I was really there. Too much description in a book tends to put me off, but McQueeny’s writing is concise and didn’t give my mind a chance to wander. Overall, I really enjoyed listening to this audiobook. It is well-written, well-produced, and a joy to come back to after each chapter. McQueeny has done a fantastic job; the story drew me in and didn’t let go.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great fantasy tale.

I am not YA, I am 46, but I still loved this story. It has everything you would want a fantasy tale to have, and the narration keeps you listening. Absolutely recommendable.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding audiobook.

What a great audio book! Read with skill and creativity by Nigel Peever this is enthralling from the first breath. Grab a copy and you won't be disappointed.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 09-12-20

A superb magic tale to keep you on your toes

This book is brilliant! Between McQueeney's writing and Peever's performance, this book leapt from printed page to a true piece of life that kept me eager to hear what happens next as Fulco, a hume in the world of elves, tries to understand the visions he's been having, tries to find a way to belong in a world he's not welcome in, and tries to find his way into the world of magic.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Autumn
  • Autumn
  • 02-10-20

I’ll listen to this one again.

Nigel is an excellent narrator. Very imaginative sounds. I struggled to stay connected to the story but am thinking I’m just distracted with life so I will have to listen again to be fair to the author.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kerry Stewart
  • Kerry Stewart
  • 17-08-20

Good story

This is a good story with excellent narration! I look forward to hearing more in future books. I would recommend it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 20-07-20

Fascinating Fantasy World and Storytelling

I'm horrible at spoilers, so I'll try to keep it brief. Starting with the narrator, Nigel Peever, he had generally good pacing and clear voice. Also got into the theatrics changing vocal tone for every character, which was impressive. Included background sound effects were also a nice touch (clopping horse hooves, scuffles in fight scenes, white noise in scenes with crowds, etc.). Getting to the story, a YA high fantasy with vivid imagery and was an interesting fantasy world to explore. The Main Character, a human (or "hume") named Fulco, had a fairly distinct personality and goal and was fun to follow. His family were fairly well-rounded in character, as well, As any YA might have, the story included a romantic interest- Lisythia (I hope that's spelled right), an "elfen," which many fantasy readers could relate to an elf. The way they meet and find interest in each other is adorable. I personally loved the magic system in place in this story, what's known as "sapience." As a stickler for "logic" in fantasy, I found the magic system made sense in how it was created, produced, and used. You will NOT be disappointed. My only major critique as a listener was how noticeable the use of synonyms were, and certain words had some heavy repetition. It's not that they were bad, many were interesting comparisons, but it took me out of the story every now and again when I would notice the repetition. Otherwise, I think it's a good story for anyone to pick up!