Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

When an English socialite embarks on a dangerous journey to save her sister from the Nazis, glamour, romance, and espionage collide.

As the daughter of Sir Alfred Whitford, Kat has a certain set of responsibilities. Chasing her wayward sister, Ellie, to Nazi-occupied Paris was never supposed to be one of them. Now accustomed to the luxurious lifestyle that her Nazi boyfriend provides, Ellie has no intention of going back to the shackled life their parents dictate - but Kat will stop at nothing to bring her sister home.

Barrett Anderson was arrested for defending himself against a drunken bully of high birth. Given the option of jail or training Resistance fighters in Paris, Barret chooses the latter. He poses as a bar owner, entertaining Nazis at night while his men train right below their jackboots during the day. Being assigned to watch over two English debutantes is the last thing he needs, but a payout from their father is too tempting to resist.

From the moment Kat and Barrett meet, tempers flare and sparks fly amid false assumptions. Despite their differences, they’ll have to find a way to trust each other in order to survive their deadly mission. In the end, their hearts may prove more traitorous than the dangers waiting around the corner.

At once a daring journey into occupied Paris and an unfolding love story, The Socialite will entrap listeners with its scintillating prose and unforgettable characters.

Praise for The Socialite:

“An atmospheric, engrossing romance for fans of Downton Abbey and Somewhere in France. A real gem!” (Aimie K. Runyan, internationally best-selling author)

“Smart, savvy, and seductive, J’nell Ciesielski’s The Socialite takes the reader on a high-stakes thrill ride through the darkness of WWII-occupied Paris. The Socialite shines bright as the City of Lights, and then some!” (Kristy Cambron, best-selling and award-winning author)

“In the tradition of Ariel Lawhon and Kate Quinn, The Socialite immerses readers in the glamor and destruction of Nazi-occupied Paris. A picture-perfect portrait of early 1940s Paris, this impeccably researched love story stands out in a sea of WWII-era fiction with its distinctive crystalline voice and unforgettable hero and heroine.” (Rachel McMillan, author of The London Restoration)

“A satisfying and highly enjoyable read that I recommended for readers of historical fiction, mystery, and romance.” (Tea Cooper, author of The Woman in the Green Dress)

World War II historical romance

Full-length stand-alone novel

Book length: 110,000 words

Includes discussion questions for book clubs 

©2020 J'nell Ciesielski (P)2020 Thomas Nelson

What listeners say about The Socialite

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vimala McClure
  • Vimala McClure
  • 19-08-20

Awful!

A fairly good story. Melodramatic. Horrible performance! She couldn’t pronounce French words. No difference between characters voices. Ugh.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for paula wright
  • paula wright
  • 16-06-20

Very good historical fiction but wish I knew what year in the war this took place

I really enjoyed this story about how snobby the British upper class was from a poor scots view point. Even though the narrator spoke English British English at that she mispronounced a fair amount of English words. I even looked up in the British-American website the way both countries pronounce various words she was off . I will read more from this Author . I think she has another audiobook coming out soon

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JusticeReads
  • JusticeReads
  • 10-06-20

A new favorite!! superb audio!

I absolutely loved this book! I cannot Rave about it enough! this was my first book by this author and I couldn't have been more impressed! I haven't read a lot of historical fiction, but I've read a handful from both adult fiction and young adult fiction genres and I would have to say that this one Falls in my top three favorites of all time. the main character was a very well-developed character who was extremely relatable to the reader, which is one of the most important things in my opinion. Her sister so annoying at times and I'm sure was intentional, was also very well thought out and added a lot of drama to the sister dynamic this totally reminded me of me and my sisters bickering and how even still we both look up to, respect, and turn to one another in a time of need. The plot of having a NACI boyfriend was intriguing from the start. I was completely hooked and needed to know just who this guy was and was he good or bad and well, you'll get your answer and it will leave your jaw open like mine was, I'm sure. I think that the author did an excellent job of portraying how love really does blind people throughout her book. The mail Hiro is probably one of my new favorite book boyfriends. This book played out like a movie in my mind and I couldn't stop reading and obsessing over it! I don't think that I could find a single person who doesn't like historical fiction novels that would not love this book. I highly recommend this one to readers of all ages who love World War II history and see that love shines even in the darkest of times. Ciesielski is an autobuy author for me now!