Listen free for 30 days

  • Darkness Falls

  • The Resistance Sisters, Book 1
  • By: Rachel Wesson
  • Narrated by: Harrie Dobby
  • Length: 12 hrs and 42 mins
  • 5.0 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Darkness Falls cover art

Darkness Falls

By: Rachel Wesson
Narrated by: Harrie Dobby
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £35.99

Buy Now for £35.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Orphan Train Escape cover art
When's Mummy Coming? cover art
The Glovemaker's Daughter cover art
The Secret Photograph cover art
The Lost Diary cover art
The Postcard cover art
The German Mother cover art
Foxden Acres cover art
The Orphan's Mother cover art
The Viennese Dressmaker cover art
All That Lingers cover art
The Paris Package cover art
The Girl Who Escaped cover art
The Secret Keeper cover art
The Daring Girls of Guernsey cover art
The Beauty Shop cover art

Summary

Paris, 1940: As the German soldiers march down the Champs-Élysées, the Bélanger twins know there is no escape – their lives are about to change forever.

But while Sophie, a third-year medical student, works long days and nights saving casualties of war at the American hospital, and waits anxiously for news of her fiancé from the front line, her recently widowed twin, Adèle, is determined to enjoy her freedom. Nothing – not the bombs, the curfews or the Nazi officers sidling up to her in nightclubs – can stop her from indulging in the temptations of Parisian society as she accompanies their father to glamorous parties.

But rumours are flying through the streets of occupied Paris about their father’s murky business interests, and soon Sophie learns the shocking truth of what’s really happening to their Jewish friends and neighbours.

And then tragedy strikes: their beloved brother is arrested for his involvement in the resistance. Devastated and unable to save him, the family is torn apart – and the girls’ lives are changed forever.

Broken-hearted, the sisters must each find their own way to fight back. As they too are drawn to the resistance, will Sophie learn to break the rules – risking her own life to save as many innocent children as she can? And Adèle faces her toughest challenge yet when she’s recruited as a special agent for the British. Can she overcome her stubborn nature and use her charms to avenge her brother’s death?

One false step and the twins could lose everything they’re fighting for – and each other.

A heartbreaking page-turner based on real-life events, this is a devastating story of lives torn apart by war – and of finding the courage to do what is right, even at the darkest of times. Fans of Kate Quinn, Shari J. Ryan and Siobhan Curham will be captivated by this unforgettable historical novel.

Readers totally love Darkness Falls:

©2023 Rachel Wesson (P)2023 Storm Publishing

What listeners say about Darkness Falls

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intriguing

Gets better as the story progresses. Looking forward to the developing story line. Realistic account and interesting twists.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!