Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

He came home a hero. 

But death isn't finished with him yet....

145 BC - Calabria, ancient Rome. 

After years of spilling blood for Rome, Gaius Furius Paullus has returned home to spend his remaining days working quietly on the family farm.

But it seems death has stalked Paullus from the battlefield. Just days after his arrival, bodies start appearing - murdered and mutilated. And as the deaths stack up and panic spreads, the war hero becomes the prime suspect. After all, Paullus has killed countless enemies on the battlefield - could he have brought his habit home with him?

With the psychological effects of combat clouding every thought, Paullus must use all his soldier's instincts to hunt the real killer. Because if they are not brought to justice soon, he may become the next victim.

The Return is the breathless, epic new thriller from one of the world's best historical novelists - for fans of Simon Scarrow, Conn Iggulden, Ben Kane and Bernard Cornwell.

©2020 Harry Sidebottom (P)2020 W. F. Howes Ltd

More from the same

What listeners say about The Return

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Easy listen, really enjoyable

A really enjoyable listen that I was unable to put down, next one please. Thanks

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Decent

Nice to read a Roman story that isn’t all about battles. It was well-read and written but I felt it tied up a but quickly at the end and the PTSD element was dealt with in a slightly pat way.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

enjoyed it

different for me I normally like a good thriller but I liked the look of this and it wasn't bad I thought the narrator done well the story was good and in the end I was happy to have listened would I rush out for the next one no I wouldn't but this wouldn't put me off I just fancied a change from police work and inside courtrooms this fitted the bill and I enjoyed it

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exciting read

Really enjoyed this book. It is an exciting read, but what distinguishes it is the historical detail that Sidebottom manages to bring to the story. It takes you to the period. The setting of the book is earlier than usual, being in set in the 2nd century bc. This increases the interest and gives it a different perspective . And it is a great page-turner too.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A enjoyable story

A different tack to the authors other books. I enjoyed the setting and how the story developed.The story had depth and pace.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Return

A great listen. Finished this in 3 days. Felt different to other Ancient Roman novels I have read/listened to. The thing I liked the most was the mix of the army side and the murder mystery in the home town.
Very interested to see where this could go if there are more to come after this.