Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £34.99

Buy Now for £34.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

From number one best-selling author Caroline Mitchell comes the first chilling Slayton thriller for fans of C. J. Tudor and Stephen King.

If you open your door to the Midnight Man, hide with a candle wherever you can. Try not to scream as he draws near, because one of you won't be leaving here.... 

On Halloween night in Slayton, five girls go to Blackhall Manor to play the Midnight Game. They write their names on a piece of paper and prick their fingers to soak it in blood. At exactly midnight they knock on the door 22 times - they have invited the Midnight Man in.

It was supposed to be a game, but only four girls come home.

Detective Sarah Noble has just returned to the force, and no one knows more about Blackhall Manor than her. It's a case that will take Sarah back to everything she's been running from and shake her to the core.

Will she be ready to meet the Midnight Man?

©2021 Caroline Mitchell (P)2021 Bonnier Books UK

What listeners say about The Midnight Man

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just Brilliant

i just loved everything about this book. good storyline, likeable characters and excellent narration.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect Halloween Listen

I do love a spooky story and this is a brilliant one. Picture the scene - it's Halloween in a town called Slayton and 5 teenage girls go to a spooky old house where a father murdered his own family, and play a game where they invite The Midnight Man in. What could possibly go wrong!! Well, only 4 girls return home!

This is the perfect book to listen to on Audible. The production is first class and the sound effects at the beginning are so creepy that the hairs on the back of my neck were standing up even before the narration began! The book hooked me in right from the start and I was so engrossed I forgot to make dinner until my OH gave me a nudge! It is a cracking thriller which is paced just right and is full of twists and turns. I had several theories about who the Midnight Man was, but every one of them was wrong! The protagonist, DC Sarah Noble had an amazing backstory and as this is Book 1 of the Slayton series I hope we see more of her in future books..

The two narrators were superb. Emma Gregory, whb narrated most of the book was amazing and managed all the different voices with ease, and Elliott Fitzpatrick was deliciously creepy! A perfect audiobook :-)

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Woah 🤯 this book makes you think you know exactly where it’s heading, but no!

🕯 BOOK TOUR REVIEW 🕯

The Midnight Man by Caroline Mitchell

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5⭐️s

Thank you to Embla Books for my gifted e-copy of the book via Netgalley and for having me along in the tour.

𝕀𝕗 𝕪𝕠𝕦 𝕠𝕡𝕖𝕟 𝕪𝕠𝕦𝕣 𝕕𝕠𝕠𝕣 𝕥𝕠 𝕥𝕙𝕖 𝕄𝕚𝕕𝕟𝕚𝕘𝕙𝕥 𝕄𝕒𝕟
ℍ𝕚𝕕𝕖 𝕨𝕚𝕥𝕙 𝕒 𝕔𝕒𝕟𝕕𝕝𝕖 𝕨𝕙𝕖𝕣𝕖𝕧𝕖𝕣 𝕪𝕠𝕦 𝕔𝕒𝕟
𝕋𝕣𝕪 𝕟𝕠𝕥 𝕥𝕠 𝕤𝕔𝕣𝕖𝕒𝕞 𝕒𝕤 𝕙𝕖 𝕕𝕣𝕒𝕨𝕤 𝕟𝕖𝕒𝕣
𝔹𝕖𝕔𝕒𝕦𝕤𝕖 𝕠𝕟𝕖 𝕠𝕗 𝕪𝕠𝕦 𝕨𝕠𝕟'𝕥 𝕓𝕖 𝕝𝕖𝕒𝕧𝕚𝕟𝕘 𝕙𝕖𝕣𝕖...

Woah 🤯 this book makes you think you know exactly where it’s heading, but no!

The opening of The Midnight Man is one of the most Fantastic I’ve read.

The eerieness of Blackhall Manor lifts right off the pages and weaves around you. As does the claustrophobic town of Slayton. Everyone knows everyone.

But the people of Slayton don’t seem to know who Sarah Nobel is, beyond her most recent shame.

I loved the alternating perspectives of Sarah, Elsie, Elliot, and others. Small pieces of the puzzle are shared but trust me, you will definitely miss pieces that are essential.

The suspense and atmosphere is kept at the forefront of the story and gives the slow creeping feeling of something coming.

This book is definitely one you want to read this spooky season. I do t want to spoil the plot of this book but each chapter pulled me into the next.

#BookReview #BookTour #ReadAndReview #TheMidnightMan #EmblaBooks #SpookyReads #OctoberReads

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story but appalling male narrator

I quite enjoyed this book. I wasn’t keen on the end though. I thought it was clutching at straws in a number of ways and let the story down, however I realise that’s quite a personal thing. I found myself muttering “oh for goodness sake, seriously??” and rolling my eyes when the reveals came which was a shame because the tension was built nicely. Generally the story had a good feel to it and kept me listening even though I didn’t like the narration. I’m not sure I’d read another book by this author. I might try one if it had half decent narration and see. I’m not sure though. The female narrator has a voice that’s far too mature for the age of the main character, or any of the characters for that matter. It always makes me cringe when casting is done like this. Her voice didn’t fit the central character at all and she made her sound really annoying and twee. Also she read a young male character who’s born and bred in the U.K. with an American accent which was a bizarre thing to do. The male narrator was truly dire though. He wasn’t creepy he was just bad. I can’t decide what he thought he was doing. It was amateur pantomime villain time. I wanted to jack the book in every time he spoke. I realised pretty early on that fortunately he didn’t have a lot of air time, otherwise I’d definitely have sent the book back. Audible really need to do some work on their casting. There are just too many poor narrators and given the talent in this country there’s simply no excuse.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Great start but drifted midway

I really do like this author and narration was spot on, but ..... unlike some of her other novels, it began to drag and I felt the narrators were beginning to flag too. Such a shame when the beginning was so full of promise and the premise was good. Perhaps it should just have been a few hours shorter to keep up the tension.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not a fan

Did not like the narrator. Could not stand the main female character ! Very disappointed as I thought having listened to the prologue that I was onto a winner. Will not be following this author. The whole book lacked any real depth.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Pretty pedestrian novel

I am looking for a real chiller and haven't found one yet. I read the reviews which were glowing and said how scary the story was; I listened to the whole novel waiting for the shivers and didn't have any.

the search goes on

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marisa B.
  • Marisa B.
  • 20-10-21

Excellently Entertaining

Caroline Mitchell never disappoints! I was a little bit worried at the beginning that this book would be one of those 'kids playing Halloween games gone wrong' books. In reality, it is much more than that. I loved the characterization of our protagonist, DC Sarah Noble. The plot was suspenseful and had me hooked within the first few chapters. Overall, I enjoyed this book very much and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a suspenseful and engaging murder mystery/thriller.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for John
  • John
  • 16-10-21

I Would Give 12 Stars If I Could..!!

What an absolutely fabulous book this was… I would give a dozen stars if I could….!!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Morton
  • Morton
  • 22-11-21

Great narrator, disappointing story.

I didn't find this story as scary as I had hoped. Dual timelines don't usually confuse me, but this story had so many characters and storylines within the two timelines, that I felt lost for the first third of the book. That took away a lot of the suspense for me which was very disappointing.
The narrator was fantastic.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Barbara
  • Barbara
  • 14-11-21

A Great Thriller!

In a town full of dark secrets and unspeakable acts, The Mighnight Man begins his evil game. Sara, a police Detective, must come to grips with the horrors of her past while working to find The Midnight Man.

Caroline Mitchell has written a fantastic psychological thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat waiting for the next evil to come to light.

Elliott Fitzpatrick and Emma Gregory were magnificent narrators.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for liza qaddourah
  • liza qaddourah
  • 13-11-21

oooh... this is a good one!

held my attention all the way thru.. really enjoyed this read! kept me asking till the end!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LadySpeaker
  • LadySpeaker
  • 08-11-21

Great Escape

After listening to 2 challenging nonfiction books in a row, I needed a good escape novel. This novel fit the bill. It's a ghost story/thriller that left me guessing. Typically, I can figure out the antagonist by the end of this book but not this time. The end was a twist that took me by surprise. The narration was perfect for this story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 01-11-21

Perfectly spooky

Loved this book! Lots of character development which made you connect with the story. Surprising twists that were believable. Great narration for each character. Perfect for Halloween but great anytime of the year! 100% recommended!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Darkangel629
  • Darkangel629
  • 29-10-21

Fantastic Listen

I wasn't sure if I would like this book, but a few chapters in, I was hooked. It started off sounding like a story written for Halloween, but quickly morphed into a wonderful procedural/ modern whodunit. The narration was also very well done. I hope this is a start to a new series. Would love for this story to continue. Well worth a credit!