Listen free for 30 days

The Mark of the Dragonfly

Narrated by: Kim Mai Guest
Series: World of Solace Series, Book 1
Length: 9 hrs and 46 mins
4 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

For fans of Frozen, The City of Ember, and The School for Good and Evil, the New York Times best seller The Mark of the Dragonfly is a fast-paced adventure story about a mysterious girl and a fearless boy, set in a magical world that is both exciting and dangerous. 

Piper has never seen the Mark of the Dragonfly until she finds the girl amid the wreckage of a caravan in the Meteor Fields. 

The girl doesn't remember a thing about her life, but the intricate tattoo on her arm is proof that she's from the Dragonfly Territories and that she's protected by the king. Which means a reward for Piper if she can get the girl home. 

The one sure way to the Territories is the 401, a great old beauty of a train. But a ticket costs more coin than Piper could make in a year. And stowing away is a difficult prospect - everyone knows that getting past the peculiar green-eyed boy who stands guard is nearly impossible. 

Life for Piper just turned dangerous. A little bit magical. And very exciting, if she can manage to survive the journey. 

Praise for The Mark of the Dragonfly:

“This magnetic middle-grade debut…[is] a page-turner that defies easy categorization and ought to have broad appeal.” (Publishers Weekly, starred)

“Heart, brains, and courage find a home in a steampunk fantasy worthy of a nod from Baum.” (Kirkus Reviews, starred)

“A fantastic and original tale of adventure and magic...Piper is a heroine to fall in love with: smart, brave, kind, and mechanically inclined to boot.” (School Library Journal, starred)

“A complex and impeccably developed plot - there is plenty to recommend in this novel.” (The Bulletin)

“Appealing characters and lots of action make it a good choice for young adventure readers.” (Booklist)

©2014 Jaleigh Johnson (P)2014 Random House Audio

What listeners say about The Mark of the Dragonfly

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mud
  • Mud
  • 10-06-19

Amazingness would read 1000 times.

The storyline is amazing and unpredictable. The reader reads it so well and changes her voice in range and emotion, and has a beauiful ending

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Simon
  • Simon
  • 03-07-18

Depth

This story had a lot of twists and turns. New friendships were made, but some fell apart. I would like to know what happens to Mika. Maybe I will find out in the sequel.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Junie J.
  • Junie J.
  • 07-01-17

Nice kids story

What did you love best about The Mark of the Dragonfly?

This was on my daughters book club list last year. I love the theme of the story.

What three words best describe Kim Mai Guest’s performance?

I like her voice, but the different voices were hard to distinguish at times.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Greg
  • Greg
  • 23-05-16

MAKE ANOTHER BOOK PLEASE

The book was amazing a librarian suggested that I read this book and she was so right it is my favorite book I just wish there was a second one if your reading this well ENJOY 😄 📚

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Catbird45
  • Catbird45
  • 25-01-16

A mark of the Dragon Fly

Mark of the dragonfly one thing though it's just I have to read it for reading challenge at school and they said read it before the night was due and so I wanted to use audible and I decided to read it and I thought it was great I thought it was going to be fun what is and I'm glad I had the a mark the dragonfly

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kennedy
  • Kennedy
  • 24-03-15

Love this book

Everything was perfect but I wish that there would be a second book that would be awesome that's all it needs

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rani W Cochran
  • Rani W Cochran
  • 03-07-17

The Mark of the Dragonfly review

I give this story a definite 5 star!!!! It was the best story I have read!


It is a heart warming story about friends, and the end, well it's my favorite part. Make sure to read it!!