Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Shallow graves scar the desert landscape. A cemetery in the sand. Some of the lost are never found.  

Thousands of girls go missing every year in Las Vegas. Taken. Bought and sold. Or worse. Now the dead are calling.  

These lost girls summon FBI Profiler Violet Darger to Sin City - a new case. There are fresh dead to sort through - two bodies burned beyond recognition in the trunk of a sedan - and there’s reason to believe there are missing girls waiting to be saved.  

Rumors swirl that a legendary killer is responsible for these crimes: an escaped prisoner with a personal grudge against Darger - one who wants her and her partner dead. One who disappeared for 20 years. But the desert is full of deadly secrets - horrors waiting beneath the sand.  

If Darger finds the killer in time, the girls will live. If not...  

This pulse-pounding thriller will have you holding your breath until the final moment. Fans of John Sandford, Karin Slaughter, Gillian Flynn, and Lisa Gardner should check out the Violet Darger series. 

The audiobooks in the series can be listened to in any order, so grab The Girl in the Sand and get started today.

©2018 L.T. Vargus and Tim McBain (P)2018 L.T. Vargus and Tim McBain

What listeners say about The Girl in the Sand

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ginger P
  • Ginger P
  • 18-03-19

intriguing to the end

This is a eally a good book that holds your attention to the last page

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rae
  • Rae
  • 19-01-19

Good book

Could not out it down! Read in one night.
It is a page Turner Good read!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kay Peterson
  • Kay Peterson
  • 06-02-22

The Girl in the Sand

One of the dullest books I’ve ever tried to listen to….I never finished it.
The narrators voices were good….the girl’s was sweet and pleasant to listen to, the man’s voice was soothing …… but both were as colorless and unemotional as the story, as blanched as the landscape around Las Vegas.
Sorry. This is a style that does nothing for me.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nancy
  • Nancy
  • 21-08-21

Language

I love the stories. I just wish other, more descriptive adjectives besides F___ were used. There are so many great adjectives in our language but everyone else chooses to use that the me. Not only is it offensive to many, it is overused. If we used any other adjective that much it would sound crazy. Read through the book and replace that word with any other adjective and it will become very clear how ridiculous it is.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tina P Kimble
  • Tina P Kimble
  • 18-08-21

Wonderful

THIS REVIEW IS FOR BOTH THE AUDIOBOOK AND EBOOK VERSIONS
Great story, really enjoyed these characters and the narration was wonderfully preformed. This was another intriguing book I definitely recommend it and I am anxious for the next book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bette
  • Bette
  • 18-07-21

Unfinished business

I liked the story & characters. However, a lot of answers were not quite finished up. Like how mark was arrested & whatever happened to Claire. What happened to Nicole or Emily at the end. Specifics weren’t cleaned up.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amelia
  • Amelia
  • 12-03-21

Good story, repetative descriptions

The story is fun and exciting, but not all that well written, evidenced by repetative descriptions. How many times does the lead character watch the steam on her coffee, or dig her nails into her palm? At one point, the authors write, "Her lungs pulled in greedy lung fulls of air." A bit tedious.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Antonia117
  • Antonia117
  • 03-03-21

Boring

Too much self analysis. Inner conflict/dialogue. I never thought I would be bored by a serial killer book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carla Morgan
  • Carla Morgan
  • 17-02-21

loved it

excellent books , even the stories, loved them cant wait for the next one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr.Bill
  • Mr.Bill
  • 18-12-20

Nerve Tingling Performance

I enjoyed the book a lot. Kate Marcin really brought the characters to life and created a very realistic mood throughout the story. The evil that is portrayed in the story is terribly believable. More than once I found myself tensed wondering what was about to happen. If you enjoy this genre of books, you will not be disappointed.