Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The body slumps over the steering wheel. Pools of blood going tacky on the dash. Two shots to the back of the head. A mafia-style hit in a small town.

Special Agent Violet Darger must make sense of this savagery - figure out how brutality like this could happen in rural Michigan.

The victim had been living the American dream. A small-business owner who built a construction empire. Started a family. Coached youth hockey. He seemed to have it all.

But his surface life didn’t tell the full story. He carried dark secrets to the grave. Left clues which offer more questions than answers, clues that seem to lead Darger to Detroit.

In the city, she finds despair. Corruption. Decay. Blocks of vacant buildings line the streets. Crumbling. Caving in. It resembles ancient ruins more than a modern American city. Concrete caverns waiting to be explored. And there, among the rubble, she gets swept up in the hunt for a notorious hit man.

He kills for profit. Navigates the brutal world of organized crime. Harbors secrets of his own, albeit domestic ones. He holds the answers to all of Darger’s questions, but only if she can catch him.

This pulse-pounding thriller will have you on the edge of your seat until the final page. Fans of John Sandford, Karin Slaughter, Harlan Coben, and Lisa Jackson should check out the Violet Darger series.

The books in the series can be listened to in any order, so grab Bad Blood and get started today.

©2018 L.T. Vargus & Tim McBain (P)2018 Smarmy Press

What listeners say about Bad Blood: A Gripping Crime Thriller

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jill B
  • Jill B
  • 08-08-20

good but...

the story is engaging, the characters likeable, but it is irritating how much the main character is constantly such a lone wolf, breaking protocol when it isn't necessary for the story, and ends up causing the death of a coworker and usually injury to herself. it isn't necessary and with a few small changes the stories would be just as good and far less irritating. a strong female character can be just as strong when playing by the rules.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Zeth
  • Zeth
  • 26-10-20

Very disappointing!

I have read the previous books and was totally disappointed by this one. Agent Darger has been an annoying character who draws no sympathy from the reader, rather just a disinterest. This ended the Agent VD saga for me.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Roe
  • Roe
  • 04-07-22

A Big Miss

This is the weakest in the series so far. It just did not hold my attention at all. I didn’t even finish it. I purchased the next two in the series so hopefully they are better.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Barb B
  • Barb B
  • 14-03-22

Mixed feelings

I am not sure how I feel about this one. This is the first book in the series that has me questioning if Violet is going to grow as an FBI agent or a person for that matter. The story has enough intrigue but I had a hard time with the line wolf attitude that has been a continuing habit of one Special Agent Darger. However, that being said I do like the fact that Violet follows her gut. That is why I don’t know how I feel about one. The narrator has done an outstanding job in all of theses books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for toni p allison
  • toni p allison
  • 06-01-22

The mob families set in Detroit

Great book , as usual by Tim McCain . I always love Darger . Always understands just what to do . The best part is in the last couple of chapters . Completely surprised me . A really good read or listen ! Narration by Kate Marcin was excellent. Can't wait to get to the next book !

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tina P Kimble
  • Tina P Kimble
  • 18-08-21

Great

THIS REVIEW IS FOR BOTH THE AUDIOBOOK AND EBOOK VERSIONS
Again great work from this narrator as well as the author. All the characters are interesting and for a mafia story it's great well written and graphic. I wasn't expecting some of the content but it was a great experience. I recommend it!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 06-10-20

same old

these books are becoming too unrealistic.i really enjoyed the first few but every one is darger physically getting into a it with a killer and the killer dying. it'd be great if one got arrested just once. I'm probably done with the series after this one.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for buzzknit
  • buzzknit
  • 19-09-20

There is no "I" in team

This character is sorely lacking in so many skills. That she's an FBI agent is scary on its own let alone this is fiction. I enjoy books with strong, smart female leads - Violet is sorely lacking in the smarts department. I'm done with this series and maybe the best thing is for Violet to find a new job. While she was gathering information she was not able to trust anyone more than herself and unfortunately an innocent was killed and the outcome could have been much better if she'd communicated with people she trusted. Oh well - no more Darger for me.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dr. Bel
  • Dr. Bel
  • 22-05-20

Love me some Darger!

The narrator is fabulous and really makes the characters come alive. Although the basic premise of the book is nearly identical to the previous installments, the actual storyline along with the character development and the mix of colorful language, romance, violence, and humor that I suppose only a partnership like that of Vargus and McBain could concoct more than makes up for it.

I think I'm downright addicted to this series at this point and I'm looking forward to the first of the books focusing on Loshak. In fact, I downloaded it before I started listening to "Bad Blood," so I'm going to start listening right now!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ms violet
  • ms violet
  • 13-04-20

HARD HEADED VIOLET DOES IT AGAIN

Violet drives me crazy! She is so stubborn. But that makes me anxious to read the book. LOL🤗🤩