Listen free for 30 days

The Fifth to Die

A Detective Porter Novel
Narrated by: James Alexander
Series: Detective Sam Porter, Book 2
Length: 17 hrs and 10 mins
4 out of 5 stars (64 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Murder. It’s a family affair.  

In the midst of one of the worst winters Chicago has seen in years, the body of missing teenager Ella Reynolds is discovered under the surface of a frozen lake.

She’s been missing for three weeks...the lake froze over three months ago.

Detective Sam Porter and his team are brought in to investigate, but it’s not long before another girl goes missing. The press believes the serial killer Anson Bishop has struck again, but Porter knows differently. The deaths are too different. There’s a new killer on the loose.

Porter, however, is distracted. He’s still haunted by Bishop and his victims, even after the FBI have removed him from the case. His only leads: a picture of a female prisoner and a note from Bishop: ‘Help me find my mother. I think it’s time she and I talked.’

As more girls go missing and Porter’s team race to stop the body count rising, Porter disappears to track down Bishop’s mother and discover that the only place scarier than the mind of a serial killer is the mind of the mother from which he came.

Perfect for fans of Helen Fields, Val McDermid and Jo Nesbo, this gripping and twisted thriller will have you wondering, how do you stop a killer when he’s been trained from birth?

©2018 J. D. Barker (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"J.D. Barker is a one-of-a-kind writer and that’s a rare and special thing. Stephen King comes to mind and Lee Child, John Sanford. All one-of-a-kinds. Don’t miss anything J.D. writes." (James Patterson)

"Not since Hannibal Lecter had a friend for dinner has a serial killer been so skillfully rendered on the page." (Taylor Elmore, writer/producer of Justified and Limitless

"Gritty, masterful suspense. A dark ride into the mind of a genius killer, and those tasked with stopping him for good. Impeccably written with Barker’s trademark wit and penchant for killer detail. Lee Child, you've met your match." (Tosca Lee, New York Times best-selling author) 

What listeners say about The Fifth to Die

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    16
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story but awful narration

Having loved the first book (The Fourth Monkey) and its narrators, I pre-ordered The Fifth To Die and eagerly counted down the days until it became available. Usually I devour audible books but this has taken me nearly a month to finish. Please don't get me wrong - the story is good. Unfortunately, however, I really didn't like the narrator and found him to be painfully slow (even when reading out chapter numbers!). It has been a real struggle for me to finish this audible book and I sincerely hope that any future books in the series have a better narrator (sadly, I won't be listening if Mr Alexander narrates them). On a more positive note, I enjoyed the story. Some parts stretched credibility but I can live with that and I look forward to (reading) the next book in the series.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story, shame about ....

Loved the story, narrator drove me nuts. The odd mispronounced word I understand and have no problem with, but this was a step too far. The timing was way off and the pauses for emphasis were all over the place. This strange pattern made it difficult to listen to. I hung in there because I wanted to know what happened but i may just read the next one if the same narrator is used. Good luck

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent follow up , almost ruined by narration

Ok firstly I just wanted to say that this is an excellent story that I really enjoyed. If you liked 'The Fourth Monkey' then this is required reading. However, I have to say that the narration is pretty awful and gets worse as it goes along. The guy actually says 'anythink' instead of anything which is pretty atrocious, he also seems to think that if .he.pauses.between. each. word. it adds dramatic effect. IT DOESN'T. I'm not entirely sure that I've ever found the narration so annoying, it's only because of the quality of the story that I stuck with it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Almost unbearable....and not in a good way

Overall I enjoyed the story but the guy reading it has the strangest speech pattern, leaving huge gaps at unnecessary points, even when reading out chapter numbers! It sounds like an audition for the voice over job on movie trailers, I can't tell you how bad it is.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent story, horrendous narration...

I greatly enjoyed the first Detective Porter Audible rendition and was looking forward to the second. I am still battling my way through it. The story is intricate, intriguing and a worthy follow on from the earlier book. However, the narration is appalling. Who thought it would be a good idea for the ghastly 'Voice of Doom' to be used throughout - regardless of character or narrative? Add to that the not infrequent mispronunciations and the endless use of somethinK, nothinK, anythinK and it's a wonder I'm trying to keep going to the end of the story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wish I had read it instead

Riveting story but the narrator was very hard to listen to that it took away from the book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A dreadful narrative!

Most of the narrative is packed with as many portentous pauses as words. It seemed to get worse as the book went on, the reader seemingly unable to speak two words in succession. Wrecked my enjoyment of the book. And added a possible hour to the listening. Strangely, as the reader spoke as some characters this didn't happen.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Could not stop listening to this book and will be downloading the next one as soon as I post this

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story spoiled by narrator

Listened to first book and loved it, narration of the second is just awful, incredibly slow and very bad intonation. Sadly it appears the same person is narrating the third so I’m afraid I shall be reading that one myself....

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story, bad narrator

great book but the narrator really made it a bit of a struggle to get through. Just too dramatic where it doesn't need to be. If you can get past that and you've read the first book then def worth a listen.