Try an audiobook on us

The Fifth to Die

A Detective Porter Novel
Narrated by: James Alexander
Length: 17 hrs and 10 mins
4 out of 5 stars (45 ratings)

Regular price: £12.99

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Murder. It’s a family affair.  

In the midst of one of the worst winters Chicago has seen in years, the body of missing teenager Ella Reynolds is discovered under the surface of a frozen lake.

She’s been missing for three weeks...the lake froze over three months ago.

Detective Sam Porter and his team are brought in to investigate, but it’s not long before another girl goes missing. The press believes the serial killer Anson Bishop has struck again, but Porter knows differently. The deaths are too different. There’s a new killer on the loose.

Porter, however, is distracted. He’s still haunted by Bishop and his victims, even after the FBI have removed him from the case. His only leads: a picture of a female prisoner and a note from Bishop: ‘Help me find my mother. I think it’s time she and I talked.’

As more girls go missing and Porter’s team race to stop the body count rising, Porter disappears to track down Bishop’s mother and discover that the only place scarier than the mind of a serial killer is the mind of the mother from which he came.

Perfect for fans of Helen Fields, Val McDermid and Jo Nesbo, this gripping and twisted thriller will have you wondering, how do you stop a killer when he’s been trained from birth?

©2018 J. D. Barker (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"J.D. Barker is a one-of-a-kind writer and that’s a rare and special thing. Stephen King comes to mind and Lee Child, John Sanford. All one-of-a-kinds. Don’t miss anything J.D. writes." (James Patterson)

"Not since Hannibal Lecter had a friend for dinner has a serial killer been so skillfully rendered on the page." (Taylor Elmore, writer/producer of Justified and Limitless

"Gritty, masterful suspense. A dark ride into the mind of a genius killer, and those tasked with stopping him for good. Impeccably written with Barker’s trademark wit and penchant for killer detail. Lee Child, you've met your match." (Tosca Lee, New York Times best-selling author) 

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    11

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Gayle
  • Brighton
  • 17-08-18

Good story but awful narration

Having loved the first book (The Fourth Monkey) and its narrators, I pre-ordered The Fifth To Die and eagerly counted down the days until it became available. Usually I devour audible books but this has taken me nearly a month to finish. Please don't get me wrong - the story is good. Unfortunately, however, I really didn't like the narrator and found him to be painfully slow (even when reading out chapter numbers!). It has been a real struggle for me to finish this audible book and I sincerely hope that any future books in the series have a better narrator (sadly, I won't be listening if Mr Alexander narrates them). On a more positive note, I enjoyed the story. Some parts stretched credibility but I can live with that and I look forward to (reading) the next book in the series.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story, shame about ....

Loved the story, narrator drove me nuts. The odd mispronounced word I understand and have no problem with, but this was a step too far. The timing was way off and the pauses for emphasis were all over the place. This strange pattern made it difficult to listen to. I hung in there because I wanted to know what happened but i may just read the next one if the same narrator is used. Good luck

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent follow up , almost ruined by narration

Ok firstly I just wanted to say that this is an excellent story that I really enjoyed. If you liked 'The Fourth Monkey' then this is required reading. However, I have to say that the narration is pretty awful and gets worse as it goes along. The guy actually says 'anythink' instead of anything which is pretty atrocious, he also seems to think that if .he.pauses.between. each. word. it adds dramatic effect. IT DOESN'T. I'm not entirely sure that I've ever found the narration so annoying, it's only because of the quality of the story that I stuck with it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Almost unbearable....and not in a good way

Overall I enjoyed the story but the guy reading it has the strangest speech pattern, leaving huge gaps at unnecessary points, even when reading out chapter numbers! It sounds like an audition for the voice over job on movie trailers, I can't tell you how bad it is.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent story, horrendous narration...

I greatly enjoyed the first Detective Porter Audible rendition and was looking forward to the second. I am still battling my way through it. The story is intricate, intriguing and a worthy follow on from the earlier book. However, the narration is appalling. Who thought it would be a good idea for the ghastly 'Voice of Doom' to be used throughout - regardless of character or narrative? Add to that the not infrequent mispronunciations and the endless use of somethinK, nothinK, anythinK and it's a wonder I'm trying to keep going to the end of the story.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wish I had read it instead

Riveting story but the narrator was very hard to listen to that it took away from the book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A dreadful narrative!

Most of the narrative is packed with as many portentous pauses as words. It seemed to get worse as the book went on, the reader seemingly unable to speak two words in succession. Wrecked my enjoyment of the book. And added a possible hour to the listening. Strangely, as the reader spoke as some characters this didn't happen.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Laney
  • Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
  • 23-07-18

Bleak thriller but even bleaker narration

This is a particularly bleak serial killer story...perhaps a little too closely linked to the first book in the series...but it is completely ruined by the narration. James Alexander could even make Happy Birthday sound like a death sentence. There's plenty of light and shade in the writing and absolutely none in the narration. Alexander even makes the chapter numbers turgid. What a shame. What a disappointment.
The more I listen, the more the narrator gets on my nerves. His speech...is...slow - the book would probably be nearer 12 hours with a decent narrator. He also emphasises THE wrong word - like a morbid Chandler Bing. I never want another...book...READ by this man.
Okay: spoiler alert
This isn't a stand-alone story. As well as having to catch up on the first book, it's also unresolved at the end. Fortunately, I don't care enough to buy the next one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Awful performance

Interesting story totally obliterated by the awful, stilted performance of the reader. Spoiled it totally for me

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • d
  • 18-02-19

Please... have this read by someone else!

Story is a solid read, but the insanely inaccurate pronunciation of its reader is simply too distracting. Chicago is NOT Chi-CAR-go. Wabash is NOT Wa-BASH. Taut is not pronounced tote. Halogen is not pronounced HAY-lo-jen. Don’t even get me started on the dropped L’s (literally pronounced LIT-er-ee for example) I could go on... and on. My guess is our reader is possibly Canadian? and doesn’t watch any US TV. JD Barker should use more care in selecting readers. Bailing 1/3 through the read. So disappointed.

*Offer available from 22nd May 2019 10:00 GMT until 28th May 2019 at 11:59PM GMT. This offer is not available to existing Audible members. Offer applies only to an Audible monthly membership sold by audible.co.uk (http://audible.co.uk/). For the first 4 months of your Audible membership, you will be charged the discounted price of £3.99/month. After the first 4 months, your Audible membership will continue at the then current full price (currently £7.99/month.) until cancelled. Cancel anytime by visiting the Account Details page. Offer limited to one per customer and account, may not be combined with other offers, is non-transferable and may not be resold. Audible reserves the right to modify or cancel the offer at any time. If you violate any of these terms, the offer will be invalid.