Listen free for 30 days

The Eagle's Conquest

Eagles of the Empire, Book 2
Narrated by: David Thorpe
Series: Eagles of the Empire, Book 2
Length: 13 hrs and 36 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (697 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!

The Eagle's Conquest is the thrilling second novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

Britannia, AD 43. Bleak, rainy and full of vicious savages, Britannia is a land that Cato, solider of the Second Legion, wishes Rome didn't want to conquer. And as right-hand man to Centurion Macro, Cato sees the very worst of his native Britons, battling alongside his commander in bloodier combat than he could ever have imagined. But the Britons are fighting back with Roman weapons - which means someone in their own ranks is supplying arms to the enemy. Cato and Macro are about to discover even deadlier adversaries than the British barbarians....

©2001 Simon Scarrow (P)2013 Headline Publishing Group Ltd.

Critic reviews

"Gripping and moving." ( The Times)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    502
  • 4 Stars
    165
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    475
  • 4 Stars
    137
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    452
  • 4 Stars
    161
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Sequel

Simon Scarrow has created two characters who go together extremely well despite their differences. This book continues to follow their exploits in Britain and includes some minor engagements and a significant climactic battle with a genuinely exciting ending.

The combination of the well-rounded characters, Scarrow's detailed knowledge of his subject area and David Thorpe's excellent narration make this a genuinely compelling package that I would recommend to anyone interested in the genre though the books are probably better read in order.

The weakness still, as I write, is that this series has gaps in it on Audible that remain unplugged for whatever reason so have to be sought in other formats.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Listen

Thoroughly enjoyed listening the trails and tribulations of Cato and Marco, I like how the author kept things short and sweet not giving long instances of build up without action. Can’t wait for the next !!!!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Great series

I'm really impressed with this series so far. Only one bugged me in this book and that's the river 'meadway' - and that's because I live in North Kent and know it's the river Medway. Silly, I know, but hey ho. I've already bought the next book and after I've made a cuppa I'm going to start that one.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Pronunciation

The pronunciation of Cato will drive you mad if you allow it to, most annoying...

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I'm really enjoying this series!

the characters are constantly evolving and it sticks as closely as possible to historical records so makes it more believable! recommended!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great bed time listening.

I devoured this book. I love the series and the main characters. The book is read with sympathy and at the right place.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exciting historical based storyline

A very engaging historical swords and sandels adventure story told to a backdrop of the Roman invasion of Britton. Our two heros are having to deal with all kinds of intrigue and deception created by the Roman elitism. The 2nd Roman Legion suffers the hard realities of a drawn out campaign in a hostile Briton and the political Roman powermongering which is never far away with revolution plots, lies and treason bubbling under surface of the war machine. The, future of the empire is at stake. This mix is perfect, and beautifully narrated once you start you cannot stop.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Scarrow nails it again

Macro and Cato once again , story has it all , exciting all the way through as do all stories I’ve listened to with them in , feel your their with them

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The 2nd book in an amazing series

really love this series. It is quality historical story telling at its finest. 2 thumbs up

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Eagle has Landed.

loved it. I enjoy the writing of this new author I was turned ed on to. He makes the characters believable,& still finds time to show some comedy too.
On to the next book.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kevin dry
  • kevin dry
  • 05-06-14

easy listening

Would you listen to The Eagle's Conquest again? Why?

Yes in a years time; you miss pieces while driving

Who was your favorite character and why?

Carto - lead charactor

Have you listened to any of David Thorpe’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

listen to another in the same series so no difference

If you could rename The Eagle's Conquest, what would you call it?

in a Roman army

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Erik
  • Erik
  • 12-04-14

Solid Sword and Sandals Story

This really is an entertaining series. Not exactly haute literature, but the writing is solid and the stories draw you in. As always, Simon Scarrow is perfectly matched to this series.

Give this one a try if you’re into this genre. You won’t be disappointed.