Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Dressmaker of Paris

  • 'A story of loss and escape, redemption and forgiveness. Fans of Lucinda Riley will adore it' (Sunday Express)
  • By: Georgia Kaufmann
  • Narrated by: Karen Cass
  • Length: 13 hrs and 22 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (114 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Dressmaker of Paris cover art

The Dressmaker of Paris

By: Georgia Kaufmann
Narrated by: Karen Cass
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Butterfly Room cover art
Hothouse Flower cover art
A Jewish Girl in Paris cover art
The Italian Girl cover art
The Light Behind the Window cover art
The Midnight Rose cover art
The Angel Tree cover art
The Olive Tree cover art
The Seven Sisters cover art
The Force of Such Beauty cover art
The Girl on the Cliff cover art
Montauk cover art
A Secret Garden Affair cover art
The Paris Girl cover art
Sidroc the Dane: A Circle of Ceridwen Saga Story cover art
Leonora in the Morning Light cover art

Summary

A beautifully written, sweeping historical women's fiction novel that spans both time and the globe as we follow one woman's journey from simple country girl to global fashion icon. 

I need to tell you a story, ma chère. My story.

Rosa Kusstatscher has built a global fashion empire upon her ability to find the perfect outfit for any occasion. But tonight, as she prepares for the most important meeting of her life, her usual certainty eludes her. 

What brought her to this moment? As she struggles to select her dress and choose the right shade of lipstick, Rosa begins to tell her incredible story. The story of a poor country girl from a village high in the mountains of Italy. Of Nazi occupation and fleeing in the night. Of hope and heartbreak in Switzerland; ambition, glamour and love in Paris. Of ambition and devastation in Rio de Janeiro; success and self-discovery in New York. 

A life spent running, she sees now. But she will run no longer. 

Breathtaking and utterly enthralling, The Dressmaker of Paris is a stunning debut novel that is perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Kate Morton and Dinah Jefferies.

©2021 Georgia Kaufmann (P)2021 Hodder & Stoughton Ltd

What listeners say about The Dressmaker of Paris

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    86
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    86
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

enjoyable

I really enjoyed this story. painted an amazing picture of her whole life and strengths and hardships. great narration

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Such a lovely novel

Wrapped in fashion imagery, a poignant multifaceted story of a dressmaker, fashion muse and businesswoman originating from the Tyrol to Paris, Rio de Janeiro and finally New York. It held my interest to the end. Recommend.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very enjoyable holiday story

Very well done, interesting story that kept me engaged. Narrated beautifully.

Repetition of “ma chère” was a bit laboured to my mind but I enjoyed the story.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • jo
  • 16-08-23

Not my normal choice but it was so good

I'm not sure how I found this one, not my usual choice, but I thoroughly enjoyed it.. The story of Rosa's life and her struggles, her strength to carry on through everything that life threw at her... 👍👍

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Poignant, Compelling Story.

The was a cleverly crafted story with Rosa in her mid 60's telling her life story. In many ways it felt like a powerful monologue while taking the listener into the past to reveal her life story.

It was a moving story of a strong woman who had experienced love, loss, joy and tragedy.

A compelling story with an unexpected, but perfect ending..... wonderful!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sensational

What an absolutely moving and poignant book. I just could not put it down and how many boxes of tissues I got through I don't know. I have never been so engrossed in a book for a long time-just wondering what would happen next. I do hope you continue with your audio books and can't wait for another book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great find

Compelling story, cleverly crafted and beautifully performed. I thoroughly enjoyed it right to the end

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story, excellently narrated

I enjoyed the story of Rosa and her journey from one continent to another and her interactions with each of the characters. I liked the way that Rosa stayed true to herself and that she didn’t assume the personality of the time she was living in. The narrator brought the characters to life and created vivid images of each of them in my mind. I recommend this audiobook.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fascinating

A very moving and gripping story and beautifully read . It is probably more for the girls , but not a ‘chic flick’

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous Debut

I really enjoyed this book.
The storyline held my interest and throughout with enough twists and turns to make me keep reading.
I read it quickly and thought about
the many moral dilemmas war must have created for so many people on both sides.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!