Try an audiobook on us

The Devil's Dice

A DI Meg Dalton Thriller, Book 1
Narrated by: Caro Clarke
Length: 11 hrs and 40 mins
4 out of 5 stars (50 ratings)
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A white-knuckle crime debut introducing DI Meg Dalton, perfect for fans of Broadchurch and Happy Valley.

The devil is coming....

A shocking death.

A lawyer is found dead in a Peak District cave, his face ribboned with scratches.

A sinister message.

Amidst rumours of a local curse, DI Meg Dalton is convinced this is cold-blooded murder. There's just one catch - chiselled into the cave wall above the body is an image of the grim reaper and the dead man's initials, and it's been there for over a century.

A deadly game.

As Meg battles to solve the increasingly disturbing case, it's clear someone knows her secrets. The murderer is playing games with Meg - and the dice are loaded....

©2018 Roz Watkins (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"A fabulous book. I can't wait to meet DI Meg Dalton again." (B A Paris)
"An outstanding debut. The Devil's Dice had me gripped from the start." (Stephen Booth)
" The Devil's Dice encapsulates the dark heart of the Peaks and enthrals the reader with its clever and compelling plot." (Sarah Ward)

More from the same

Narrator

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superb - looking forward to more in this series

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

This is a gripping story, with the sparky DI Meg Dalton as the very likeable lead character.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

A generous 3 stars

Narration was very good and probably enabled me to get to the end of a very silly storyline. I got this book based on the reviews and am now of the firm belief that I must have been listening to something totally different from most other reviewers. Meg Dalton is a DI in the police force. I am not, but any, or indeed all mention of her job and how she does it seemed to show a definite lack of understanding of the job description or how the police work. Other snippets of information we are fed (probability theory, genetic disease, dark web, assisted suicide etc etc) seemed to be integrated into the plot line in a way that could have been so, so much better. I kept thinking the author had a potentially great idea but couldn't be bothered to undertake anything but the most basic research, and I use that term very loosely, to inform the reader and, of course, herself to write the book. Very disappointing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jane
  • Tregaron, United Kingdom
  • 05-11-18

All the elements of great noir

After taking some time off from work due to stress, DI Meg Dalton transfers from Manchester back to her home territory. Set in the Peak district, the brooding landscape, riddled with caves and secrets, establishes the tone beautifully for this story. Meg, still not fully recovered, finds herself having to cope with a grumpy boss, one who’s liable to throw the odd cactus when angry. Plus, a misogynistic sergeant who feels he should’ve had her job. Fortunately, she finds a loyal sidekick in the form of DS Jai Sanghera. Not long after she arrives, a body is discovered in an eerie cave. Is it suicide or murder? Beside the body lies a food wrapper, smelling suspiciously of bitter almonds. On a dank wall, overgrown with moss, Meg and Jai uncover a depiction of the Grim Reaper, along with the initials of the victim. Ms Watkins, skilfully and sensitively, deals with a highly emotive subject as she sends the reader, and her protagonist, through a dark labyrinth of deception, madness and fear, in search of the truth. Caro Clarke's narration is excellent.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good

Absolutely loved it! Got my interest from the first minute. Gripping story, beautifully narrated, real pleasure to listen.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Had to skip chapters with this one

Too drawn out for me, had to skip to last few chapters, I did not find it a page turner.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

A load of old tosh

Travelling in France I was attracted by the promise of a twisty plot and the Peak District location
11 hours later I couldn’t believe what I had endured. A heroine with so many mental and physical ailments it’s amazing she ever managed to become a police inspector, a plot derived from a number of topical themes all mashed up to try to amplify the effect, writing so plodding it made you sigh and a narrator so downbeat and lacking in expression as to induce narcolepsy. Endless cups of tea, phone calls and “I’m going in..” Someone will pick this up for an ITV three part drama starring Caroline Quentin.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Going to return it

I've given this a good try, I've got about an hour into it. The narration is good but the rest of it is just quite silly. The dialogue is childish and unconvincing. After I'd cringed for the nth time I decided to move on to a better book.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Utter, unmitigated tosh

Really wanted to like this as I had been recommended it by a good friend....let's just say she won't be getting the fancy bottle of gin I had in mind for her for Christmas......she'll be getting the Primark socks. Her judgement is so off she'll never notice the downgrade!

Pretty awful on all levels.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • MotleyZoo
  • 19-03-18

Good story idea, mediocre execution

This story has several interesting elements and a lot of potential, but the author's inability to conceal her personal animus to anything religious and her superficial, overly simplified presentation of the sanctity of life vs. euthanasia argument made the plot tiresome and the villain tediously obvious.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Roberta Scott
  • 15-04-18

Not to my taste

Too much noncontributory detail.
Unable to complete. Early on determined what I thought motivated behaviors. Book went on too long.
De gustabus.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Tanya
  • 27-04-18

Author’s anti-Christian rhetoric was just too much.

The ridiculous portrayals of Christians in this book is beyond acceptable. “Nutters” It just droned on and on about how unintelligent and insane Christians are. Story line could have been wrapped up a lot faster. Could have just said, “I want to bash God and Christians for hours” and let it be.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful