Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Bookseller of Dachau

  • By: Shari J. Ryan
  • Narrated by: Kelly Burke
  • Length: 9 hrs and 48 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (18 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Bookseller of Dachau cover art

The Bookseller of Dachau

By: Shari J. Ryan
Narrated by: Kelly Burke
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Doctor’s Daughter cover art
The Glovemaker's Daughter cover art
The Other Blue Sky cover art
Unspoken Words cover art
The Lieutenant's Girl cover art
Last Words cover art
The Midwife of Auschwitz cover art
The German Wife cover art
Emilia cover art
The Girl Who Escaped From Auschwitz: cover art
The Girl Who Survived cover art
The Wife Who Risked Everything cover art
A Light in the Window cover art
The Secret Letter cover art
The Love Slave cover art
The Violinist of Auschwitz cover art

Summary

Germany, 1939: The roof is the only place no one can hear us. All the lights in the village blur into the darkness, and the flame on my candle flickers, leaving us with just the glow of the stars. “We can’t let them take everything from you,” I say. “Hiding is the only option.”

When Matilda’s childhood sweetheart, Hans, is in danger, she doesn’t hesitate to hide him in her attic. Protecting him from her parents and the soldiers downstairs, she smuggles him food and communicates in whispers. For months, they exist by candlelight. But how long can they survive?

America, 2018: Grace opens a mustard-yellow envelope, and her world unravels. She has inherited a bookstore in the small town of Dachau from the grandmother she had no idea existed.

Grace visits her legacy - a bookshop on a cobbled lane filled with lost memories. She combs through faded photographs and handwritten letters, unearthing the story of a young woman who devoted her life to returning the keepsakes of Dachau prisoners to their families. A woman who was torn from her one true love - who never gave up hope....

As Grace pieces together her family’s heartbreaking past, she discovers the long-buried secret of her own identity. But when she learns the truth, will she ever be the same again?

This heart-wrenching yet hopeful tale will restore your faith in humanity and in the power of love to triumph over evil. Fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Orphan Train, and Kristin Hannah will be blown away.

©2021 Shari J. Ryan (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

Love Books? You'll Love Audible.

Transform your day

Transform your day

Replace endless scrolling with endless listening. Chores can be fun.

Listen everywhere

Listen everywhere

You can’t turn pages while you drive—but you can press play.

Carry your entire Library

Carry your entire Library

Your stories go where you go. Audiobooks don’t weigh a thing.

Listen and learn

Listen and learn

Discover stories that can change your mind, your well-being, and your life.

Reach your reading goals

Reach your reading goals

Download titles to listen offline, wherever you are in the world.

Find your niche

Find your niche

WIth thousands of titles to explore, there’s something for everyone.

Try for £0.00 £7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

What listeners say about The Bookseller of Dachau

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heartbreakingly beautiful tale.

Such a lovely story, very cleverly written. Superb narration too. Even with 3 hours to go I didn't want it to end. Inspirational characters who I didn't want to leave behind.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Story

Different to read from another perspective. Good combination of modern time and the past.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Held my attention

A little sentimental nonetheless I enjoyed this book. The characters were believable even if the story seems far fetched!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a must read, it'll stay with you forever.

this was recommended to me so I knew it would be enjoyable. it is full of twists and turns too which kept me surprised. it is a heartbreakingly beautiful story. only downside to start is the dreadful attempt at an American accent! Once you get past trying to hear it you'll be fine as thankfully most is read perfectly well. you won't regret this purchase.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Light out terrible darkness

I really enjoyed this book, if enjoyed is the right word for a story set in such utterly bleak times. Uplifting and yet sad, this will stay with me

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!