Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

In the tradition of Tony Hillerman and Joseph Wambaugh comes this suspense thriller reuniting Bureau of Indian Affairs Criminal Investigator Emmett Quanah Parker and FBI Special Agent Anna Turnipseed, two Native American cops torn between their heritage and the law.

A fire-gutted police cruiser found in a remote part of the Navajo reservation bears witness to a horrific crime. Inside are the bodies of a tribal patrolman and his wife. As BIA Investigator Emmett Parker and FBI Special Agent Anna Turnipseed know, a cop's murder is never simple, raising countless questions and suspicions. When another murder is discovered, the case explodes into an otherworldly realm.

Both Parker, a Comanche, and Turnipseed, a Modoc, are well acquainted with the eerie shadow land between native myth and modern homicide investigation. Now they will have to touch minds with a murderer who has woven personal madness with Navajo myth to create his own reality - and with it the need to kill and kill again.

©2000 Kirk Mitchell (P)2009 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

Critic reviews

"In his second suspense novel featuring unseasoned FBI Special Agent Anna Turnipseed and relentless Bureau of Indian Affairs Investigator Emmett Parker, Mitchell pulls out all the stops....Mitchell [is] a powerful writer of deep emotions, breathtaking natural beauty and nail-biting suspense. ( Publishers Weekly)

What listeners say about Spirit Sickness

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ashanti
  • Ashanti
  • 23-10-09

An excellent entry in the series

Kirk Mitchell is a good alternative to Tony Hillerman and the fictional detective duo of Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed make for a nice combination of police procedural, murder mystery with a bit of native American lore.

Veteren Audible narrator Stefan Rudnicki also did a good job on the book.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michael Jacobi
  • Michael Jacobi
  • 24-03-11

Good but not Hillerman

Good suspense and well developed characters. And, a lot of surprises in the plot. Pretty graphic though, a route not taken by Tony Hillerman. I hope Audible supplies us with future episodes. Its a solid four stars.

1 person found this helpful