Listen free for 30 days

Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

Six Tudor Queens, Book 2
Narrated by: Anna Bentinck
Series: Six Tudor Queens, Book 2
Length: 21 hrs and 15 mins
Categories: Fiction, Historical
4.5 out of 5 stars (238 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession by best-selling historian Alison Weir, author of Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen, is the second captivating novel in the Six Tudor Queens series. An unforgettable portrait of the ambitious woman whose fate we know all too well, but whose true motivations may surprise you. Essential listening for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick.

The young woman who changed the course of history.

Fresh from the palaces of Burgundy and France, Anne draws attention at the English court, embracing the play of courtly love.

But when the King commands, nothing is ever a game.

Anne has a spirit worthy of a crown - and the crown is what she seeks. At any price.

Anne Boleyn. The second of Henry's Queens. Her story.

History tells us why she died. This powerful novel shows her as she lived.

Six Tudor Queens. Six novels. Six years.

©2017 Alison Weir (P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic reviews

"Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life." The Guardian)
What members say
Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    149
  • 4 Stars
    55
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    129
  • 4 Stars
    47
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    9
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    146
  • 4 Stars
    46
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Well written, terribly read.

If you're familiar with Weir you'll know what to expext: the writing's ok, especially if you're into Tudor tales anyway.
However, the reading is awful, with pantomime-style voices and no interpretation of the writing at all.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Wonderful fresh telling

Very interesting to to have Anne approached in a way that contrasts the many other novels of her life.
Alison Weir has long been my favourite author of historical fiction, and I have enjoyed the first two books in the 6 wives series almost as much as innocent traitor, which I still believe to be her finest work.
I enjoyed the performance of Anna Bentinck, but the version I listened to needs editing, there are several mistakes and even a double take of the same initially mispronounced sentence.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Anne Boleyn much maligned ..,

Well written and well read.

Poor Anne Boleyn falsely accused of adultery and incest.

Alison Weir mixes fact and fiction together into a tale which kept me entertained while I did mundane tasks during lock down.

Did Anne deserve her fate? Or was she just an insecure pawn? Personally I think she was a pawn used by both her family and the king. A sad ending.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Brilliant telling where Anne is humanised, and the listener can empathise, but she not always likeable.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

a piece of history brought to life

This book gives a nice insight to Tudor life at court. I liked how Anne Boleyn is portrayed. Beautifully read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a interesting read (listen)

Never been into reading books but listening like this has been a real treat. Alison weir beautiful written and was never bored. Anna bentinck who narrated wonderful job.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

An easy read

It’s a good enough book to pass the time but I was not overly impressed. While it’s as historically accurate as possible the book lacks the drama someone might look in a book like this.

The characters are very one dimensional and most of the time there’s no purpose behind what they do. We barely see any of the Boleyn family, Katherine’s story is also passed through very quickly and there’s no build behind Anne’s reasoning in why she wants to become a queen.

In regards to the way the audiobook was acted, I’m sure the actress reading it did her best but Anne was well in her thirties but her voice sounded like she was 12. That threw me off quite a bit.

Again, a good read to pass the time but nothing too impressive.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Narration even worse than last..

Really enjoyed the first book which was only let down by the narrator, this time the narrator was even worse and I would have given up very early on if I hadn’t been so very interested to meet Alison Weir’s version of Anne is it is like Katherine very different to mine and indeed anybody else’s I have ever read.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story

Interesting take on the typical story of Anne Boleyn. Has some issues with referring to women as him and vis versa which is annoying and ruins the flow of the narration. Looking forward to what the rest of the series has to offer.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Never gets boring

I have been on a Henry v111 kick or should I say his wives for a while and have listened to several accounts of the lives and fates of these six women. There has obviously been each author's own twist and accounting of the facts . And actually the parts that crop up over and over I think are the truth. This particular book has Anne as quite a sweet natured person.I do not buy into the myth that she was an awful selfish woman prone to terrible acts to get what she wanted, but sweet natured and apart from a few tantrums blameless.? No. In this book a lot of the worse things are blamed quite squarely on George. I don't believe this. It doesn't matter how many times I listen to the accounts of Henry's six wives I never fail to feel completely for all these women who could not refuse a king. And to listen in horror to the deeds of a king blinded by his love of himself and reinforced by those around him. This is the kindest thing I can say about him. I do not like him at all. There were new things to take into account about Anne in this book and I was filled with horror at her end as I always am. The narrator was on the whole good but I hated her voice for Henry. She sounded like Prince Charles, often with a bunged up nose. And I cringed a lot of the time listening to that voice. These women make me grateful how far women have come. I'm now off to listen to the next book in this series. Jane Seymour. I hope to listen to all these books although they are not all available at present.