Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £24.99

Buy Now for £24.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession by best-selling historian Alison Weir, author of Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen, is the second captivating novel in the Six Tudor Queens series. An unforgettable portrait of the ambitious woman whose fate we know all too well, but whose true motivations may surprise you. Essential listening for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick.

The young woman who changed the course of history.

Fresh from the palaces of Burgundy and France, Anne draws attention at the English court, embracing the play of courtly love.

But when the King commands, nothing is ever a game.

Anne has a spirit worthy of a crown - and the crown is what she seeks. At any price.

Anne Boleyn. The second of Henry's Queens. Her story.

History tells us why she died. This powerful novel shows her as she lived.

Six Tudor Queens. Six novels. Six years.

©2017 Alison Weir (P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic reviews

"Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life." The Guardian)

What listeners say about Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    241
  • 4 Stars
    74
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    8
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    206
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    11
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    230
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Well written, terribly read.

If you're familiar with Weir you'll know what to expext: the writing's ok, especially if you're into Tudor tales anyway.
However, the reading is awful, with pantomime-style voices and no interpretation of the writing at all.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Wonderful fresh telling

Very interesting to to have Anne approached in a way that contrasts the many other novels of her life.
Alison Weir has long been my favourite author of historical fiction, and I have enjoyed the first two books in the 6 wives series almost as much as innocent traitor, which I still believe to be her finest work.
I enjoyed the performance of Anna Bentinck, but the version I listened to needs editing, there are several mistakes and even a double take of the same initially mispronounced sentence.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

badly edited

afew times there are repeated lines and other odd bits in it but overall its okay

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent listen!

The story flowed wonderfully and I was never bored. All love that was lost by Anne.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome, but need a break now to deal with roiling emotions…

This really brings home how diabolical life was for women in Tudor England. It’s both moving and shattering at the same time. This is a great audiobook and the narration is fantastic, but I don’t think I can take any more accounts of the prevailing culture of misogyny for now. Sometimes a book leaves you rattled, and this was one of them for me.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another excellent book!

Wonderful and could not stop listening. Fascinating Tudor history 😊 All should listen to this.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Bit glitch but good account

Well researched but narrator's voices aren't great in my opinion. Lots of glitches where lines either skip or are repeated. Overall a good story and would recommend

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent apart from the reading errors

This is absolutely fabulous and more like Hilary Mantel than Phillipa Gregory in its rich detail. However, it is such a shame that no one seems have proof-listened to the whole thing before publication. From the repeating of a line where the pronouciation of a bird was changed but the original line left in; to several errors along the lines of “the King was pleased that the King…” where the first “King” should have been Anne”. And the kings saluted her (guards perhaps?). A few little errors but increasing towards the end and if the listener is expected to spend over 14 hours listening, accuracy would be appreciated.
That said, the narration is excellent and Anita Bentinck voices the different characters beautifully. Definitely recommend - although (plot spoiler) unfortunately the ending doesn’t change.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great narration of a great story

Anna Bentinck is one of my favourite narrators and does a great with this superbly written historical novel. These books read well and I think that Alison dares to stray into the debatable grounds of skepticism.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Didn’t enjoy narration

I’ve bought all 6 books in series and ( of course) this is the second

I didn’t enjoy but determined to stick with it. While I understand the stories are embellished this one seemed a bit far fetched at times. Plus I didn’t enjoy the Narrator

I enjoyed Aragon and Hope next one is better