Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Detective Hanlon is addicted to violence. She likes the rush, the danger, losing control.... 

When Hanlon is suspended from the force for assaulting a suspect, she escapes to the remote Scottish island of Jura, home to the mysterious Corryvreckan whirlpool. 

But wherever Hanlon goes, violence is sure to follow. 

As soon as she checks into The Mackinnon Arms, Hanlon senses something isn't quite right about the staff at her home for the week. 

Sure enough, within days of arriving, the body of a member of staff is found floating in the sea. While police believe she was claimed by the local whirlpool, Hanlon isn't so sure. 

As she pieces together the evidence, dark secrets begin to unravel. Can Hanlon work out what is going on before another floating body is found? 

The start of a gripping new crime series, perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Bryndza and Lisa Regan. 

©2020 Alex Coombs (P)2020 Boldwood Books

What listeners say about Silenced for Good

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    705
  • 4 Stars
    344
  • 3 Stars
    97
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    13
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    788
  • 4 Stars
    228
  • 3 Stars
    51
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    14
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    619
  • 4 Stars
    326
  • 3 Stars
    96
  • 2 Stars
    30
  • 1 Stars
    16

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

really enjoyed this book

I really enjoyed everything about this book. Got a great insight to the main character Hanlon and had affection for her.
Narrator was fab! a fellow Scot but with good adaptability.
I read/listen to a LOT of books but only review ones i really enjoyed and this hit the spot. Loved the twist at the end.

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very enjoyable listen.

A cast of very different individuals. No two people are alike but here we have predominantly non conformists each driven by their own demons. As a result, there are very few left alive by the end of this whodunnit. The correct result brought this tale to a satisfying conclusion but you’ll be hard pushed to predict the ending.
Well worth listening to

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible!

I am still wondering why on earth I stuck with it and listened to the end. A weak storyline, unlikeable main character, ridiculous plot and predictable ending.
The constant repetitive description of the surroundings from start to finish was mind blowingly annoying and completely unnecessary.
I have just wasted several hours of my life on this rubbish.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Just okay

It was just okay. Not terrible but not especially compelling and it was a little predicable. I finished it but had it on as background noise in parts and didn't feel the need to wind it back to know what was going on. It was nice to read a book with unexpected queer representation though, and I'd give another title by this author a go.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hooked!!

Excellent start to a new series. The narrator is superb, adding description of the landscape and wildlife, and bringing the story to life. I was unsure initially about the main character, but as you got to know her better, I began to warm to her. I'll certainly be reading more by Alex Coombs.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • K
  • 08-11-21

Same old, same old...but worse.

I'm a great fan of populist fiction. I love a read/listen that's not going to tax me much when getting on with more practical tasks: walking the dog, cooking . . . you know the sort of thing. This should have been one of those books. It wasn't.

Alex Coombs' premise scoped out reasonably well: dodgy cop with issues escapes to a nether-place in order to 'find' herself - so far so conventional (which is fine). As the narrative progresses, however, the plot just doesn't deliver. Firstly, the ne'er-do-well characters and villainous goings-on all gets far too convoluted - in a bad way - there's no mystery or suspense, it's just messy.

Then we have the problem of our protagonist being only called 'Hanlon' throughout the story which was just annoying. What was the point of not giving her a first name? Was Coombes going for a throwback 80s US cop vibe? Was he going for a last century butch lesbian cardboard cutout? Both, is the impression I got.

I think fundamentally it was Coombs' conception of Halon's character which sounded the death knell for me with this book. He has clearly tried to do something different: she's gay. *Klaxons sound everywhere* I mean, could he get ANY MORE daring? So, we have a gay ex-copper as our 'different' protagonist who then epitomises every lesbian stereotype on the menu: she's angry; she's interested in fitness and muscle-tone but don't go near her with a hair brush; she likes to kick men's arses at every opportunity. I don't think he got her in a biker jacket or dungarees, and I was surprised that she didn't have a shaved head or mohawk, but it was a close run thing. The fact that The Paps of Jura are mentioned often is also not lost on me.

So there we have it. If the plot is silly and the main character is a transparent authorial conceit then it's never gonna work for me.

Narrator: Carolyn Bonnyman made this far more listenable than it would have been with a less accomplished voice actor.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Never guessed who it was

Narration great,story good really enjoyable listen, looking forward to listening to many more Alex Coombs books

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A LITTLE GEM

Hurray I’ve found a new author to follow, the narration Is quite slow and takes a while to get used to. Well written thriller that moves along at a fast pace and I’ve already downloaded the number two in the series. Highly recommend.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Ten out ten

This book was a very good read.
I’d recommend it to anyone that likes a good twist. I’ve seen the movie but the book is much better. X

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great storyline

I'm amazed at the amount of really good books that are around theses days. They are, as this one is, so different to each other. I highly recommend this book, full of action and twists. I didn't have any clue at all 'whodunit' right until the end. Superb penmanship, very well narrated.

3 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karenique
  • Karenique
  • 10-11-21

I just couldn’t finish this, perhaps it was me…

I tried but it never kept my attention. It was free in Audible Plus. I might still try Alex Coomb’s “Missing for Good,” another Audible Plus offering. Thank you, Audible! As my editor, dear friend and mentor wisely told me in the ‘70s, “If everyone liked the same things, the world would indeed be a boring one.” RIP Dan Di Leo

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 12-10-21

5

Whew! This one was very good: well written,
beautifully narrated, plot is good - lots of our
Cop heroine quietly watching and talking with
suspects. And lots of action, too. Few soap operas of personal stuff- "just the facts, ma'am." I listen to a lot of mysteries. It is hard for an author's work to
really entertain me. This one does.
I also like reading the reviews you post on here. :-) If you liked a book, I may also.



1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 17-01-22

I enjoyed this book

Finally, a woman police officer that can take care of herself. Like all human beings she wasn’t perfect, definitely had issues that she needed to work out. Anybody that thinks she was any worse than many other people in positions of power, is completely full of it! I’m sure that if she were a male police officer “he” would get a pass from those same people.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lisbeth
  • lisbeth
  • 14-01-22

Love it!

Solid story, strong female lead and some pretty satisfying beat downs. What's not to like?

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alicia LaLonde
  • Alicia LaLonde
  • 13-01-22

Great book

loved this book the narrator was very good I just wished she had narrated more books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cougar
  • Cougar
  • 21-12-21

awesome narrator

the narrator is great. she has the accent appropriate to the books setting and it is a wonderful accent. when she reads it is with the emotion the scene requires. she makes the book.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lisa
  • Lisa
  • 12-12-21

Heroine?

I couldn’t finish this book. The “heroine” was so flawed and damaged I wouldn’t have have let her near any police force in the world. Instead of going off to Scotland, she should have been sent to the nearest lockdown unit for others protection. Perhaps the author thought the reader would be intrigued by how this woman got to this point in her life but my thoughts kept wondering why this chick wasn’t incarcerated. Definitely not my cup of grog!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for barbara
  • barbara
  • 27-10-21

Silenced for Good

Another new author for me to follow, enjoyed this book, the characters and murder were different and good, loved the ending. The narration was very good.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sue Church
  • Sue Church
  • 18-10-21

Terrible

Couldn't finish, boring, slow. Most unlikable protagonist ever. Books should be labeled if they are written specifically for certain political views.