Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Money, a mansion, and a mysterious death? Far from the inheritance she ever expected. 

Amethyst Forester is a scientist, not a lady. Benjamin Maker is a lord, trapped in a loveless marriage. 

The only thing they have in common is Professor Richards - a genius Aetheric scientist. 

When Richards is found dead, Amethyst and Benjamin are put in an impossible situation. They jointly inherit his house, its contents, and the mystery of his murder. 

Could the Professor have been killed for one of his experiments? And if so, what if someone’s still looking for it? 

If you like your steampunk with a bit of romance sprinkled in and loads of mystery, this Victorian London-era steampunk adventure is the story for you. It's perfect for fans of Charlie N. Holmberg and Honor Raconteur. Grab your copy today!

©2020 Aethon Books (P)2021 Aethon Audio

What listeners say about Shades: A Steampunk Fantasy Adventure

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent story

This well written adventure and the self assured heroine, have me longing for the next episode.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Byron
  • Byron
  • 12-03-21

Pretty good

I feel like this book is very well written. Still a really good book but I feel like the build up kind of fell flat. Very interesting concepts and the story worked out in the end.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Montzalee W
  • Montzalee W
  • 31-01-21

Mystery, intrigue, and a touch of romance!

Shades: A Steampunk Fantasy Adventure
Aether Chronicles, Book 1
By: Abi Barden
Narrated by: Jennifer Smith

Amethyst is our strong willed gal of the story during a time when women weren't allowed to have a will or a mind. A few men, like Professor Richards, was different and taught her brilliant mind on the side and he gave her a horrible looking broach to wear and made her promise never to take it off.

The Professor is found dead and Amethyst is the only one that believes he is murdered, at first. Then the will is read and she inherits half his house and everything in it. The other half goes to Lord Masters. His wife is a very evil woman but Masters and Amethyst have a silent thing for each other.

Amethyst decides to find out who and why someone killed the Professor. This gets very complicated and dangerous, intriguing and exciting, and deadly for Amethyst! We also find out about the broach!

I really enjoyed the writing style. It did take me a bit to get into the book but once I was into it, I was hooked! I am not a romance reader but this was just right! A forbidden romance, a steampunk tale, murder mystery, suspense and emotions for many reasons, and a strong female lead!

I received this book free from freeaudiblecodes and the opinions are my own.