Listen free for 30 days

See Them Run

Detective Clare Mackay, Book 1
Narrated by: Marion Todd
Series: Detective Clare Mackay, Book 1
Length: 8 hrs and 37 mins
4.6 out of 5 stars (24 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Don’t miss the first novel in a gripping series featuring DI Clare Mackay, perfect for fans of Alex Gray, D. S. Butler and Rachel Amphlett.  

On the night of a wedding celebration, one guest meets a grisly end when he’s killed in a hit-and-run. A card bearing the number ‘five’ has been placed on the victim’s chest. DI Clare Mackay, who recently moved to join the St Andrews force, leads the investigation. 

The following night another victim is struck down and a number ‘four’ card is at the scene. Clare and her team realise they’re against the clock to find a killer stalking the streets and bent on carrying out three more murders. 

To prevent further deaths, the police have to uncover the link between the victims. But those involved have a lot more at stake than meets the eye. If Clare wants to solve the case, she must face her own past and discover the deepest secrets of the victims - and the killer. 

©2019 Marion Todd (P)2020 W. F. Howes Ltd

Critic reviews

“Marion Todd’s welcome addition to the genre feels like a breath of fresh, tartan noir air.” (Scottish Field

More from the same

Narrator

What listeners say about See Them Run

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

excellent read

Clare, a DI has relocated from Glasgow to St Andrews after a shooting incident. It becomes clear that a serial killer is at work and that the victims are connected in some way. We follow Clare and her team working hard to identify the killer. the writing is clear and precise and the narrator, who is also the author, does an excellent job. The ending is wrapped up rather neatly but on the whole this is a good police procedural. i have warmed to the characters and hope for more in what promises to be a good series

4 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-10-20

Intriguing

love it. was both compelling and complex enough to grab and keep attention. being narrated my author was a plus as she provided the inflection needed for believability.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C. Hartmann
  • C. Hartmann
  • 25-08-20

Excellent Scottish Procedural - Super Narrator

This is a great police procedural. The main characters are well developed, the story engaging, and the plot honest--no magic and no deus ex machina ending. Although I am wary of authors who narrate their own work, this was really, really good. I would like to hear her do other books as well. Will be looking forward to Detective MacKay's next case....hope it is soon.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bella Rosa
  • Bella Rosa
  • 17-08-20

Surprisingly good narration by the author

I'm generally suspicious of authors reading their own work, with a scant few notable exceptions. I'm happy to say Marion Todd has joined the ranks of multi-talented authors who can double as their own voice talent. I quite enjoyed her narration. This has potential to be a promising police procedural series. Loads of conflict possibilities seeded for future novels but without a lot of obvious staging. My only complaint is that things wrapped up a little too neatly, but the build up to that point was grand. Looking forward to following Clare and her team on their next case.