Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £16.99

Buy Now for £16.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Keep your friends close and your enemies closer.... 

Lies to Tell is a crime thriller perfect for fans of Alex Gray, D. K. Hood and Rachel Amphlett.

Early one morning, DI Clare Mackay receives a message from her boss, DCI Alastair Gibson, telling her to meet him in secret. She does as he asks and is taken to a secure location in the remote Scottish hills. There, she is introduced to ethical hacker Gayle Crichton and told about a critical security breach coming from inside Police Scotland. Clare already has her hands full keeping a key witness under protection and investigating the murder of a university student. When a friend of the victim is found preparing to jump off the Tay Road Bridge, it is clear he is terrified of someone. But who? Clare realises too late that she has trusted the wrong person.

©2020 Marion Todd (P)2021 W F Howes

What listeners say about Lies to Tell

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    39
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absorbing story and refreshingly plausible events

Well written and well read by the author herself! Reading as good as a
pro actor.

Obviously the genre requires more events to take place more frequently than in real life but Marion Todd manages to make the plot turns appear plausible which isn’t always the case in thrillers.

The local colour is well handled with enough explanation for readers unfamiliar with the locations. St Andrews is becoming as dangerous as Oxford and Midsommer!

Only very in minor criticism is that some of her verbs seem a bit stiff and old fashioned- people regard things, peruse bank statements and there are other similar examples.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unexpected Twist

Another winner for me, from Marion Todd.
I like Claire and enjoy learning about her through the series of books and hope there are more to come. The mix of stories intermingled throughout this book, gave me plenty to think about.
I enjoy the glimpses into the private lives of other characters, but they don't overpower the main tales and the twist kept me glued to the very end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

5 1/2 *

So entertaining. A real thriller. Beautifully developed characters that stay with me. I’ve listened one after the other so have lived with the characters for three days now, miss them already.

The crimes are often intertwined and there’s was a potential danger they would become convoluted and contrived but they didn’t.

Excellent narration. On to the next.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kathy jones
  • kathy jones
  • 16-06-22

Love Lies to Tell

The third installment of the Claire McKay series is totally worth the read. Numerous plots and great characters.