Listen free for 30 days

Say No to the Duke

The Wildes of Lindow Castle, Book 4
Narrated by: Susan Duerden
Length: 8 hrs and 58 mins
Categories: Romance, Historical
4.5 out of 5 stars (6 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A wager pits an adventure in disguise against a scandalous night with a rake in the lighthearted, sexy new Wildes of Lindow Castle romance by New York Times best-selling author Eloisa James.  

Lady Betsy Wilde's first season was triumphant by any measure, and a duke has proposed - but before marriage, she longs for one last adventure. 

No gentleman would agree to her scandalous plan - but Lord Jeremy Roden is no gentleman. He offers a wager. If she wins a billiards game, he'll provide the breeches. If he wins...she is his, for one wild night.  

But what happens after Jeremy realises that one night will never be enough? He'll have to convince Betsy to say no to the duke.  

The fourth book in New York Times best-selling Eloisa James' new series, the Wildes of Lindow Castle, is perfect for fans of Julia Quinn's Bridgertons and Eloisa's Desperate Duchesses.

The Wildes of Lindow Castle series:

Wilde in Love

Too Wilde to Wed

Born to Be Wilde

Reluctantly a Lady

©2019 Eloisa James (P)2019 Hachette Audio UK

Critic reviews

"Nothing gets me to a bookstore faster than Eloisa James." (Julia Quinn)   

What listeners say about Say No to the Duke

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

As a balance to the other review..!

So we all know that this is historical romance fiction don't we? So many of the authors take some historical liberties mostly I find with language and many of the societal ettiquettes, but then what the hey, James Bond isn't exactly factual either is it?!

This being the fourth in this series, it was nice to see so many of the previous characters back again and meet some newer expanded cast. Interesting to explore the worlds of returning soldiers from the American Revolution and also the conditions is Bedlam Hospital

Yes ok, there's some ethusiastic sex going on. Who knows whether this is realistic or not, I'm sure not everyone was totally repressed and innocent and tbh I've heard more and less explicit across the genre. If it's not your bag, fair enough, but it's in keeping with EJ's other novels that I've listened to, so you shouldn't be THAT surprised..! But if you prefer to less or no sex, then stick to Georgette Heyer!

Overall, I'm enjoying the series, it makes a change from some of the usual story lines that you see echoing across historical romance and it's nice to hear what happens to each in a family. I hope Aunt Know gets to meet someone by the end of the series as she deserves a bit of attention... it shouldn't all be for the young ones.. indeed after this book, I hope she's getting it away with the brewer, was it me or was that hinted at!!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Rubbish

The writer has mixed up who was involved in a previous major storyline which is particularly grating as it’s repeated a few times. Also many historical inaccuracies and pointless sexual encounters that are so brazenly conducted it may as well be set in the modern day.