Listen free for 30 days

  • SAS Great Escapes

  • Seven Great Escapes Made by Real Second World War Heroes
  • By: Damien Lewis
  • Narrated by: Leighton Pugh
  • Length: 9 hrs and 44 mins
  • Categories: History, Europe
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (456 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Listen to clips from the audiobook

<i>SAS Great Escapes</i> by Damien Lewis
Meet the man behind the medals, Captain Roy Alexander Farran
Discover the lie that changed Corporal Jack Vincent Byrne's life forever
Learn how Lieutenant Thomas Bennett Langton's childhood shaped his career
  • SAS Great Escapes by Damien Lewis
  • Meet the man behind the medals, Captain Roy Alexander Farran
  • Discover the lie that changed Corporal Jack Vincent Byrne's life forever
  • Learn how Lieutenant Thomas Bennett Langton's childhood shaped his career
Operation Overview | 1. Nikaia, Athens, Greece. Date: August 1941. SAS Superman: Captain Roy Alexander Farran, 3rd The King’s Own Hussars.| 2. Benghazi Plain, Eastern Libya. Date: March 1942. SAS Superman: Corporal Jack Vincent Byrne, Gordon Highlanders. | 3. Tobruk, North-East Libya. Date: September 1942. SAS Superman: Lieutenant Thomas Bennett Langton, Irish Guards. | 4. Porto San Giórgio, Northern Italy. Date: September 1943. SAS Superman: Sergeant John Edward ‘Jim’ Almonds, Coldstream Guards. | 5. River Tiber, Central Italy. Date: January 1944. SAS Superman: Lieutenant James ‘Jimmy’ Quentin Hughes, 208 Anti-Aircraft Training Regiment. | 6. Oise, Northern France. Date: September 1944. SAS Superman: Corporal Serge Vaculik, 3rd Parachute Chasseur Regiment. |7. Vosges Mountains, France. Date: July 1944. SAS Superman: Flight Officer Ronald Lewis ‘Lew’ Fiddick, Royal Canadian Air Force.

Behind the scenes

Watch our exclusive interview with Damien Lewis as he discusses SAS Great Escapes.
0:00

About the author

Award-winning author Damien Lewis has penned over a dozen books, topping best seller lists worldwide. His WWII special forces books are a publishing phenomenon, and several are being made into movies or TV series. He also scripts his own work as films. His modern elite forces books include the No. 1 best seller Zero Six Bravo, and his man-and-dog at war true stories include the phenomenally successful War Dog, which is being developed as a movie. He also writes thrillers, and his first, Cobra Gold, is being made into a film by LA-based Safadi Entertainment.

Summary

No food. No water. Out of ammo. Safety is south. But between there and here is 150 miles of barren desert – freezing at night, boiling in the day – populated solely by Ernst Rommel’s fearsome and deadly Afrika Corps.

What would you do? 

Give up? Or get on with it? 

For the seven SAS supermen in Damien Lewis’s explosive new audio exclusive, the answer was simple: Escape. Evade. Survive. From the mountains of Italy, to the deserts of Africa, these heroes epitomise the bravery, esprit de corps and daring do of Britain’s finest elite fighting force. 

Fans of Ant Middleton’s First Man In and Ben MacIntyre’s SAS: Rogue Heroes are in for a treat, as the SAS’s master chronicler, Damien Lewis, has produced a gripping, heart-in-the-mouth, real-life thriller. A Sunday Times number one best-selling author, this fresh look at the most audacious escapes the SAS made in the Second World War is white-knuckle listening of the highest calibre. 

Because if you put a fence in front of these men...they’ll climb it.

©2020 Damien Lewis (P)2020 Audible, Ltd

About the performer

Leighton Pugh studied German and Italian at The Queen’s College, Oxford before training at LAMDA. Leighton's many stage credits include The Lehman Trilogy, Macbeth and The Birthday Party, amongst others. For audio, Leighton has lent his voice to a myriad of fiction and non-fiction tomes, from Ragnar Jonasson’s ‘Dark Iceland’ crime series to The New Silk Roads by Peter Frankopan and Talking to My Daughter About the Economy by Yanis Veroufakis. His radio credits include Scenes from Provincial Life, Murder by the Book and The Tragical Adventures of Heinrich von Kleist.

What listeners say about SAS Great Escapes

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    376
  • 4 Stars
    64
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    331
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    340
  • 4 Stars
    46
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Remarkable Narrative - well performed

Simply loving this release ..... it is some time now since my last purchase, really pleased I have broken in again. Well done Team Audible!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

proud to be british

a great read telling the world just how good the sad were and how proud we should be of these special people

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great stories, strange performance

I really enjoyed the stories in this book,. The performance was good (good accents) but throughout the book the narator put in odd pauses and used strange inflections on words or phrases, this made the overall flow of the stories hard to follow at times.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The courage shown is without doubt inspiring

I enjoyed this narration it was excellent and at time I was with those courageous men on a mission my heart beating a little faster . Major Stirling and Cornel Blair "Paddy" Maine exhibited outstanding leadership and their comrades followed not by blind obedience but by training and the understanding that they could complete a mission when the gas tank of fortitude was running on freash air and an inner strength took over . A fascinating audio book excently narrated .

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enthralling

I have read many books on World War 2 escapes and I have enjoyed this book and found it good listening, however as there was more than one story, I found the lack of more detail of the escapees journeys not as good as others I have read. Overall not the best Damien Lewis book but worth purchasing Leighton Pugh narration excellent.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book. Certainly recommend

Well written book and well narrated. Excellent stories of very courageous individuals. Thoroughly enjoyed listening to this

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fantastic chain of events

Easy to listen to and enjoyable, true heroes. these stories need to be told and passed down the generations.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping and humbling

A superb and easy listen on a subject that has always fascinated me. We sit here today with all the problems of the world around us but must remember the heroes and their sacrifice that allowed us the opportunity.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Loved it. Made me much more aware of these poor souls "trying to do the right thing".

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great escape book.

I thought it was a great listen, I listened while on long walks. Wind, rain or shine.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tim
  • Tim
  • 24-10-20

Terrific stories, brilliantly told and narrated.

The scale of sheer determination through adversity is both inspiring and humbling. Never again will I complain of sore legs or a heavy pack whilst hiking after listening to this. I wish the book was twice as long. Lewis does this kind of thing better than anyone else.