Try an audiobook on us

Onyx & Ivory

Narrated by: Khristine Hvam
Length: 14 hrs and 56 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (20 ratings)
Regular price: £31.39
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Acclaimed author Mindee Arnett thrusts listeners into a beautiful, dangerous, and magical world in this stunningly epic and romantic fantasy for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sarah Raasch.

They call her Traitor Kate. It’s a title Kate Brighton inherited from her father after he tried to assassinate the high king of Rime.

Cast out of the nobility, Kate now works for the royal courier service. Only the most skilled ride for the Relay and only the fastest survive, for when night falls, the drakes - deadly flightless dragons - come out to hunt. Fortunately, Kate has a secret edge: She is a wilder, born with forbidden magic that allows her to influence the minds of animals. 

And it’s this magic that leads her to a caravan massacred by drakes in broad daylight - the only survivor Corwin Tormaine, the son of the king. Her first love, the boy she swore to forget after he condemned her father to death.

With their paths once more entangled, Kate and Corwin must put the past behind them to face this new threat and an even darker menace stirring in the kingdom.

©2018 Mindee Arnett (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

"At once fresh, at once classic, Onyx and Ivory is a page-turning blend of monsters, magic, and romance." (Susan Dennard, New York Times best-selling author of Truthwitch)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

More Than Pleasantly Surprised

I actually really enjoyed this audiobook.

It was refreshing, most YA books that involve any kind of fantasy are all very samey-samey now, all seem to include fae and magic and everyone is immortal and theres always an evil queen that has a soul aim to destroy the whole world somewhere etc but this book wasn't exactly like that.

This is more 'real life', yeah, some people have magic but it's not the 'i am magic and i can do anything i want' kind that makes you roll your eyes when the main character can do everything they want no matter how outlandish or ridiculous just to fit round a weird storyline, it has its limits and the rest of the world around them is relatively realistic. All humans - aka not jam packed with fairies or goblins or monsters or whatever, they live in houses and ride horses and have standard human weapons etc. Basically apart from the odd fantasy bits for excitement, I found this more relatable in some ways than some YA books out there.

The narrator is great, really engaging and sounds enthusiastic. I'd have given the story 4.5 stars if i could, as the beginning is slow to start, but as this is going to be a series, it's understandable that it needs to be set up properly.

The review below said it was good but they wouldn't listen to any more in the series however I am interested to see what happens next. Has good potential. Would recommend.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • w7
  • 19-02-19

Dreadful performance

I don't know whether I would have liked the tale. It seemed too much of a coming-of-age story for my liking, but the narator is the killer. She reads with a false sense of drama and without sympathy to the characters. Dreadful. Book returned and refunded.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A showstopper

Some books are pure magic and this is one such book. This audiobook was riveting from start to finish as the listener joins the complex, multi-dimensional characters as they grow and blossom through the book. It is a story of resilience, love and listening to the still, small voice within you. Mindee Arnett has created a beautiful start of a series, well-deserving of a sequel. This is fantasy at its best.

Another excellent performance by Khristine Hvam. She brings so much soul to the characters. One of the best narrators of our time.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Interesting story

I went into this not expecting much as I have recently gone off YA, this came with a Fairyloot box so I thought I'd better see what it is like. It was a lot better than I expected. I loved the different story lines and I loved Kate. I don't think I will carry on with the series though. Also I think the narrator did a very good job.