Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

’Till death do us part may come sooner than they thought....

1934. Kitty Underhay steps out of the battered Rolls Royce and onto the gravelled driveway of Thurscomb Castle in deepest Yorkshire. She’s honoured to be a bridesmaid at her cousin Lucy’s wedding to the reluctant Lord Rupert Woodcomb, but as family and friends gather for welcome drinks, Kitty dodges intrusive questions about her own marital status by taking a stroll about the castle grounds. As she passes through the manicured gardens, a fatal shot rings out....

The valet, Evans, is dead. And Kitty can’t help but notice how rattled the man standing next to him seems. Could Rupert’s best man, The Right Honourable Alexander "Sandy" Galsworthy, believe the speeding bullet was meant for him?

When she discovers that Sandy has been receiving blackmail notes, Kitty suspects that one of the assembled guests has plans to make good on their threats. The local constabulary won’t act on Kitty’s hunch, so, busy with her bridesmaid’s duties, she asks her beau, ex-army captain Matthew Bryant, to help.

The ceremony passes without a hitch. But when an anxious Sandy slips away during the dancing, Matt follows, only to make a hideous discovery: Sandy is dead, flattened on the terrace by some falling masonry.

Now the duo are sure that there is a murderer within the castle walls. But can they untangle Sandy’s final hours and catch this killer before they strike again, or will the wedding bells be replaced by a death knell for Kitty herself...?

A completely charming cozy historical Golden Age murder mystery! Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Lee Strauss. 

©2021 Helena Dixon (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Murder at the Wedding

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

New narrator, not quite right

To be fair this narrator was very good but she made Kitty and Matt’s voices too affected. She gave them an edge of ‘posh’ and ‘upper class’ that they didn’t have before and it grates. It’s a shame because otherwise this new narrator did an excellent job and I HATE it when excellent narrators are changed.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A favourite series of mine

I have been following the Miss Kitty Underhay series from the start though this was my first audiobook for it. Praise to its narrator for the range of voices that captured the characters so well

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Bring back Alex Tregear

I love this series and the reading normally brings the characters to life, Kitty is normally portrayed as a sweet, caring person.
This narration while good as a narrator is awful at the character voices, kitty sounds up herself, repressed and restrained, her voice and accent more suited to her gran. Her gran sounds at deaths door and for reasons only know to the reader, portrayed with a lower class of speech than the mc who has been given a plumb accent.
I ended turning it off and getting a refund.
I’m sorry but I couldn’t tolerate the reading and if future books aren’t read by Alex, I won’t be buying.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

I love this series

Unfortunately struggled to complete this book as th narrator was not the usual one. I couldn't understand why Kitty suddenly sounded so much grander than her cousin considering the difference in their social status. I probably will not purchase the new book if the narrator is not Alex Tragear.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Review Murder at the wedding

Although I enjoyed the story of the book I was not keen on the new very “upper class” voices of some of my favourite characters, especially that of Kitty’s voice . This did somewhat spoil the book for me as I was keenly awaiting it’s arrival on Audible and was unfortunately disappointed.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Only if you get the audio

Really like the story, but I have always listened to this series, so to have a new narrator has let it down. She has a lovely voice, but Kitty sounds to posh and old. Sorry but it spoiled my enjoyment of the book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Murder at the Wedding

Wonderful new mystery, with some pretty good excitement along the way. Miss Underhay puts her life in the line yet again to solve these murders. Miss the voice of Alex Tregear with this book but Polly Edsell does more than a fine job. 👍👍👍👌

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sherri L Snyder
  • Sherri L Snyder
  • 06-10-21

Narrator change

What happened to Alex Tregear? I’ve had to shut the book off twice because I cannot stand the new narration! I will have to try a third time because I’ve always enjoyed this series. I’m disappointed.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jean
  • Jean
  • 10-10-21

The writer had me guessing.....

I am sure there are others who could guess the "Who did it", but it eluded me!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for April
  • April
  • 09-10-21

Not the same with the new narrator

Very good story like the previous books but I have to say a I’m not happy with changing the narrator. Overall it’s okay but to my ear there is very little distinction between the male characters and she frequently makes Alice sound like a 40 year old cleaning woman rather than a 16 year old ladies maid from a fine hotel. Finally the accents used for the Americans are almost almost insulting. Not everyone from this country has a southern or Texan drawl.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen Herfurth
  • Karen Herfurth
  • 21-10-21

Disappointed

The previous reader was so much better. This one really didn’t do the characters justice. So disappointing.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chris r.
  • Chris r.
  • 20-10-21

Give us back the narrator

So disappointing with the voices of the characters. They are very annoying. Don’t think I’ll listen anymore which is too bad because I’ve loved the series.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ayesha Zainal
  • Ayesha Zainal
  • 17-10-21

Narrator change should be noted

I love this series, and after 6 books I got accustomed to hearing each character and their uniqueness expressed by the narrator. But I was surprised to find that the narrator for book 7 changed, and found it hard at some points to distinguish each character from the other. I really hope the narration will get better with next books or else bring the old narrator back; either way; Audible should put a warning when narrators of long series change.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alison Bevilacqua
  • Alison Bevilacqua
  • 16-10-21

New narrator not neat

Removing from library, dnf. New narrator too snobby and raspy for the Kitty I know.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lisa
  • Lisa
  • 11-10-21

Love these characters

Love these characters and stories. The narrator should consider studying American accents before her next performance.