Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

On her hands and knees, Nikki moved to the other side of the body. She couldn’t stop her fingers from trembling as she brushed the dark hair off the victim’s face. She couldn’t look away. “I know her....”

When Special Agent Nikki Hunt is called to the Boundary Waters near Stillwater, Minnesota, it’s not just the cold that shocks her to her core: the body of a young woman has been found frozen beside a remote lake. Nikki is devastated to see the victim is her childhood friend Annmarie, and she recognizes the velvet ribbon tied in her hair as the hallmark of a serial killer who she has been hunting for years.

Desperate for justice, Nikki throws herself into the case. But she is shaken by what she finds at Annmarie’s home: a dead-bolt on her front door and a map in the spare room, with the locations of murdered women circled in thick, red marker. Did Annmarie know she was next? Then Nikki finds out that the killer has left a clue in Annmarie’s bedroom: a photo of Nikki’s mother that no one has ever seen. Has the murderer at large been in Nikki’s life since she was a child?

Nikki soon realizes that the key to unlocking this case is in her own family, but digging up the past could put her own daughter in danger. She has spent her whole life protecting the ones she loves, but to find this killer Nikki might have to risk everything.....

Fans of Karin Slaughter, Lisa Gardner, and Robert Dugoni will be completely addicted to this heart-pounding thriller. Once you start, the twists and turns will have you racing toward the end.

©2021 Stacy Green (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Lost Angels

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a must read

I'm really loving this series, the ending shocked me in this book . Bring on book 4!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for EQReader
  • EQReader
  • 01-10-21

Not as good as first two

I liked the first two books in this series, neither was perfect but they were good enough. This one felt alternately rushed, forced, and artificially constrained. No good FBI agent would so thoroughly discard her safety and her team to chase down someone who has been after her. I just lost all respect for the character.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for I. Castillo
  • I. Castillo
  • 30-08-21

worth your time

this is the second in the Nikki Hunt series and it doesn't disappoint. The narration is perfect and the story is great with a sharp plot twist near the end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Traci Ramsey
  • Traci Ramsey
  • 19-06-22

Love

Love this series it is really well written and I
Love the characters! Thank you

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marie G.
  • Marie G.
  • 13-05-22

CREEPY (AS IT SHOULD BE IF ONE IS HUNTING A SERIAL KILLER)!

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and listened to it in less than 24 hours, I was so engrossed. I found myself wondering though if the main character, FBI Agent, Nikki Hunt, has any cases to solve other than ones that have ties to her and her family. The killer being sought really has some issues and he knows exactly how to push all of Agent Hunt’s buttons and how to prey on her mental and emotional fears.

A few major complaints — First, the narrator! Not only does she consistently mispronounce words (which really started to annoy me once I noticed it as I had in the previous books in this series), but she does a horrible job as a 5-year-old child.

Regarding Agent Hunt’s 5-year-old daughter (this is on the author, not the narrator), no five-year-old is THAT intuitive, articulate, smart or compassionate, nor do they speak as this 5-year-old does! A 12-year-old MAYBE, but not at five!

Lastly, the book was completely ruined for me as from Chapter 7 through to the very last paragraph of the story, the story just turned itself OFF! I had to keep tapping my phone every minute or so to get it to start again. Sometimes after tapping to get the story to continue playing it was ahead of where it left off and I would have to go backwards to find where I had been. At other times, the story would go for a paragraph or two, and I’d think, “Ahhh…the book is back to normal now!” only to have it turn off again not long after. It made for a very frustrating and unpleasant reading experience, despite the book itself being excellent for the most part.

This strange turning off very few seconds has never happened before in the hundred or do books I’ve read, so I have to assume it is a problem with the recording and not my phone (which is in perfect working order). I will be contacting Audible and asking for my one credit back.
Hopefully this glitz is exclusive to just me.

I very much enjoyed the first three books in this series, but so far, this one was the BEST!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ma Barker
  • Ma Barker
  • 22-03-22

Narrator mispronounced several words

Loved the book. Stacy Green's writing style is great. Kate Handford's narrating isn't bad is you can get past her mispronouncing several common words, such as composite. I didn't notice it in the first book as much as I did in this one. I will probably finish this series, but will most likely avoid any other books narrated by her.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ashly Arnold
  • Ashly Arnold
  • 13-02-22

Favorite

This is my favorite of the series! So many twists and turns. Read the first on a whim and LOVED the entire series so much. Onto the next Nikki Hunt book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carmen Tanner
  • Carmen Tanner
  • 17-01-22

Really good!

I have read books 1, 2, and now 3. This is so far the best one.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Human Bean
  • Human Bean
  • 31-12-21

Wish the narrator could edit

Something that this author does repeatedly, is repeat. It might not be as noticeable if one were reading it as a text, but when it’s read out loud the repetitions become annoying. Three times in the space of 5 or 6 sentences we are told that Nikki remembered where her grandmothers room was, off the kitchen to the left. Bad editing? Poor writing? I’m not sure. It detracts from a storyline and character development that already strain the bounds of believability…. It’s meh

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kathy
  • Kathy
  • 09-12-21

KatBull

I love this series. I plan to buy and listen to the final book in the series. If you love mysteries with a little romance, you’ll love this series.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for buzzknit
  • buzzknit
  • 03-12-21

Over It

I like a good mystery but this one has carried on from the beginning so I get tired of repetition. This book was ok and while the reader is easy to listen to her pronunciation of the following words just bothered me: Composite and Administrative - for some reason it just bothered me. The next book, yet again, involves her personally so I think I'll pass for now. Can't Nikki work on a case without it being personal to her???