Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A missing child. A woman found dead. Who is next?

Six-year-old Lola Jade Harper is taken from her bedroom. Her mother is distraught. She is convinced her estranged husband, Gavin Harper, has abducted their daughter.

Detective Rachel Prince is leading the investigation but is soon out of her depth as she searches for the most high-profile missing child in the country. To uncover the truth about Lola’s disappearance, Rachel must untangle the Harper family’s complicated web of secrets and lies.

As the case progresses, the body of a local woman is found. The death at first seems unrelated, until a trail of social media posts lead Rachel to a chilling discovery.

And then, another little girl is taken....

With growing pressure from the public and the appearance of someone from her past she’d rather forget, will Rachel be able to solve the connection between the two missing children and the murder - before it’s too late?

Truly addictive from start to finish, The Lying Kind is a tense, enthralling crime thriller by one of the best new voices in crime fiction. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Peter James, and Karin Slaughter.

©2018 Alison James (P)2018 Bookouture

What listeners say about Lola Is Missing

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    57
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    51
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not great

The usual 'missing child' story and guessed the ending pretty quickly. Narrator had very strange way of talking which irritated me and spoiled the story. Wasn't sorry to get to the end!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

narrator is awful

This book has a great storyline which intrigued me enough to carry in to the end. Purely due to the narrator, this book was completely ruined. Cramer could not perform any accent and constantly spoke with arrogance, cockiness and sarcasm. i would have liked to have listened to more DI Prince story's but could not bear listening to that narrator.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cracking story

Thoroughly enjoyed this first Rachel Prince book. Great story...had no idea of the outcome which is a bonus! Onto the next in the series.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story but shame about the narrator

The story is an easy interesting read but spoilt by the narrator who seemed to portray energetic commuted detectives as indifferent. The intonation couldn’t have been more wrong. I hope audible can change this for the books to follow in this series

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

lola

Brilliant story, loved listening to it on audible, keeps you in suspense till the very end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unexpectedly gripping and very well written....

Hello.... not one for writing a review.... but this book had me from the start... Narrator was 100% right for this story, the characters were complex and interesting and the author was next level with the stages of the story. Looking forward to more from Alison James and Jan Cramer. Well Bloody Done Ladies!!! Thank you x Anne x

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The story was good except....

The way it was written was like the Person reading it was in a rush. She ruined the story for me. I thought the story also strayed onto things that were just to bulk it out. Like the description of the food when ever they were eating. Was gross at times.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Ok

the story was ok story flowed but average read x x x x x x

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

great book

listened to this in just a few days..kept me guessing with lots of twists and turns. only a couple of gripes..Rachel's strange immature attitude towards her ex and the odd 'banter' between the two central characters..I just can't imagine a Detective inspector calling her Sgt a dickhead and him calling her a loser and constantly swearing at here to f..k off..I know the author is trying to set up the easy relationship between the two characters but I just thought the choice of words didn't ring true. Loved the story and look forward to the next one in the series. The narration was very good although a couple of the characters sounded like Alan Carr to me which was slightly distracting..and Brickells voice was a bit annoying but it didn't spoil the story.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jennifer F.
  • Jennifer F.
  • 06-07-18

great new series...lived the story line. must read

narrator is the best loved this book will be getting the next one to start reading

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Maine Knitter
  • Maine Knitter
  • 16-02-19

Very good!

Wow! What a fabulous start to a series! A missing child and many possibilities as to her whereabouts. And many potential suspects who don’t tell the truth. The last few chapters of this book were impossible to put down. DI Rachel Prince is an interesting character with a bit of baggage. I look forward to reading more about her and her DS. Jan Cramer does a fine job as she narrates this book. I’m glad there are more books in this series. I hope Book 3 is released as an audiobook soon.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michelene
  • Michelene
  • 12-10-18

Not gripping or suspenseful!!’

Don’t waste your time on this mundane book. The characters were uninteresting and storyline awful....very disappointing. The only positive was Jan Cramer’s narration.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julie Zancanella
  • Julie Zancanella
  • 28-08-18

Good Story But...

It takes a loooong time for anything to happen. It's a good story made so much better by the narration. Likable characters and well written. Could have gotten to the point much quicker though.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 17-06-20

Clever Mystery

A unique mystery as it’s not going to be let me you’ve heard before. Sorta dragged out though.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S. Jacobs
  • S. Jacobs
  • 10-03-20

Good story, not a thriller

It was quite interesting but not exactly a thriller. More like a general detective story, little unbelievable but easy to listen to.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cheryl A Hill
  • Cheryl A Hill
  • 06-03-20

Excellent!!!!

I absolutely love Alison James. The best writer I have come across in a while!!!!