Listen free for 30 days

  • Little Girl Lost

  • Detective Robyn Carter Crime Thriller Series, Book 1
  • By: Carol Wyer
  • Narrated by: Emma Newman
  • Length: 14 hrs and 13 mins
  • 4.1 out of 5 stars (254 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Little Girl Lost cover art

Little Girl Lost

By: Carol Wyer
Narrated by: Emma Newman
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £18.99

Buy Now for £18.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Birthday cover art
The Lost Girls of Penzance cover art
One Left Alive: A Heart-Stopping and Gripping Crime Thriller cover art
The Corfe Castle Murders cover art
First Blood cover art
The Next Girl: Detective Gina Harte, Book 1 cover art
The Bonnie Dead cover art
Dark Game cover art
The Girl in the Grave cover art
Detective Sebastian Clifford, Books 1-3 cover art
A Long Time Dead cover art
Dark House cover art
The Night Shift cover art
Songs of Innocence cover art
Deadly Wishes cover art
Dark Place to Hide cover art

Summary

A perfect family hiding disturbing secrets. A killer who wants the truth to be told. A little girl in terrible danger.

A teacher goes missing under suspicious circumstances and a man is murdered at a local reservoir. For Detective Robyn Carter, there's no obvious link between the cases. But as she starts to delve into them, her investigations lead her to Abigail, perfect wife and mother to beautiful little Izzy. What was Abigail's connection to the victims? And why is she receiving threatening messages from an anonymous number?

But as Robyn starts to inch closer to finding the killer, Izzy is abducted. Unless Robyn gets to the twisted individual in time, a little girl will die.

Gripping, fast paced and nail-bitingly tense, this serial killer thriller will chill you to the bone. Perfect for fans of MJ Arlidge and Angela Marsons. Discover Carol Wyer's new series today.

©2017 Carol Wyer (P)2017 Bookouture

What listeners say about Little Girl Lost

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    127
  • 4 Stars
    70
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    14
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    88
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    34
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    30
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    130
  • 4 Stars
    46
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    12

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story but totally ruined by the narration

So sad for this author - narration was a disaster, Amelia sounded like a young Lady Bracknell & Jackson a sulky schoolboy & PLEASE Audible stop the current rot of turning the indefinite article 'a' into 'ay' - ay hay cart ???

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Painfully narrated

Liked the story & was looking forward to to finding a new series to listen to, however I found the narrator painful to listen to & it spoilt my enjoyment of the book

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Low grade material.

How did this get published and when it did get published, how on earth did it garner such praise from readers? Having said that on the day after Trump became President of the USA I suppose anything is possible.
This book is poorly written, poorly constructed and poorly read. It is horribly pretentious and is peppered with cultural cut and paste moments which fit like hammered in jig saw pieces. Risable. It reads like the spouting of the checkout lady talking with a posh accent. I got to chapter 9 but am going to ask for my money back - for pity's sake.
As to the reader - if I want simpering I can listen to Princess Diana.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not for me!

Too predictable for me I'm afraid and the narration was just strange, over emphasised and like a book read by Eliza from My Fair Lady...

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

The worst reader I've ever heard

If I wanted someone to pronounce every single letter of every single word, then this is the woman I'd pick - she is utterly nauseating and frequently had me screaming in my head while she articulated every single syllable, which frequently put the emphasis on the wrong part of the sentence.

Add to this a story which went along nicely, and then suddenly, as if the author got bored, just dropped in a conclusion, and you'll see why my review isn't that kind. Much better detective stories are available - avoid this one!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

and narrator

love the story but will mot be nuying another the narrator was terrible..it a pity..but i just could not listen to get droning on.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

Robotic Narration

I am still trying to listen to this book but the narrator is so monotonous and robotic that I may have to revert to the written word instead. That is the only reason I have given it three stars.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good book

Dreadful narration

Wonder pronounced wander throughout

A as in ‘a book’ pronounced A as in the alphabet pronunciation as well as other really annoying things





Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story!

Bit confusing with the who? and the when? at first .. but that was probably the point
Also the tone of the narrator seemed jarring with what was being said on occasion.
Otherwise a good book all round

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not at all gripping or thrilling

I do love a good detective series. I am a huge fan of DI Stone, Luc Callanach and more so when I picked up this detective book, I thought I'd found my new series. How wrong was I. The storyline jumps from place to place, is inconsistent, dull and too long for my liking. It feels like it was unnecessarily padded out with descriptions and inane talking. The amount of times the Detective claimed she was "so close to finding the suspect" was ridiculous. It took her another 5 audible hours to get there and I figured it out way before that!

As for the audio, I have never come across such an irritating narrator. She has barely any inflection in her voice and most of the time I had no idea which character she was, the chapters seemed to meld together too quickly, the enunciation was too much - who speaks like that? - and the mis or odd pronunciation of words grated on me so badly. You'll notice how often a word is used once you catch on to the way it's weirdlypronounced (plahstic).

I was going to give the second book a go, hoping the author redeemed herself and it was just teething problems but after realising all the books in the series are narrated by the same person, I'll pass. I was so glad to get to the end of this. Would not recommend at all!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful