Regular price: £23.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Basket

Summary

Three murders. Three innocent victims. What secrets did they share with their killer?

A bottle of bubble bath and colorful, plastic boats were scattered in small puddles on the floor. In the bathtub lay Linda Upton, fully-clothed, her lips a shade of blue, and her bloodshot eyes wide open.

When a young mother is found drowned in the bath, clutching a receipt saying 'all debts paid', Detective Robyn Carter knows it's just the beginning of a harrowing case. She recognizes the signs of a serial killer, and when a second victim with a receipt is found, her worst fears are confirmed.

With the local press whipping the public into a frenzy, Robyn is under pressure to solve the crime yesterday. But her team can't find a link between the two bodies, and the cracks are starting to show.

With the local press whipping the public into a frenzy, Robyn is under pressure to solve the crime yesterday. But her team can't find a link between the two bodies, and the cracks are starting to show.

The press call him The Leopard for his stealth, speed, and brutality. Can Robyn stop the most twisted killer of her career before it's too late?

A heart-pounding, toe-curling, one-sitting serial killer thriller that will hook you from the first minute till the last. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott, and Karin Slaughter.

©2017 Carol Wyer (P)2017 Bookouture

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good storyline

I enjoyed this book as I did the first. The Narrater is a little annoying. Her lack of enthusiasm while reading makes the listen not as enjoyable as it should be! Also the words Gas and Plastic are mispronounce, which was irritating. The story itself was great and the book is so well written so it’s a shame the narrator lets the review down.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Story

Shame about the reader better at 1.25 speed - perhaps she should read book first as seems to stumble

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

great book<br />

love this author certainly looking forward to hearing the next book fantastic twist at the end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it!!!

enjoyed this so much , brilliant and well written
can't wait for number three. superb character in Robyn.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Terrible narration

Absolutely the worst narration I have ever heard. Same monotone all the way through even exciting parts were boring. I was listening to the story through a speaker and my family were asking how I could listen to the voice. Ruined a good story. I would never recommend listening to any of the authors books because of the narrator. Good author to read not listen to

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Angela M. Dokos
  • 10-06-17

Loved it!!!

Another great book from Carol Wyer. She is officially one of my favorite authors. It's not about figuring out who is doing the killing in this book, it's the how and who's next that keeps you intrigued.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Rosie
  • 08-07-17

Great plot - disappointing narration

What made the experience of listening to Secrets of the Dead the most enjoyable?

The plot was interesting although the police break with usual procedure constantly for no good reason.

Would you be willing to try another one of Emma Newman’s performances?

Really not sure. Her narration is stilted as if she's in primary school reading the story for the first time. Poor emphasis & inflection. It really detracts from the plot. I'm still halfway through the story & it's driving me mad. I rarely write review but just had to say something. I came believe that the 48 other reviewers thought this was adequate narration!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Vicky
  • 15-06-18

Great book, but...

While I enjoyed the book, and the narrator was okay. though it drove me nuts when she would miss pronounce well known brands and words. Nike is (nahy- kee ) not (nahy).

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • laura
  • 08-06-18

Needed a better narrator

The narrator can make or break a story. Even though I have like this narrator in the past, she was too dull for this story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Karla
  • 10-03-18

LOVE listening to my audible books at night

Love listening to my audible books at night, while in bed. It's like having a bed time story readto you.😊

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Magidde
  • 18-11-17

Narrator makes book less enjoyable

This is my second Carol Wyer book and is as good as the first--not spectacular, but solid. I love police procedurals set in England and this fits the bill. The detective and her colleagues are believable and for the most part likable; the others who are not meant to be likable are indeed off-putting. But the entire experience is marred by a dreadful narrator. She has the softspoken voice of a kindergarten teacher, not a good fit for reading a police procedural with a reasonably tough female detective as the protagonist. But worst of all is her unfathomable habit of pronouncing the article &quot;a&quot; as a long a (to rhyme with day) the way an insecure second grade reader might. She is capable of using the more typical schwa and does this part of the time as well. I could find no rhyme or reason for her choices and it became quite distracting and annoying. Don't think I can bear another book read by this woman, who otherwise has a pleasant voice, just mixed with bad casting here and a peculiar pronunciation habit.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Princess Proton
  • 13-11-17

Emotional rollercoaster

This was probably my favorite book of the Robyn Carter series so far. The story is gripping with twists and turns that you won't see coming.

Audible 20 Review Sweepstakes Entry

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Rontonio
  • 31-10-17

Narrator emotes too much

I've probably listened to 20 books read by Scott Brick, and at this point I think I'm done. His style of reading takes me out of the book. He over emphasized too many words and his voice typically rises at the end of sentences. A couple years ago he seemed to have overcome the sing song reading style, but now it's back. I had to return the book and intend to read it instead.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ewock
  • 01-09-17

A good series starting. thank

This was an enjoyable read. Not quite as good as her first as far as the murderer's motivation. Suggest a little more research in the DSM 4 - not the 5. like the new team members and her uncle. would like all authors to drop always having a nasty boss or co-worker to trying.to outdo them. want the facts, just the facts.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • P. Jones
  • 27-08-17

Amateur

What disappointed you about Secrets of the Dead?

Terrible narration, as other readers said, sounds like a new teacher reading for 6 year olds. Couldn't stand it.
The story line is cheesy and unbelievable. More like juvenile adult book.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful