Listen free for 30 days

Firstborn

StarCraft: The Dark Templar Saga, Book 1
Narrated by: Christie Golden
Length: 10 hrs and 25 mins
4.8 out of 5 stars (6 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Jake Ramsey - an unassuming yet talented archaeologist - has been given the chance of a lifetime. Hired to investigate a recently unearthed Xel'Naga temple, he knows this latest assignment will open up whole new possibilities for his career. Yet when Jake discovers the remains of a long-dead protoss mystic, his hopes and dreams are irrevocably drowned in a flood of alien memories. Bonded to the spirit of the dead protoss, Jake has become the sole inheritor of the protoss' total history - every event, every thought - every feeling.

©2007 Blizzard Entertainment (P)2019 Blizzard Entertainment

What listeners say about Firstborn

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mjm9536
  • mjm9536
  • 14-04-19

Good story, weak narration

A good storyline (not on the level of Liberty though) but it was utterly let down by the narration. Others liked it but it just did not work for me and quickly became a book I had to force myself to finish.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 20-03-19

great listening, can't wait for the next book!

Great listening, can't wait for the next book in this wonderful series. Need more Starcraft!!!!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chad Dye
  • Chad Dye
  • 30-04-19

Christie Golden doesn't have a wide enough range

I love her writing. I can read Arthas and this back to front all day, but Ms. Golden, I can't buy your vocal performance, especially when we're dealing with big, gruff men. I'm sorry to have to say it. I really tried hard to listen, but 3 chapters in and I'm consistently taken out of the experience by her struggling to voice the male characters.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mad Cow
  • Mad Cow
  • 20-10-19

good story love starcraft lore

it was good. I prefer male voice actors but golden does okay. sometimes her "s"es hiss or whistle or whatever but that's just a me noticing it thing. didnt stop me from listening to it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for DKR
  • DKR
  • 11-04-19

The best! I can't wait for the next one!

This is one of the most engrossing stories I've listened to in a long time. I was so disappointed when it ended! To me that is the best indication of how much it held my attention. If you love StarCraft, you'll love this book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gary C. Mcgee
  • Gary C. Mcgee
  • 10-04-19

One of my favorite trilogy from Starcraft!

Loved it. I have read and reread the trilogy many times and it is awesome to finally hear it in a audiobook. I cant wait for Shadow Hunters to co.e out. It is a great back story to the beginnings of the Khala and a good history of the Protoss.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mario
  • Mario
  • 29-08-20

good

struggle to finished to much in dream world not enough action. the need to go in to the protoss world was noce but not much depth

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 06-05-20

Wow.

This one catches you by surprise. Definitely recommend for fans of StarCraft and SciFi in general.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for David M. Mcclintic
  • David M. Mcclintic
  • 16-04-20

great book!

took an interesting twist. kept me engaged. will probably listen to the next in series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Justin Tankersley
  • Justin Tankersley
  • 07-07-19

Hard to stop.

Loved every moment of it and the character progression was wonderful, as well as the efficient switch between them.