Regular price: £12.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

A compelling wartime drama from the author of The Street, perfect for fans of Pam Weaver and Kitty Neale.

Rosie Gardiner is having a tough war. She's had to leave her job as a nude at the Windmill in Soho after a horrific assault which left her pregnant and is now living back at home with her recently remarried dad. Despite her best efforts, Rosie and her dad just can't get along, and the strain of coping as a young, unmarried mother is getting to her.

As the Nazis strafe the city with V2 bombs, Rosie is determined to keep her head up through the Blitz, but when a direct hit to her street cripples her father, it feels like the days have never been darker. With a final burst of resolution, John Gardiner decides to leave London to escape the bombardment, and, to Rosie's mixed horror and relief, he takes her baby with him.

Left alone in the East End, with the spectre of the man who assaulted her rearing his ugly head, Rosie decides to join the London Auxiliary Ambulance Service to keep her busy - and to give her hope in these tough times.

©2015 Kay Brellend (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars

not impressed

Couldn't listen past chapter 17. Nor could I listen to this narrator's voice again. End

1 of 2 people found this review helpful