Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Centurion, a no. 1 best-seller, is the unputdownable eighth novel in Simon Scarrow's Eagle's of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

In the first century AD the Roman Empire faces a new threat from its long-standing enemy Parthia. Parthia is vying with Rome for control of Palmyra, an officially neutral kingdom. Palmyra's royal household is on the brink of open revolt, and so a task force under the command of experienced soldiers Macro and Cato is dispatched to defend its king and guard its borders. When Parthia hears of the Roman army's presence, it starts amassing its troops for war.

Macro's cohort must march against the enemy, deep into treacherous territory. If Palmyra is not to fall into the clutches of Parthia, they will have to defeat superior numbers in a desperate siege. The quest for a lasting peace has never been more challenging, nor more critical for the future of the Empire.

©2008 Simon Scarrow (P)2012 Headline Digital

Critic reviews

"Simon Scarrow has developed a strong following... a former ancient history lecturer who knows his stuff, and brings the ancient world back to life with verve and plenty of action." ( Brisbane News)

What listeners say about Centurion

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    434
  • 4 Stars
    99
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    379
  • 4 Stars
    100
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    386
  • 4 Stars
    97
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

New narrator - not sure about the change in voice

Having listened to 7 of this series and utterly compelled to read all of them I felt a little let down by the unexpected change in narrator. Jonathan Keeble is clearly a skilled narrator but Macro seems to have lost a bit of the grit and determination in his voice. To me he always sounded a bit Sean Bean'ish but all the better for that. Obviously Cato sounds different but to me his voice was always a bit less important. I've only just started it so I imagine it will get better but it's interesting how a familiar voice on an audible book becomes a hook into the story. I'll see how this one goes but I may end up reverting to analog books.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable yarn

An enjoyable yarn with some romance thrown in. The narration style was clear, dramatic and engaging. The characters and drama came alive with this particular reader.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Chapters mixed up

This book starts with what you presume is just an error. When you get the chapter 18, the book finishes but chapter 19 is actually chapter 1.
So I did indeed start this book halfway through, which is like reading the last chapter in a book before you start. I already know the ending.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story!

the narrator did a great job bringing this amazing tale of my 2 favourite Romans to life!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Bring back Boulter!

Great addition to the series, but Keeble just does not play the part/replacement for Boulter.

Such a shame to almost loose the characters.

I really hope it’s temporary.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved every second of it!

Well narrated with excellent voices for other characters. The story was captivating and visceral. Now I must read another in the series immediately.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Another wonderful listen

I never thought I would say that any writer was equal to Bernard Cornwell but Simon Scarrow is such a writer. The naration of all of his books on Audible are superb. Thank you Mr Scarrow. Regards Wendy

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excelent as always.

Kato continues to rub off on Macro but the latter remains his usual blunt socially hamfisted self. I know these books are now just following a mold but they are a great romp.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love is in the air

Good news for one of our heroes as Macro and Cato head to Syria and a fight with the Parthians. pushed into the advance of the roman expedition to Palmyra the pair and their cohorts first fight into a city then hold it off against rebels waiting for a relief column that may or may not arrive. another excellent tale of adventure and conspiracy never knowing who to trust.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Personal Milestone

Cato and Macro are once again pitted against enemies both within and without the ranks of the legions. Set against the Palmyrans, wonderfully mobile horse archers who pose a real challenge to the slow-moving legions and fearful of what the machinations of Narcissus may cost them from within they are sent on a perilous rescue mission. What follows is a fast-moving story full of action and Scarrow’s usual excellent historical knowledge. There is also a romantic interest but one which is included in the story without great obstruction to the overall storyline. She is an excellent female character compared to some of those before.

Keeble’s narration is as usual superb. Reading Centurion means that personally I’ve reached an interesting point in the series because this was one of the earliest audiobooks that I listened to back in the days of shuffling CDs in the car – and didn’t they always seem to end at just the wrong moment leaving an impatient wait for the next motorway junction etc???? It was bought on a whim at a service station after my latest Rebus had finished without me realising it was part of a series. I marked it then as a series to invest in and I have waded through them on Audible as happy as a pig in the proverbial. So now as I move on to the next one, I will finally be reaching out into even fresher territory than ever before. It won’t be long before I do that, of that much I am sure!

5 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Massimo
  • Massimo
  • 02-07-12

As ever good entertainement

What did you love best about Centurion?

the mixture between the Cato and Macro. This two carracters are so different that it is fun the lissen.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Centurion?

When Macro speack with the one Prince from Palmyra

Which scene was your favorite?

The fighting sceen and the sceen where Macro explains to Cato that Gulia is interessted in him, and Cato does not get it.

Who was the most memorable character of Centurion and why?

Giulia and Cato

1 person found this helpful