Listen free for 30 days

Burn the Evidence

Solomon Gray, Book 2
Narrated by: Howard J. Davey
Series: Solomon Gray Series, Book 2
Length: 6 hrs and 48 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (11 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Mixing business with family can be a murderous affair....

A body washes up on the beach near Ramsgate in the South of England. For Detective Sergeant Solomon Gray, the case appears cut and dried - the drowning of an immigrant. Another victim to the sea in his desperate attempt to reach the UK.

As the tidewaters recede, two more corpses surface. One appears to also be a refugee, but he’s been stabbed to death. The other Gray recognizes immediately, and Gray knows this means trouble. Because the corpse is the son of local business tycoon Jake Armitage, a man with a dark reputation and an ex-school friend of Gray’s.

A post-mortem reveals ligature marks on the son’s wrists and drugs in his bloodstream. All signs indicate murder. Armitage swears to track down his son's killer and avenge his death.

Gray's investigation points to a deadly fire 10 years prior, and soon Armitage comes under suspicion. But Gray knows what it's like to lose a child and puts aside his distrust of Armitage to help. How are the dead men connected to each other - and to the infamous fire?

It's then that Gray gets another tip. On the whereabouts of his own missing son....

Set in the once-grand town of Margate in the south of England, the now broken and depressed seaside resort becomes its own character in this dark detective thriller, perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Stuart MacBride, and Peter James.

Burn the Evidence is the second book in the series featuring Detective Sergeant Solomon Gray. Pick it up now to discover whether Gray can escape his past in this taut crime series.

What others say:

"Accomplished writing from one of the best authors in the UK." (M. W. Craven, author of the Washington Poe series)

"Keith Nixon is one hell of a writer." (Ken Bruen, author of the Jack Taylor series)

"[D]eeply emotional, a dark rollercoaster ride." (Ed James, author of best-selling DI Fenchurch series)

"Keith Nixon’s latest Solomon Gray murder mystery pushes all the hot button issues of a traumatised post-Brexit UK in this dark tale of loss, revenge and redemption. Flawed and floored by personal tragedy, DS Solomon Gray is ready to take his place alongside DS Logan McRae, DS Roy Grace and DCI John Luther. Modern jet-black Brit Noir at its best." (Tim Baker, CWA shortlisted author of Fever City)

"A compelling murder mystery with a multilayered and engaging new hero. Great read." (Mason Cross, author of the Carter Blake thriller series)

"A damaged detective, haunted by a tragic past, a young son missing or dead, a man on a quest for redemption. Detective Sergeant Solomon Gray is a fine creation and Dig Two Graves an intriguing, nourish mystery. Keith Nixon is a sparkling crime fiction talent." (Howard Linskey, author of the Detective Ian Bradshawcrime series)

©2018, 2019 Keith Edward Nixon (P)2019 Keith Edward Nixon

Critic reviews

"A dark, uncompromising tale of loss, murder, and revenge. Glorious noir, which takes the police procedural elements and gives them new life. I can't wait to read the next step in Solomon Gray's journey for answers...." (Luca Veste, author of the Murphy and Rossi crime series)

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • TG
  • 14-08-19

Good listen

I really enjoyed this audible book. Well developed characters, a bit of corruption, a nice tie up of the story but just enough to keep you wanting more. I listened to this as a stand-alone and now want to read all about Solomon.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story, dreadful narration

Burn the Evidence is the excellent follow up to Dig Two Graves. Alongside the main investigation, Sol is once again searching for his missing son.

This is a solid police procedural which is paced just right, and the ending ensures that I have to read the next in the series. The writing is excellent, and it was nice to see the characters from the first book being developed more.

However I absolutely hated the narration which was stop/start all the way through with the narrator making up his own punctuation. This totally spoiled the book for me and I wish I had just bought the kindle version.


  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another great book in the Solomon Gray series

Took me a while to get into the narration of this book, but as I had enjoyed the first book so much I kept going and was glad I did.
I look forward to book 3, which I will be starting soon.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

definitely recommend

Another great find for me. I only just found the author and series and cant wait to find out more. The case is a new one from the first book so could be read as standalone however think gives more insight into the backstory of Detective Grey. Also the storyline of his son is in the background and ongoing from another cliff hanger ending therefor would still recommend reading in order. The ending has just wanted me to know more and I feel very attached to Solomon Grey. Excellent writing would recommend to anyone who enjoys mystery and crime novels.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great setting, great characters - solid series!

I’ve read and enjoyed the first in the series so was looking forward to try the second on audio - I wasn’t initially very taken with the narration, but as different characters were added to the mix I started to warm to the different flavours the narrator brought to each one and lose myself in the story.
I love the setting, the cast of police officers with their ongoing tensions and the new characters we meet in this instalment - the plotting is solid and there are various strands nicely interweaving - the murder inquiries, the personal relationships and Gray’s missing son in the background.
There are a lot of questions open at the end - but luckily the next one is already available!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable

A really good murder story it starts with a body turning up on the beach then two more wash up and then goes deeper into the local life as 1 of the bodies is a known boy. His family is known as well. Detective Sergeant Solomon Gray Digs & finds out a lot more from the past.
Good solid characters & a good narrator. Enjoyable

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Leaves you wanting more!

This follow up to Dig Two Graves has been eagerly awaited by myself and it didn’t disappoint.
Keith Nixon writes beautifully crafted books, with fully rounded characters. Sol, the main character, is complex, careworn and, it seems, he may be seriously ill. The supporting cast are equally beset by problems.
The story in Burn the Evidence is suitably twisty and turny, but never convoluted. The denouement is satisfyingly surprising, and the final chapter leaves you wanting to read Book 3 immediately!
My only disappointment with this book was the narration. The narrator seemed disinterested and often read with bizarre intonation and added punctuation where they shouldn’t have been any. At times it sounded downright weird!
However, do not let that put you off! This series is fantastic and I can’t wait to find out what’s in store next for DS Gray.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great read

A great read, a fast paced crime thriller with murder, drugs, lies and danger. Solomon Gray is a believable character and one that I shall be following in future - the last chapter has intrigued me sufficiently to want to read the rest of the series. My only slight personal niggle was the narration, the characters were well defined but I found the narration a bit stilted as if there were commas dotted indiscriminately through every sentence. Despite this the great story prevailed.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • anne
  • Andalusia, Spain
  • 15-08-19

And I didn’t realise “who dun it” !

Well for the first time in quite a while I didn’t know who the guilty party was! Well done Keith Nixon. A real cliffhanger! Not to mention that although I received a free copy of Burn The Evidence, I’ll have to buy book three now, for reasons those who have completed this book will understand! That’s no great hardship, as this is a captivating series.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fast paced thriller

What a story. This is another exciting fast paced murder mystery for Solomon Gray after finding one bodies on the beach he knows this is no simple story of immigrants trying to get into Britain especially as one of the bodies has stab wounds and he knows who the dead person is and it means trouble. You won’t be disappointed by this book. My only issue was the narrator had such a relaxing audio voice that I couldn’t listen to this in bed as he kept lulling me to sleep with his really lovely voice.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan M
  • Jan M
  • 13-09-19

Burn the Evidence

Burn the Evidence by Keith Nixon is a great book! There are some unexpected twists in this book and I did not see the ending coming. I love it when an author surprises me. I enjoyed how the author intertwined past and present. This book is labeled as Book 2 and is a solid standalone listen. However, the book ends in a Cliffhanger! Howard J. Davey is a new to me narrator. He has a great voice, but didn't have as much emotions infected in his delivery as I prefer. I requested this review copy audiobook and have voluntarily written this review. I will definitely listen to more by this author and narrator.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mindy H
  • Mindy H
  • 12-09-19

A good solid story

As the second book in the series, it’s a solid stand alone. Engaging characters and an interesting story line keep the reader engrossed. Sol’s case is tied up nicely. I am not big fan of last page cliff hangers, however in this case it’s definitely a lead into the next phase of Sol’s life rather than an “unfinished” thread in the timeline in this story.
I struggled a bit with the narration. I ended up adjusting the speed and then it was smooth sailing!