Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!

Brothers in Blood is the enthralling thirteenth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell.

The Roman Empire's conquest of Britannia is under threat from within. A messenger on the streets of Rome has been intercepted and tortured, revealing a plot to sabotage the Roman army's campaign against Caratacus, commander of Britannia's native tribes. A treacherous agent's mission is to open a second front of attack against them and eliminate the two Roman soldiers who could stand in the way.

Unwarned, Prefect Cato and Centurion Macro are with the Roman army pursuing Caratacus and his men through the mountains of Britannia. Defeating Caratacus seems within their grasp. But the plot against the two heroes threatens not only their military goals but also their lives.

©2014 Simon Scarrow (P)2014 Headline Publishing Group Ltd.

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    257
  • 4 Stars
    55
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    250
  • 4 Stars
    47
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    225
  • 4 Stars
    61
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Scarrow does it again!

Where does Brothers in Blood rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Floating amongst the cream of the crop.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Macro is superb. Earthly and strong character that facilitates constant chuckles with his base analysis of life and people.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

The battle scene with the Catuvellauni of course.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Made me wince, laugh and contemplate ancient Britain all the way through.

Any additional comments?

Well done Simon Scarrow. Can't wait for the next installment...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great novel from start to finish action packed

Where does Brothers in Blood rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

This is one of the best audiobooks I have listened well worth a buy or a credit you'll not regret buying this bad boy.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Brothers in Blood?

Excellent action sequences well described at a fast pace to action and violence

What does Jonathan Keeble bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

The voices he did made the characters seem real

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

When the agent was stabbed in the end thrilling end

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

First audible

My first audible, very impressed with the narrator. Another story from Scarrow that I couldn't put down.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

This is the first time I have listened to this author and couldn't stop. Enjoyed every moment. Narrator one of the best! Can't wait to listen to another!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So far the best in the series

I really enjoyed this book it is by far the best in the series can't wait to listen the last two

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Scarrow does it again

Brothers in Blood follows the story Macro and Cato and delivers laughs, action and at times suspense. I would highly recommend the whole series to anyone who has yet to try them and would say if you have read/listened to the previous books in the series you will not be disappointed!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

"Order the fires to be lit"

Where does Brothers in Blood rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

The entire Eagle series by Simon Scarrow is superb for anyone who enjoys historical fiction set in Roman times. With the friends, Cato and Macro, back in the army in Britannia, this has to rate high in a favourite list.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

No one scene in particular but the visual impression of the misery of constant cold rain and mud underfoot stays with me together with the steadfast courage of men facing impossible odds.

Any additional comments?

The ongoing pleasure of these stories is the relationship between the two unlikely friends as well as the adventures they face together. The historical details of life in the Roman army and the country in which they are based at the time have been well researched and are vividly depicted. Jonathan Keeble's excellent narration breathes extra life into the characters and his pacing exactly matches the story's tempo.
Why only four stars? Entirely personal: although the up-close-and-personal fighting is graphically described with, I'm sure, careful precision, in this particular book I found there was just a tad too much for my taste. But that said, I still thoroughly recommend Brothers in Blood to anyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Classic Cato and Macro

Yet another gripping yarn from Simon Scarrow. Excellent interplay between historical fact and fiction. Story telling was superb although I'm still getting used to the Ray Winstonesque portrayal of Macro. Kept me thoroughly entertained on my 3 mile lunchtime walks.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable narrative

Another excellent story from Simon Scarrow. Enjoyed the narrative. Including the accent changes. The story flowed

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Rule Britannia!

It's all I can do not to completely binge read this series now. This passage of books back in Britannia is simply fabulous. This one gives us some fantastic and imaginatively realised battle scenes, plenty of time with Macro and Cato and in fact we even have Cato doing a fair impression of a Roman Hercule Poirot by the end!

Mr Keeble is of course firmly ensconced behind the microphone so there is no questioning the quality of the delivery.

The challenge is not to race through them now and find myself bereft at the end!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful