Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Would you forgive your child anything?

The murder of a young girl found barefoot in a country park and the re-emergence of shoes from the victims of a serial killer from over 40 years ago. A coincidence or a connection?

Will Blake is determined to find out, but as he unearths the past, questions are raised about the original investigations, and it becomes clear that The Wirral has a killer on the loose, once again.

Victor Hunt, father of Drucilla, the last victim back in the '80s, lies in a hospice, with weeks to live. The truth lies hidden in Hunt’s tangled family tree and the actions of his wayward daughter. Time is against Blake and his fractious team. If they don’t get to the root of past crimes, then innocent blood will flow again.

A Poison Tree is the first thrilling mystery in the Will Blake crime series. A great listen for fans of Luca Veste's DI Murphy and JD Kirk’s Jack Logan series.

Discover A Poison Tree and get involved in this exciting investigative series today.

©2020 Jonathan E. Mayhew (P)2020 Jonathan E. Mayhew

What listeners say about A Poison Tree

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fab Debut narration (OK I'm biased!)

I will fess up from the start. This is my husbands book and yeah I think the story is great. Intriguing characters and a twisting plot that has you guessing to the end. However I really wanted to post a review to congratulate our young narrator on his first audiobook production. Owen Welsh is a fabulous young Liverpool actor who graduated from Liverpool Institute for Performing Arts (LIPA) and landed into a world of closed theatres and cancelled productions :(
However he has looked for opportunities to develop, and invested in the equipment and skills to launch himself into audiobook production. Although we only live on opposite sides of the River Mersey we still haven't actually met, but I have worked closely (remotely), with him to produce this authentic local audio version. I certainly enjoyed producing it and gained appreciation for the skill and versatility of narrators.

DCI Will Blake leads the team and Owen says he based his voice on his dad when he's grumpy (sounds like John Bishop to me !). I strongly recommend you give the audio version a try for an exciting scouse mystery thriller, that manages to keep its sense of humour too..... (but then I would do wouldn't I ? !!).

Books 2 and 3 of the series are under production now.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fab book

A new series to get hooked on. Yes please.
Fab characters & ive a feeling as the books develop they will expand & become addictive.
The story was full on and really interesting. I listened until it ended in 2 days. Rewinding if I was interrupted.
Narrator was great. A nice voice to get lost in.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

More please

This is one of those detective series that I'm going to have on preoreder. I really enjoyed this book and have any follow ups in my tblt list.
The narration brought each carachter to life and it was a great listen.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing story, but am dram panto character voices

This is a fantastic story, plenty of twists and turns to keep you on your toes and great character development, I devoured the whole series on kindle, but the audios are hard going. The narrators own voice isn’t bad, possibly a little strong for a Wirral accent, but ok. It’s the character accents that spoilt it for me, any female over 30 sounded like a pantomime dame and a number of male characters were so broad Scouse, even this scouser couldn’t understand them! Definitely don’t miss the books, but I’d not bother with the audio.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent whodunnit.

Thoroughly enjoyed A Poison Tree.
Plenty of red herrings keep you guessing to the end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Great book and easy to listen to. Very refreshing to have a local accent to tell a local story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Dreadful narrator

Okay. I am a southern lass and sometimes cannot get to grips with a northern accent (and would guess that goes for northerners too) but I really could not cope with Mr Welsh. Was not just the accent but the terrible tones for female characters and the lack of any changes for the male cast that had me heading for the pause button. I think this book might be quite good but needs to be read and not listened to......at least, that's my opinion.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Unsure.

Not really my cup of tea. A lot of characters and took a long time to unfold.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Promising start to a new series

I really enjoyed this first book in the DCI William Blake (genius name!) series set on the Wirral. It is well written with quite a complicated plot with enough twists and turns to keep me interested right till the end.

I liked the character of DCI Blake, who I feel has a very interesting backstory which so far we have only scratched the surface of. Loved Seraphina the cat and hope she features in the rest of the series!

I enjoyed the narration by Owen Welsh. The authentic Wirral/Scouse accent if the narrator helped me immerse myself in the story. Looking forward to the next in the series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Riveting

Great listen. A very clever story portrayed beautifully by the narrator. Great character voices.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Melanie Preston Lewis
  • Melanie Preston Lewis
  • 26-09-20

Great start to a new series

I was excited to start a new series, especially when the detective is named William Blake, a genius idea. Within the first few sentences I was intrigued. The action starts straight away and doesn't let up until the final word. The story is quite complicated with a number of people involved, and a few times I struggled with who was whom and where they fit in. However, that never impacted on my enjoyment of the book, as all the cards in the deck were displayed clearly at the end. We learn that Blake has an interesting back story but we will have to be patient as dark secrets were alluded to but not revealed. Serafina provided us with some light relief so the darkness of the book was never overwhelming. Owen Welsh narrates well although I'm not expert enough to distinguish between different Liverpudlian accents so they all felt spot on to me. An action packed book with credible police officers who I hope I'll have a long relationship with as this series should run and run. Get in at the ground level - I have a feeling this is going to be BIG.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan M
  • Jan M
  • 14-10-20

Awesome Twists

A Poison Tree by J.E. Mayhew pulled me in from the very beginning. I have been enjoying police procedural books and found this one to be captivating. The narrator, Owen Welsh, gave an authentic sounding accent to my ears for the setting. At times I could not clearing hear who was speaking though. The ending was very well done and had a satisfying outcome.