Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Do you really know what the neighbours are up to? 

Hilbre Grove is a quiet cul-de-sac, like many others on the Wirral. But when a couple returns from their holidays to find a mutilated, decomposing body in their bungalow, The Scissor Man’s reign of terror begins. 

With another woman missing, DCI Will Blake is determined to stop the psychopath from killing again. And this case is personal. As bodies pile up, it becomes clear that the killer is fascinated by Blake’s past appearances on Searchlight, a true crime TV programme. To hunt down The Scissor Man, Blake must face up to his painful past, putting his career on the line. But every home has its own dark secrets. Nowhere is safe, and time is running out for Blake and all he holds dear.

Fearful Symmetry is the second exciting Merseyside murder mystery thriller in the DCI Will Blake crime series. This audiobook is a great listen for fans of JD Kirk, LJ Ross, Alex Smith, or Luca Veste.

"Sunk its claws in and had me gripped until the final page." (JD Kirk, author of A Litter of Bones)

Join Will Blake’s investigation, and get involved in this exciting investigative series today. 

©2020 Jonathan Mayhew (P)2020 Jonathan Mayhew

What listeners say about Fearful Symmetry

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unputdownable Thriller

There's nothing quite like a grotesque dead body in chapter one to pull me in, and this ticked that box, when a couple returned from holiday to find one in their home. From then on I was gripped and found it hard to put it down - I had a few very late nights because of it.

DCI Blake is a great main character, clever and good at his job, but with some flaws in his personal life - I wanted to shout at him several times.

Lots of twists and turns and surprises kept me guessing through the book, but even once I'd worked out who Scissor Man was, I was still engrossed and had more surprises to come.

I'm looking forward to reading the other DCI Blake novels.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great audio

So this was a new author and narrator for me and I was not disappointed. This is a grisly and dark crime thriller with a strong cast of characters and I really loved the lead DCI Blake and thought he was a well developed character with very relatable flaws. I will be looking out for more in this series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Poor narration!

Story was not bad but poor narration spoilt it. Very difficult to listen too as the "Liverpool/Scouse" dialect was too broad to understand at times. Please consider that most of the listeners do not live in the Liverpool or Wirral region! This has applied to all the J.E. Mathew books in this series which I have listened to so far.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fearful symetry

My first dci will Blake book it was good I liked it. Narration was great.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good book

Very good book. I live on the Wirral so enjoyed reading about places I know and recognise. The only thing I didn’t enjoy was the pronunciation of Hilbre all the way through the book - should be hill-bree!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

average

very average stories and extremely irritating narration which made an average story ten times worse

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fearful Symmetry

A good listen, easy to follow plot and fairly gripping. I did laugh at the narrators "lady" voices. Overall very enjoyable.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

More ingenious plotting from J.E.Mayhew.

Another good listen with plenty of surprises.
J.E.Mayhew and Will Blake go from strength to strength.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michele B
  • Michele B
  • 16-09-21

This IS an Awful Book

I did not like the plot, there is No character development, the descriptive writing is suitable for middle school, and, more than anything else, the narrator was completely dreadful. I finished it because I’ve had a long series of medical appointments and I was bored. However, I should have quit after the first chapter, as it didn’t get any better.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for EVERWALES
  • EVERWALES
  • 09-08-21

DEFINITELY NOT

No real substance to this one.
I let it run its course on Audible as I ran noisy machines, occasionally tuning in. Heard enough to feel qualified in giving a one star review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stacy Stark
  • Stacy Stark
  • 28-03-21

Wonderful book!

Wonderful mystery that I enjoyed listening to. Author has more books in the series to enjoy. Well done!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 27-03-21

a great story!!

I found this to be a great book from an author I had never read anything by. I actually liked this book so much, I'm going to read the first book in this series. The narrator was great.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SandraL
  • SandraL
  • 17-03-21

This series just gets better!

Will Blake is back and this time he is investigating a strange case where a victim is found murdered in a house where the owners have been away on holiday. He is named The Scissor Man and it appears that he might be fixated on Will.

The book is fast paced, dark and grisly, well crafted and I became so absorbed that I listened in one day! I actually preferred this to the first book in the series. Will Blake is such an interesting character, and in this book we discovered a little more about how his mother went missing, and I think the story will continue in future books in the series. I was pleased to see that Seraphina the cat is still in residence, though I did fear for her safety at one point in the book! Really looking forward to seeing what Book 3 brings :-)

The narration by Owen Welsh was great. I always enjoy listening to a book read by a narrator with an authentic accent for the books location.