Winternight Trilogy

3 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 346 ratings

The Bear and the Nightingale Summary

Random House presents the unabridged downloadable audiobook edition of The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden, read by Kathleen Gati.

A young woman's family is threatened by forces both real and fantastical in this debut novel inspired by Russian fairy tales.

In a village at the edge of the wilderness of Northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, a stranger with piercing blue eyes presents a new father with a gift - a precious jewel on a delicate chain, intended for his young daughter. Uncertain of its meaning, the father hides the gift away, and his daughter, Vasya, grows up a wild, willful girl, to the chagrin of her family. But when mysterious forces threaten the happiness of their village, Vasya discovers that, armed only with the necklace, she may be the only one who can keep the darkness at bay.

Atmospheric and enchanting, with an engrossing adventure at its core, The Bear and the Nightingale is perfect for fans of Naomi Novik's Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus and Neil Gaiman.

©2017 Katherine Arden (P)2017 Random House AudioBooks
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • The Bear and the Nightingale

    • Winternight, Book 1
    • By: Katherine Arden
    • Narrated by: Kathleen Gati
    • Length: 11 hrs and 48 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 253
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 234
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 233

    In a village at the edge of the wilderness of Northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, a stranger with piercing blue eyes presents a new father with a gift - a precious jewel on a delicate chain, intended for his young daughter. Uncertain of its meaning, the father hides the gift away, and his daughter, Vasya, grows up a wild, willful girl, to the chagrin of her family. But when mysterious forces threaten the happiness of their village, Vasya discovers that she may be the only one who can keep the darkness at bay.

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Shades of good and bored

    • By S on 19-03-17

    Regular price: £21.99

  • Book 2

    • The Girl in the Tower

    • Winternight, Book 2
    • By: Katherine Arden
    • Narrated by: Kathleen Gati
    • Length: 13 hrs and 2 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 93
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 82
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 83

    Random House presents the audiobook edition of The Girl in the Tower by Katherine Arden, read by Kathleen Gati. For a young woman in medieval Russia, the choices are stark: marriage or a life in a convent. Vasya will choose a third way: magic.... The court of the Grand Prince of Moscow is plagued by power struggles and rumours of unrest. Meanwhile, bandits roam the countryside, burning the villages and kidnapping its daughters.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • good sequel

    • By Anonymous User on 03-07-18

    Regular price: £23.99

  • Book 3

    • The Winter of the Witch

    • By: Katherine Arden
    • Narrated by: Kathleen Gati
    • Length: Not Yet Known
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    Moscow is in flames, leaving its people searching for answers - and someone to blame. Vasilisa, a girl with extraordinary gifts, must flee for her life, pursued by those who blame their misfortune on her magic. Then a vengeful demon returns, stronger than ever. Determined to engulf the world in chaos, he finds allies among men and spirits. Mankind and magical creatures alike find their fates resting on Vasya's shoulders. But she may not be able to save them all.

    Regular price: £23.99