Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Winterman cover art

Winterman

By: Alex Walters
Narrated by: Frazer Blaxland
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically.

Buy Now for £11.18

Buy Now for £11.18

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Late Checkout cover art
The Flood cover art
A Long Time Dead cover art
The Huntsmen cover art
A Bad Bad Thing cover art
Murder on Sea cover art
See No Evil cover art
Dead North cover art
Detective Sebastian Clifford, Books 1-3 cover art
The Fallen cover art
A Litter of Bones: A Scottish Crime Thriller cover art
The Dead of Midwinter cover art
Secrets in Blood cover art
Last Gasp cover art
Devil's Kitchen cover art
A Killer in King’s Cove cover art

Summary

Alex Walters is the best-selling and critically acclaimed author of the DI Alec McKay series. Winterman is a gripping serial killer thriller which will appeal to fans of Stuart Macbride and Mark Edwards.

DI Ivan Winterman is a man with a troubled past. The Blitz has left his young son dead and his wife seriously injured. He has made enemies in high places, and, with his career going nowhere, he returns to his home town in East Anglia, seeking to rebuild his life in a country gripped by postwar austerity. As the snow begins to fall, a drunken ex-clergyman stumbles on the semi-mummified body of a small child concealed in a ruined cottage. Days later, a second child's body is found in a Fenland dyke. Winterman, supported by a small team of assorted misfits, finds himself uncovering a web of secrets in the small rural community. When a further murder victim is discovered, Winterman discovers that the secrets are darker and the threat far more immediate than he'd ever envisaged.

©2019 Alex Walters (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

What listeners say about Winterman

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    101
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    94
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    8
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    98
  • 4 Stars
    63
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Interesting and a bit different

Enjoyed the story and the characters. Wasn’t keen on narrator as he kept pronouncing some words in a weird way, but it didn’t distract too much.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Only made it to chapter 17

Sorry, far too wordy for me with not much happening so gave up at chapter 17.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful conjuring of the 1940s

I hope there will be more books with DI Winterman, and with the same narrator as his voice is now him.

The characters were well fleshed out and I was left wanting to know what happens to them next. The story had an unusual element to it that kept my interest to the end.

Now then....what to read next...?

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story with sympathetic narration

Enjoyed the setting, the characterisation and the slow development of the storyline in a richly described location.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Terrible narration - extremely irritating!!

Liked the story but the narration - with so many mispronunciation and strange pauses in sentences - was appalling. How did this get past the ‘proof listen’?

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A mixed bag!

Whilst the story itself was not the best I've read, it wasn't bad by any means. However, it could have been elevated beyond the ordinary with a better narrator. There were times when the narration was downright irritating, a lot of everyday words completely mis-pronounced, as if English was not the narrator's first language. Also, there were times when Frazer 'swallowed' whole groups of words, as if he couldn't wait to get them read out. Some of this has to be down to the editing, 'what editing?', I hear myself ask.

I would probably listen to another story by the author but definitely not another by this narrator!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Atmospheric and evocative story

A good, atmospheric, historical crime novel - but incredibly odd mispronounced words by the narrator. Not sure how they got past editors as they really jar you out of the story.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this book and the setting of it just after the war

Loved the story and setting of this book just after WW2, it’s a time I didn’t feel very familiar with. Great story and characters.

The narrator has a nice voice, but can’t pronounce some very common words. I don’t get why there’s not someone in the studio with the voice actors saying, er no, you pronounce “amiable” like this…

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unusual Plot Line

Enjoyable and interesting plot line, set against the backdrop of early post war England. Good characters too. Only criticism is the narrator’s odd pronunciation of some words; surprised they got past the edit. Otherwise, recommended.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Half way through

It’s beginning to be intriguing, and it’s pretty well read, but there are some extraordinary mispronunciations, which is slightly irritating.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful