Listen free for 30 days

Winterman

Narrated by: Frazer Blaxland
Length: 11 hrs and 57 mins
4 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Alex Walters is the best-selling and critically acclaimed author of the DI Alec McKay series. Winterman is a gripping serial killer thriller which will appeal to fans of Stuart Macbride and Mark Edwards.

DI Ivan Winterman is a man with a troubled past. The Blitz has left his young son dead and his wife seriously injured. He has made enemies in high places, and, with his career going nowhere, he returns to his home town in East Anglia, seeking to rebuild his life in a country gripped by postwar austerity. As the snow begins to fall, a drunken ex-clergyman stumbles on the semi-mummified body of a small child concealed in a ruined cottage. Days later, a second child's body is found in a Fenland dyke. Winterman, supported by a small team of assorted misfits, finds himself uncovering a web of secrets in the small rural community. When a further murder victim is discovered, Winterman discovers that the secrets are darker and the threat far more immediate than he'd ever envisaged.

©2019 Alex Walters (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0