Listen free for 30 days

Wickham Hall

Narrated by: Colleen Prendergast
Length: 14 hrs and 23 mins
Categories: Fiction, Sagas
4.5 out of 5 stars (218 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Best seller Wickham Hall was originally published as a four-part serial. This is the complete story in one package.

Holly Swift has just landed the job of her dreams: events coordinator at Wickham Hall, the beautiful manor home that sits proudly at the heart of the village where she grew up. Not only does she get to organise for a living and work in stunning surroundings, but it will also put a bit of distance between Holly and her problems at home.

As Holly falls in love with the busy world of Wickham Hall - from family weddings to summer festivals, firework displays and Christmas grottos - she also finds a place in her heart for her friendly (if unusual) colleagues.

But life isn't as easily organised as an event at Wickham Hall (and even those have their complications). Can Holly learn to let go and live in the moment? After all, that's when the magic happens....

A charming and romantic story certain to make you smile - perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Trisha Ashley and Katie Fforde.

©2016 Cathy Bramley (P)2016 Random House AudioBooks

Critic reviews

"Engaging characters, a stately home and a sweeping romance. This is delightful!" (Katie Fforde)
"Delightfully warm with plenty of twists and turns." (Trisha Ashley)
"A witty, laugh-out-loud romantic comedy." (Miranda Dickinson)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    136
  • 4 Stars
    57
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    130
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    124
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Sweet & enjoyable

A nice heartwarming story, easy to enjoy. The characters are lovable and and the story is simple and nice.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story to lose yourself in

Thoroughly enjoyed this story. Really warmed to the characters and enjoyed the detail. Would recommend.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely

Really enjoyed this book and didn't want it to end. Loved all the characters and the story.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Bores the life out of me...dont waste ur credit!

What about Colleen Prendergast’s performance did you like?

Love colleen prendergast. Not her fault story was as sickly as it was....

Any additional comments?

Yes i want my hours back and my credit!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

First Audio book I haven't finished

The story was nice enough, but that's all it was, nice. If you're after an easy, light, doesn't matter if you nod off for a bit listening on the beach book then this is for you.
I couldn't bring myself to listen through the last 6 hours, I just didn't care if she found out who her dad was or not. (That's not a spoiler - it's set up in the first chapter or so).
The performance was very well done through and I would listen to more by this narrator.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well done Wickham

I have thoroughly enjoyed hearing about Holly Swift’s adventures. Loved hearing the description of the parkland in the grounds and all of the characters. Cathy has created a lovely feel good story xxx

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Nice, wee romance

The heroine has always loved Wickham Hall, since visiting and spending happy days of her childhood there. When a job comes up as an events organiser she is in her element; and the addition of the good-looking son-in-heir in the office is the icing on the cake.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

I loved this book kept me hooked all the way through
Can’t wait for the next one. Cathy Bramley is just brilliant and Colleen reads the story well

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

gentle listen

Easy to listen to which was why I bought it. Fairly predictable story but some interesting ups and downs. I found the tinge of a Midlands accent in the 1st person a little irritating which was a shame as I usually like Colleen Prendergasts voice. It was appropriate for some of the characters though.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another wonderful story from Cathy Bramley

This is another typical tale from Cathy’s feel good world. You know it will all end up with a HEA.
But it’s how all the wonderful characters get there and what happens in between that counts.
Good narration by Collen Prendergast ...as usual