Listen free for 30 days

When the Eagle Hunts

Eagles of the Empire, Book 3
Narrated by: David Thorpe
Series: Eagles of the Empire, Book 3
Length: 12 hrs and 3 mins
4.7 out of 5 stars (682 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!

When the Eagle Hunts is the compelling third novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. For fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

Britannia, AD 44. Cato, a thoughtful junior officer in the Roman army, and his commanding centurion, Macro, are simply pawns in Rome's lust to conquer Britain. During the freezing winter, the two men and their legion fight the native savages in hand-to-hand battles that haunt Cato for days after. But in a place full of enemies, the most vicious are the Druids of the Dark Moon; brutal, merciless men who have captured the wife and children of General Plautius himself. So Macro and Cato are given a mission: to travel deep into enemy territory and recover the hostages. If they fail, the fate of the Roman army may just hang in the balance....

©2002 Simon Scarrow (P)2013 Headline Publishing Group Ltd.

What listeners say about When the Eagle Hunts

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    530
  • 4 Stars
    125
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    490
  • 4 Stars
    112
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    464
  • 4 Stars
    130
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WOnderful to have the Series Whole!

For a long time this review read "And here I'm stuck" as Audible was missing the next two books in the series. They have remedied the situation now meaning that anyone lucky enough to have not read this excellent series can now read straight through without interruption. Bravo Audible! This is a fine series, Macro and Cato make a great pair and Simon Scarrow's excellent historical detail and fine story-telling coupled with David Thorpe's narration make an excellent set of ingredients and produce fine military history fiction. If you like the first two then you'll like this one!

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love it

I absolutely adore this book and the eagle series as a whole. It's a complete tragedy they aren't all available through audible

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An enthralling yarn

This is a very enjoyable story, particularly through its second listen. Well narrated by a reader who pitches the different characters well. My only criticism is that for me the reader’s mispronunciation of Cato’s name can be annoying, but overall, David Thorpe is an accomplished reader who brought the story to life.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Pronunciation

The pronunciation of Cato will drive you mad if you allow it to, most annoying...

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

battl story

the reader's performance is excellent. The story is too bloody for my taste. historical background deals mainly witj the Roman army and lille on the cultic opponents organisation

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Like fantasy book but in historical times.

Great to listen. Very addictive especially for somebody who love Roman history. Fantastic characters of Macro and Kato. Lots of historical details and facts. Book not only entertain but also teach history.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing adventures with Macro and Cato

Easily one of my favourite books in the series, gives you a great swelling of pride at the end!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

3rd Book in the Eagle series.

If you have made it this far then surely you are already hooked on the story of Makro and Cato and no doubt you will be looking forward to diving in to the next instalment.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

great story

this is the 3rd story in the series i have listened to and i am really enjoying them. actors have grown on me. story has really developed

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Bloody brilliant!

Can't recommend this book highly enough loved every minute thanks to the writer and the narrater.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jean
  • Jean
  • 01-03-16

Lots of Action

This is the third book in the series. Audible did not have book two available. The year is 44 AD during the Roman invasion of Britain. This is a historical military novel about two soldiers Macro and Cato of the Roman Second Legion.

A sudden storm strikes the Roman fleet bringing food, supplies, reinforcements and the wife, Lady Pomponia, and children of commanding General Plautus. The lead ship with Lady Pomponia aboard is driven off course before crashing against the rocks while attempting to beach the ship. The family is captured by the Druids. The Druids are attempting to exchange the General’s family for a number of captured Druids. Macro and Cato are sent to free the General’s family.

The book is well written and the plot is strong. Scarrow has some dramatic battle scenes along with lots of action. A major battle is fought at Camulodunum or what is modern day Colchester. The author also provides insight into the soldier’s life in the Roman Legion. Scarrow also provides some information about Celtic culture and religion as well as information about the Druids. I am not an expert about this time frame in history so cannot say how accurate Scarrow is in the historical information. I did note two items, first, he said the ships had slave chained to the oars. I know this is inaccurate as the Roman’s only had free men on the oars of ships. The second item he gives the impression the Druids are a tribe and the Celts are a tribe. It is my understanding that the Druids were the educated class of the Celtic peoples not a separate tribe of people. The book is easy to read and is a real page turner. David Thorpe does an excellent job narrating the book.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Netman
  • Netman
  • 08-02-18

Great narration, great book.

I wasn't so keen on the author when i started the series of books but he's grown on my and class him as one of my favourite narrators. I was sad to find he's not doing the subsequent books, so I doubt I will continue the series on Audible. The story itself is great though, so maybe i'll just buy the hardcopy.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Colin Quinlan
  • Colin Quinlan
  • 07-02-18

worth the time

i read the books. so, i already was familiar with the writing. the narrator was a pleasant surprise. I thought he was truly more than one person his voice characters were so distinct. top notch narrator. buy the book for him even if Roman soldiers isn't your thing.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for keith
  • keith
  • 22-01-16

Nice historical fiction

Great reader
Consistent characters
Who are likable
Would recommend
Similar to Bernard Cornwall
With plenty of shield wall and squares
To fight in

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brayden DeWitt
  • Brayden DeWitt
  • 21-08-20

A good story made excelllent.

I’ve listened to many books on audible and heard innumerable narrators but David Thorpe takes the cake. Simon Scarrow’s series is an enjoyable and well made compilation of competently composed novels (too much alliteration?). One I’ve read many times over in hard copy. But listening to David Thorpe’s interpretation has given me a new respect for the books he brings to life with such expertise. To call him a mere narrator would be a slight to the skill he possesses. This is a man who demonstrates some of the greatest skills of the voice acting industry.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 16-08-19

recommend

good book, the first two are better, worth the read if you enjoyed the first two.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-12-18

Excellent

An excellent work. A novel with historical accuracy; as far as Roman adventures go.i just finished the book and I’m about to start it again.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for A. Birtcher
  • A. Birtcher
  • 26-12-17

Caeser ?

To heck with Caesar, all hail Macro and Cato !! Another great performance of another great book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Erik
  • Erik
  • 12-04-14

Still entertaining!

The story line for this 3rd novel isn’t quite up to par with the previous two, but is still good. Simon Scarrow’s narration continues to greatly add to the audio version, and I certainly hope they don’t change narrators for follow on books.

If you haven’t been introduced to this series, I might want to start with the first book. If you’ve finished books one and two, and are considering the third book, I recommend you do so.