Regular price: £14.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!

When the Eagle Hunts is the compelling third novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. For fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

Britannia, AD 44. Cato, a thoughtful junior officer in the Roman army, and his commanding centurion, Macro, are simply pawns in Rome's lust to conquer Britain. During the freezing winter, the two men and their legion fight the native savages in hand-to-hand battles that haunt Cato for days after. But in a place full of enemies, the most vicious are the Druids of the Dark Moon; brutal, merciless men who have captured the wife and children of General Plautius himself. So Macro and Cato are given a mission: to travel deep into enemy territory and recover the hostages. If they fail, the fate of the Roman army may just hang in the balance....

©2002 Simon Scarrow (P)2013 Headline Publishing Group Ltd.

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    341
  • 4 Stars
    96
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    319
  • 4 Stars
    86
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    302
  • 4 Stars
    98
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WOnderful to have the Series Whole!

For a long time this review read "And here I'm stuck" as Audible was missing the next two books in the series. They have remedied the situation now meaning that anyone lucky enough to have not read this excellent series can now read straight through without interruption. Bravo Audible!

This is a fine series, Macro and Cato make a great pair and Simon Scarrow's excellent historical detail and fine story-telling coupled with David Thorpe's narration make an excellent set of ingredients and produce fine military history fiction. If you like the first two then you'll like this one!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love it

I absolutely adore this book and the eagle series as a whole. It's a complete tragedy they aren't all available through audible

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

great story

this is the 3rd story in the series i have listened to and i am really enjoying them.

actors have grown on me.

story has really developed

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Bloody brilliant!

Can't recommend this book highly enough loved every minute thanks to the writer and the narrater.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another excellent book

Scarrow's writing evokes lots of feeling towards the charaters. This book is another success and I look forward to 'reading' the next one

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love it but....

Well read, caught and grabbed my attention and the pace was perfect BUT he's pronounced Kay=Toe not Car...
Didn't really stop my enjoyment though

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story. Good narrator.

Another great adventure for Macro and Cato. Well written. I love these characters. Edge of your seat listening.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous

I just love this series of books! I can’t wait to download book 4 and tune in to more in the life of these two characters!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

I found myself immersed in this story from the start. Very well written. Good continuation of the stories previously written.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great tale

Would you listen to When the Eagle Hunts again? Why?

Great follow up to the first 2 books in the series.Can't wait for the next one.

What other book might you compare When the Eagle Hunts to, and why?

I try not to compare. I take each book on its own merits.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

Storming the Hill Fort.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

No

Any additional comments?

Would recommend to anyone.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Jean
  • 01-03-16

Lots of Action

This is the third book in the series. Audible did not have book two available. The year is 44 AD during the Roman invasion of Britain. This is a historical military novel about two soldiers Macro and Cato of the Roman Second Legion.

A sudden storm strikes the Roman fleet bringing food, supplies, reinforcements and the wife, Lady Pomponia, and children of commanding General Plautus. The lead ship with Lady Pomponia aboard is driven off course before crashing against the rocks while attempting to beach the ship. The family is captured by the Druids. The Druids are attempting to exchange the General’s family for a number of captured Druids. Macro and Cato are sent to free the General’s family.

The book is well written and the plot is strong. Scarrow has some dramatic battle scenes along with lots of action. A major battle is fought at Camulodunum or what is modern day Colchester. The author also provides insight into the soldier’s life in the Roman Legion. Scarrow also provides some information about Celtic culture and religion as well as information about the Druids. I am not an expert about this time frame in history so cannot say how accurate Scarrow is in the historical information. I did note two items, first, he said the ships had slave chained to the oars. I know this is inaccurate as the Roman’s only had free men on the oars of ships. The second item he gives the impression the Druids are a tribe and the Celts are a tribe. It is my understanding that the Druids were the educated class of the Celtic peoples not a separate tribe of people. The book is easy to read and is a real page turner. David Thorpe does an excellent job narrating the book.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Netman
  • 08-02-18

Great narration, great book.

I wasn't so keen on the author when i started the series of books but he's grown on my and class him as one of my favourite narrators. I was sad to find he's not doing the subsequent books, so I doubt I will continue the series on Audible. The story itself is great though, so maybe i'll just buy the hardcopy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Colin Quinlan
  • 07-02-18

worth the time

i read the books. so, i already was familiar with the writing. the narrator was a pleasant surprise. I thought he was truly more than one person his voice characters were so distinct. top notch narrator. buy the book for him even if Roman soldiers isn't your thing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • A. Birtcher
  • 26-12-17

Caeser ?

To heck with Caesar, all hail Macro and Cato !! Another great performance of another great book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • keith
  • 22-01-16

Nice historical fiction

Great reader
Consistent characters
Who are likable
Would recommend
Similar to Bernard Cornwall
With plenty of shield wall and squares
To fight in

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Erik
  • 12-04-14

Still entertaining!

The story line for this 3rd novel isn’t quite up to par with the previous two, but is still good. Simon Scarrow’s narration continues to greatly add to the audio version, and I certainly hope they don’t change narrators for follow on books.

If you haven’t been introduced to this series, I might want to start with the first book. If you’ve finished books one and two, and are considering the third book, I recommend you do so.