Listen free for 30 days

When Wishes Bleed

When Wishes Bleed, Book 1
Narrated by: Aleksi Graves
Series: When Wishes Bleed, Book 1
Length: 13 hrs and 8 mins
5.0 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

One prince. One witch. One fate.

The upheaval in my life began the moment a prince stumbled into my house and asked me to read his fortune. Any other night, I might have made an excuse to get him to leave, but this was no normal visit. My fingers prickled to touch him. So, I granted his request by handing him a single wishbone. When he snapped it, the wish...bled.

Hearing me suck in a shocked breath, he asked what it meant. Such an ominous omen could only mean one thing: His death was imminent. Fate revealed that he wouldn’t die of natural causes. Someone wanted him dead. Stunned by the revelation, the man I now knew as Prince Tauren disappeared into a night I feared he wouldn’t survive.

The following day, I received an invitation to the castle. While it seemed the prince believed I could intervene and uncover who was plotting his death, his motives didn’t stop there. I was being summoned to join 12 other women in vying for the opportunity to be his wife and future queen. Going could mean jeopardizing my plans to reclaim my heritage and resurrect the House of Fate. But staying would guarantee Tauren’s death, and the blood of his wish would be on my hands.

When Wishes Bleed is a young adult fantasy romance perfect for fans of Adrienne Young, Cora Carmack, and Kiera Cass.

Praise for When Wishes Bleed:

"The Selection meets The Hunger Games in this MUST read!" (Tara Brown, international best-selling author)

"Witchy, witty, and wildly addictive. Bond’s twist on Fate is imaginative and fun. Cinderella meets the Hunger Games in this magical tale of family, tradition, and deception." (Tish Thawer, best-selling author of The Witches of BlackBrook series)

"Spell-binding and delicious, with magic that’s absolutely magnetizing. An unforgettable story with breakneck pace, enchanting characters and a dynamic plot. A real page-turner!" (Misty Provencher, author of the Cornerstone series)

"Casey crafted an intricate magical tale into a masterpiece. Be ready to be enthralled." (Mary Ting, international best-selling, award-winning author)

"A magically phenomenal tale with a bewitching modern spin." (Brittany Hively of Books Babble)

©2019 Casey L. Bond (P)2020 Casey L. Bond

What listeners say about When Wishes Bleed

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Judy Meyers
  • Judy Meyers
  • 27-06-20

review

story line good..narrator not so good. all her male characters had the same weak voice. they sounded like old men instead of young men

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Steph
  • Steph
  • 28-08-20

Aweful Narrator

The story was great. The only thing that ruined it was the terrible narrator. All of the male voices sounded grating and the exact same. Also because she can not really do male voices she would talk very slowly whenever doing a male voice. That is not even the worst part. The narrator can not pronounce the letter “g”. This means that she pronounces hanging as “Han’in’”. This makes it very confusing to understand what she is trying to say.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kortney B
  • Kortney B
  • 11-06-20

Good book

This is a good book. The narrator has a pleasant voice, but all the men she portrays aren’t. They all sound raspy as if they have smoked for 20 years. I finished the book in a day and have it on a 2.3 speed. With this adjustment it was still almost intolerable to listen to. Other than this it is a good book. I recommend you listen to the sample and decide for yourself if you would enjoy it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 08-10-20

Good story but no on the narrator

The story is good but I am struggling so bad too get through it that I'm writing a review half way through the book. I don't even know how to describe what she is doing. Everyone except Sabel, her seamstress friend, a female Dr., and a few others sounds like a decrepit old, old, person with some sort of throat sickness. Male or female you can't tell a difference. To the point I'll never pay to listen to another book she's done, which is a shame, she's got a nice voice normally.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kelli
  • Kelli
  • 06-09-20

Starts slow, but so worth the wait!

The first chapter made me thinking I had made a mistake and wouldn’t be able to get into this book, but by the 3rd chapter it picked up tremendously and I was hooked! The author uses such creativity and imagination in telling this story. I didn’t love the narrator’s voice when she was protesting other characters, but I was able to ignore that and enjoy the story! I will definitely be reading the next book!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 22-10-20

Good but predictable

I liked the book, although it was pretty predictable. Also the narrator doesn’t pronounce G’s which is no big deal but I wasn’t sure what was going on for the first few chapters as far as pronunciation like if it was written that way or it was the reader. Once I figured it out it was no big deal. I would listen to the sequel.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for K&A Zahn
  • K&A Zahn
  • 27-08-20

I just loved it...

Nothing gets to me, like a well written creative story. Well done to the author, I can’t wait to read more of your work.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ashlyn Almon
  • Ashlyn Almon
  • 23-08-20

THE MALE VOICES

The narrator's male voices not only all sound the same but also sound like they first picked up smoking in the womb. It was hard to picture the prince as anything other than a 105 year old man. Story was good though even if quite cliche.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Trista
  • Trista
  • 16-08-20

Blandsville

This book has a great concept, but falls short. Plot is predictable and one dimensional. If you are looking for a book with many layers of conflict and good character depth, find a different book. This story would have been great if... 1. There was a back story about Fate and Sable's mother/grandmother. 2. Developed Characters better. All you really learn about Tauren is that he cares about Sable.. that's it. 3. The complete missed opportunity of Leah and Knox's secret/not secret affair. 4. Throughout the story Sable is worried that people will not accept her since she is a witch yet everyone accepts her without question. Another missed opportunity to create depth to the characters and the story line. Narrator was boring and mispronounced simple words. King was "keen" Kingdom was "keendom" quickly pronounced as "quicklay." It was really, really annoying.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Maria B
  • Maria B
  • 04-08-20

Awful performance of male characters by the narrator

The story is pretty good, it starts a bit slow, but gets much better after an hour of listening Regarding the narration, I’ve heard more than 100 books, and by far this one is on the top 5 worst performances of male charachters. Even after so many hours of listening it’s pretty hard to get used to it, I constantly had to be guessing the emotional state of the male charachters. They sounded all the same, like old sick people. If the next book in the series has the same narrator I’d rather not read it. Regarding the story there are some very explicit and accurate reviews about the book from other people for you guys to check out and decide if you’ll like it. :)