Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Marissa lives alone in her tiny one-bed apartment. It’s quiet and safe; all she’s ever wanted since the night her mother was killed in front of her. But when the police knock on her door with the news that her last remaining family member has been murdered, she comes face-to-face with the trauma she has spent a lifetime running from.

A witness saw her car outside his house that day, but Marissa knows she’s innocent. She hasn’t seen her uncle in years and remembers going to bed in her own home that night. But she’s had blackouts before and can’t always trust her memory.

Days later, Marissa’s neighbor is found dead in his home with stab wounds all over his body, exactly like her uncle. It was no secret that Marissa didn’t get on with her neighbor, but she’d never want to see him hurt. How can she convince the police that she isn’t a killer? And as the secrets from her past take hold of her present, is there anyone in her small world she can trust?

You’ll think you know where to draw the line between innocence and guilt. But blame is a dangerous thing, and nothing is ever what it seems....

Perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor, Teresa Driscoll, and Lisa Jewell, What She Did is a dark and twisty crime thriller that will keep you up all night!

©2021 Carla Kovach (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about What She Did

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

thrilling and gripping

Marissa witnesses a murder as a child and is emotionally disturbed. when a neighbour moves in next door things start to happen , did she murder her neighbour or didnt she. I really dont want to give much away.
Carla Kovak does it again very talented writer from the DI Gina Harte books. Carla's writing leaves you totally gripped that you cant stop listening to until the end. well done

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars

Unfortunately i had to turn off

Im sure this story is great just couldnt stand to listen anymore as narrator's voice.
It was so wooden and felt awkward and annoying
shame as story sounds good.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Awful narration

I couldn’t listen to this the narration was awful. I couldn’t make sense of the story because of how she read it!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Well written

Well written and not too easy to guess. The main character has had a pretty raw deal. Literally everyone around her is a nightmare or a creep. Not plausible really but a good listen!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for dianne
  • dianne
  • 14-10-21

loved it

very very interesting, very sitting on the edge of my seat kind of reading.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 18-11-21

Unimpressed. Overall boring and yet listened to th

Based on the reviews, I was looking forward to listening. I was quickly disappointed. The Author wanted a Gone Girl or Girl on the Train, but tried way too hard. I figured out the "who dunnit" as soon as it introduced itself. I kept hoping I was wrong and when a crumb of doubt was thrown in I was like "yay". Regrettably, it was just that and all served to be the plot "twist".... Which yes, you also figure out when a new crumb is thrown. Getting to those moments is like listening to paint dry. Author tried. She really did. Just didn't have the It or Wow factor. Sorry to be a Debbie Downer. Maybe it reads better.

The narrator was fine. Seemed to capture each character well.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Milica
  • Milica
  • 16-04-22

Not great and forgettable

It took me a while to try and write this review. The story was not very memorable for me and I found myself not quite sure what to write. I felt the book built up well, but didn't really excite me and I can't say that I would recommend it. I generally enjoy this author, not too sure what happened with this one.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for HailtoTheVictors
  • HailtoTheVictors
  • 27-11-21

Awful narrator.

The narrator is so. Vey. DRAMATIC! Give me a break. So completely took me out of the story. Not sure if the narrator was trying to make up for the lack of an interesting story but that’s sure what it seemed and to me that’s what it was. Wish I could get my credit back.