Try an audiobook on us

Vox

Narrated by: Laurence Bouvard
Length: 10 hrs and 10 mins
4 out of 5 stars (140 ratings)
Regular price: £12.99
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Silence can be deafening.

Jean McClellan spends her time in almost complete silence, limited to just 100 words a day. Any more, and a thousand volts of electricity will course through her veins.

Now the new government is in power, everything has changed. But only if you’re a woman.

Almost overnight, bank accounts are frozen, passports are taken away and 70 million women lose their jobs. Even more terrifyingly, young girls are no longer taught to read or write.

For herself, for her daughter and for every woman silenced, Jean will reclaim her voice. This is only the beginning....

Perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale. Don’t miss the thrilling debut that everyone is talking about!

©2018 Christina Dalcher (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

"A petrifying re-imagining of The Handmaid's Tale in the present, and a timely reminder of the power and importance of language." (Marta Bausells, Elle)

"This book will blow your mind." (Nina Pottell, Prima

"Intelligent, suspenseful, provocative, and intensely disturbing - everything a great novel should be." (Lee Child) 

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    62
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    5

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    68
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    7
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

This ain't no Handmaid's Tale

I really wanted to love this book - I'd read lots of reviews and eagerly waited for the audiobook release. Sadly, while not actually dreadful it is clear this is a first book.

The plotting is derivative and clearly flagged. If you can't see where it's going then you've not read anything in this genre before and might benefit from going straight to the Handmaid's Tale and the Power, both of which have deeper characterisation and more twists.

It's enjoyable enough, but a slight tale that doesn't really develop the main themes and has few surprises.

That said, the writing is workmanlike enough and this writer may be one to watch as more books develop her style

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ and Naomi Alderman’s ‘The Power’ are among my all time favourite books, so I was so excited to get into this book. A fascinating concept, but hugely under-explored and honestly pretty poorly written. I was barely invested in, nor believed, any of the characters, and struggled to remember what half of the convoluted plot lines even were. Lost interest after the first few chapters but made myself listen to the end. It didn’t get any better, and descended into a sci-fi thriller with an all-too-convenient ending. Overall pretty disappointing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

This book ended up being terrible! About half way through the author decided to toss a bunch of different plot points in that never get tied up. They also tried to ratchet up the drama every ten minutes in the last hour but it was so scattered and actually made the main character seem like an idiot

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Food for thought

A great story, very thought provoking. Felt very rushed towards the end but really enjoyed this book

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

A truly unpleasant book

I found this book to be really unpleasant in all aspects. It certainly is no Handmaids Tale. The story never really goes anywhere and there is no tension in the unfolding of events. This book could have achieved so much more, that is the reason I kept listening hoping it would start to explore some of the concepts at the heart of the narrative. Essentially it skimmed over what could have been interesting plot lines and became a rather dull love story, I could not even like any of the characters. I hated the animal cruelty at the end and felt this had no purpose what so ever it added nothing at all to the final build up. I also found the narrator very irritating with a range of rather silly men's voices and a weird lapse into Italian. In summary I would not recommend this book and would probably never read another by the same author.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Trashy thriller jumping on feminist bandwagon...

Were I Margaret Atwood I’d be calling my attorney. There’s no copyright infringement going on with Vox, but it is a criminally poor rehash of a genuine work of genius. What starts out as a Stepford Wives for the #metoo generation quickly devolves into a badly written, absurdly plotted beach read. Do yourself a favour and buy Naiomi Alderman’s The Power instead. It has way more substance, a genuine feminist POV and actually says something... unlike this utter drivel.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It's no Atwood

Predictable, cliche and cheesy. A real shame as the concept was so interesting. Passed time

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Listened to it all

I did enjoy this book, and listened to it all, unlike some.
I found it ran out of steam a bit in the middle, but I had to know how it ended.
I felt it was a bit predictable, but overall enjoyable.
Thank you.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The best thing I've read in a LONG TIME!!

This is a must listen. I felt like Michelle was telling me the stories in person.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Cheesy but “fun”

This wasn’t particularly erudite but I enjoyed it, I guess you could call it feminist pulp fiction :)