Try an audiobook on us

Vox

Narrated by: Laurence Bouvard
Length: 10 hrs and 10 mins
4 out of 5 stars (47 ratings)
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Silence can be deafening.

Jean McClellan spends her time in almost complete silence, limited to just 100 words a day. Any more, and a thousand volts of electricity will course through her veins.

Now the new government is in power, everything has changed. But only if you’re a woman.

Almost overnight, bank accounts are frozen, passports are taken away and 70 million women lose their jobs. Even more terrifyingly, young girls are no longer taught to read or write.

For herself, for her daughter and for every woman silenced, Jean will reclaim her voice. This is only the beginning....

Perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale. Don’t miss the thrilling debut that everyone is talking about!

©2018 Christina Dalcher (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

"A petrifying re-imagining of The Handmaid's Tale in the present, and a timely reminder of the power and importance of language." (Marta Bausells, Elle)

"This book will blow your mind." (Nina Pottell, Prima

"Intelligent, suspenseful, provocative, and intensely disturbing - everything a great novel should be." (Lee Child) 

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

This ain't no Handmaid's Tale

I really wanted to love this book - I'd read lots of reviews and eagerly waited for the audiobook release. Sadly, while not actually dreadful it is clear this is a first book.

The plotting is derivative and clearly flagged. If you can't see where it's going then you've not read anything in this genre before and might benefit from going straight to the Handmaid's Tale and the Power, both of which have deeper characterisation and more twists.

It's enjoyable enough, but a slight tale that doesn't really develop the main themes and has few surprises.

That said, the writing is workmanlike enough and this writer may be one to watch as more books develop her style

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Food for thought

A great story, very thought provoking. Felt very rushed towards the end but really enjoyed this book

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Trashy thriller jumping on feminist bandwagon...

Were I Margaret Atwood I’d be calling my attorney. There’s no copyright infringement going on with Vox, but it is a criminally poor rehash of a genuine work of genius. What starts out as a Stepford Wives for the #metoo generation quickly devolves into a badly written, absurdly plotted beach read. Do yourself a favour and buy Naiomi Alderman’s The Power instead. It has way more substance, a genuine feminist POV and actually says something... unlike this utter drivel.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • AC
  • 12-12-18

Searingly brilliant

Brilliantly performed, I loved listening to this. I'll forgive a few too many plot coincidences because I so enjoyed this believable and important story.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

<br /><br /><br />Gripping read!!

A good story and well read however it ended way too soon. Kept me hooked!!!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

A truly unpleasant book

I found this book to be really unpleasant in all aspects. It certainly is no Handmaids Tale. The story never really goes anywhere and there is no tension in the unfolding of events. This book could have achieved so much more, that is the reason I kept listening hoping it would start to explore some of the concepts at the heart of the narrative. Essentially it skimmed over what could have been interesting plot lines and became a rather dull love story, I could not even like any of the characters. I hated the animal cruelty at the end and felt this had no purpose what so ever it added nothing at all to the final build up. I also found the narrator very irritating with a range of rather silly men's voices and a weird lapse into Italian. In summary I would not recommend this book and would probably never read another by the same author.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful