Listen free for 30 days

Vox

Narrated by: Laurence Bouvard
Length: 10 hrs and 10 mins
4 out of 5 stars (492 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Silence can be deafening.

Jean McClellan spends her time in almost complete silence, limited to just 100 words a day. Any more, and a thousand volts of electricity will course through her veins.

Now the new government is in power, everything has changed. But only if you’re a woman.

Almost overnight, bank accounts are frozen, passports are taken away and 70 million women lose their jobs. Even more terrifyingly, young girls are no longer taught to read or write.

For herself, for her daughter and for every woman silenced, Jean will reclaim her voice. This is only the beginning....

Perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale. Don’t miss the thrilling debut that everyone is talking about!

©2018 Christina Dalcher (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

"A petrifying re-imagining of The Handmaid's Tale in the present, and a timely reminder of the power and importance of language." (Marta Bausells, Elle)

"This book will blow your mind." (Nina Pottell, Prima

"Intelligent, suspenseful, provocative, and intensely disturbing - everything a great novel should be." (Lee Child) 

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    195
  • 4 Stars
    155
  • 3 Stars
    89
  • 2 Stars
    35
  • 1 Stars
    18

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    233
  • 4 Stars
    110
  • 3 Stars
    66
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    14

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    165
  • 4 Stars
    132
  • 3 Stars
    78
  • 2 Stars
    43
  • 1 Stars
    22

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Twilight/Hunger Games for Feminists.

The main character was morally inconsistent and often unpleasant. The male characters has the depth of a teaspoon, which ie probably why the protagonist only shows care for other females. It sends a messed up message - Hey guys, be the nice, supportive guy and sacrifice yourself for me whilst I sleep with a hot Italian. It's just... Female fantasy fulfilment at its worst, tagging on the Atwood train to make a penny or two. The most likeable character was the lesbian feminist who was at least upfront about her misandry.

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

This ain't no Handmaid's Tale

I really wanted to love this book - I'd read lots of reviews and eagerly waited for the audiobook release. Sadly, while not actually dreadful it is clear this is a first book.

The plotting is derivative and clearly flagged. If you can't see where it's going then you've not read anything in this genre before and might benefit from going straight to the Handmaid's Tale and the Power, both of which have deeper characterisation and more twists.

It's enjoyable enough, but a slight tale that doesn't really develop the main themes and has few surprises.

That said, the writing is workmanlike enough and this writer may be one to watch as more books develop her style

28 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Food for thought

A great story, very thought provoking. Felt very rushed towards the end but really enjoyed this book

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ and Naomi Alderman’s ‘The Power’ are among my all time favourite books, so I was so excited to get into this book. A fascinating concept, but hugely under-explored and honestly pretty poorly written. I was barely invested in, nor believed, any of the characters, and struggled to remember what half of the convoluted plot lines even were. Lost interest after the first few chapters but made myself listen to the end. It didn’t get any better, and descended into a sci-fi thriller with an all-too-convenient ending. Overall pretty disappointing.

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The best thing I've read in a LONG TIME!!

This is a must listen. I felt like Michelle was telling me the stories in person.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Derivitive of the Handmaids tale, who cares?

Fantastically well told story with an updated spin on the Handmaids Tale. great voice acting and well worth a listen.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Couldn't put it down!

I loved this book despite some of the other comments. I read The Hands maids tale and although being of a similar story it stands up on its own merit. A good read!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book

An incredible read and a real page turner, if you love The Handmaids Tale you’ll definitely love this!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved this dark dystopian tale

similar premise to a handmaids take, interesting use of technology. finished quickly as dudnt want to stop listening!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Wow. A truly terrifying story. Well told and read. A tense book and ominously believable at times.

5 people found this helpful